Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Bathtime Challenges

on July 28, 2010

No, Daisy doesn’t mind baths themselves so much….anymore. And I get such a laugh every time out of how this furry puppy turns into a stick figure when she’s wet! I also love holding her afterward, all snuggled up in a towel and oh so warm and toasty. She gets very relaxed and a couple of times, she almost fell asleep in those few minutes. It’s my favorite part of bath time and one of those truly tender life moments.

What she really hates is being blow-dried afterward. I hold her on my lap and DD blow dries her on a low, warm setting. She’s okay with that, but we can only dry her head, back, and one side because she’s so tightly curled up like a furry curly-fry (not a tasty image, I know…).

The one funny thing she does is when we aim the dryer at her head, she snaps at the moving air as if trying to catch it! That part is cute.

After we dry as much as we can that way, we stand her on the counter (while I hold her) with a towel under her to dry her legs and underside, but she tries to run away and starts whining and yapping and it’s impossible to manage. Now that it’s so hot out, we can take her outside for a little while and she dries pretty fast, but what do we do during the cooler seasons?

Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?

One response to “Bathtime Challenges

  1. Judy says:

    Just like Daisy, Tiffy is not wild about her weekly bath! I also find it comical how this fluffy puppy looks when she gets wet. I think most of Tiffy’s weight is in her hair. She also wants to curl up when blow dried! I guess most dogs are not crazy about the blow dryer. I think she just tolerates it for my sake. I not sure what kind of advice I can offer. Maybe give her treats during her “blow dry” time and she’ll form a positive association with it. Good Luck:)

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

