Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Havachon Holiday Hijinks….and Merry Christmas!

on December 21, 2011

I’ll be going on a holiday blogging hiatus for about a week – not by choice, but by sheer necessity. Finishing up all the Christmas preparations while trying to clear up as much work as possible is always a little overwhelming at this time of the year.

I love birds, so I have a small Christmas "bird tree" in our family room. It's my favorite!

Since we’ll be missing the next Monday Mischief blog hop, I wanted to fill you in on a couple of Daisy’s Holiday Hijinks:

Daisy’s been scrupulously checking each present as it appears under the tree, and I have to say that she was satisfied giving them a good sniff and walking away….generally….except for one shimmering gold bow that seemed to draw a somewhat excessive amount of attention. A couple of “no’s” and she was able to put it behind her….for the most part!

I've been good, Santa! Look, I even let them put these antlers on me! Can you put a new Nylabone in my stocking, please?

Remember when I said that Daisy thinks water in anything other than her bowl is “special water” and she laps it up like it’s a special treat? Well, we get a real tree….with water in the base….yah. You guessed it. My solution was to spray the tree skirt with bitter apple, which makes Daisy sneeze. Did it work? Kinda….except that Daisy figured out what the perimeter of the spray zone was and just made her way around it to the back of the tree base where there was no spray. Seriously, I kid you not. (The next time we get a dog, the one requirement I’m giving at the animal shelter is for the dog with the least amount of smarts. Smart dogs are challenging! LOL)

And with that, Daisy, DD, DH and I wish all our blogging buddies and visitors a very Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a happy, healthy 2012! We’re looking forward to another year filled with Havachon Hijinks! 😀

Merry Christmas!

20 responses to “Havachon Holiday Hijinks….and Merry Christmas!

  1. Judy says:

    Love the antlers and the tree. Have a Merry Christmas…Enjoy:)

  2. Daisy,

    I can’t believe they underestimated just how smart you are – I know you’re super clever!!

    You’re clever enough also to know that a quick minute of wearing the Antlers will probably get you extra treats from Santa, right?!

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas,

    See you when you get back,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    PS – I think we’re gonna have a week off from Mischief this coming Monday, so good idea to tell us all about it today, all Mischief deserves credit!! Tee Hee

  3. Kas says:

    Gah that picture made me smile from ear to ear!! 😀 Miss Daisy is entirely way too cute. I hope that you all have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Bunk says:

    Daisy, how do you allow your humans to have a tree? I told them I could not wait to eat up my tree and the humans never bought one. I did manage to chew up two stockings before they were filled….. oh and did I mention eating the two christmas cards that were sent to me? Delish!

  5. 2browndawgs says:

    Merry Christmas to you! Your trees are beautiful, but Daisy does not look pleased with those antlers. 😆

    You wouldn’t want a Chessie, bitter apple is just a tasty treat to them. 🙂

  6. barb19 says:

    I see your mom got you to sit still long enough to get a photo of you with the antlers on! Not a happy Daisy I see- you have the same look Poppy had when I put the Santa hat on her!
    You are one smart pooch finding where there was no spray! They will have to get up early in the morning to fool you Daisy!
    I love the pic of you in front of the tree – looks like an awesome tree and you look so tiny against it!
    Have a fantastic Christmas Daisy and family!

  7. oooh this is the cutest thing ever, what a lovely dog

  8. Chancy Mumsy and Crew says:

    Beautiful Christmas trees. Daisy looks cute in the antlers. Don’t work too hard. Daisy looks adorable in front of the tree. Hugs and nose kisses

  9. The ‘bird tree’ is certainly very unusual, but I have to say the huge live Christmas tree is stunning! You guys did a great job with the ornaments. With all that decorating work, you definitely deserve to sit back and enjoy the atmosphere you’ve created.

    Happy holidays and have a wonderful year ahead!

  10. Very irresistibly cute! Enjoy your blogging hiatus! I’m going to be doing the same. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year too! 🙂

  11. bichonpawz says:

    Enjoy your time off!!! The holidays are such a busy time for everyone!! Beautiful pics!! xoxo Chloe and LadyBug

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

