Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Summer Visitors…And A Standoff

on August 1, 2016

With the super-hot weather this year, we’re seeing a lot more outdoor bugs. ::shudder:: But not all are gross, there are some I actually like. Like ladybugs, butterflies, lightning bugs and moths – even giant moths like this one; I have never seen one this big:

THIS ENORMOUS MOTH WAS ON MY WINDSHIELD WIPER!!!

THIS ENORMOUS MOTH WAS ON MY WINDSHIELD WIPER!!! Look at the size of him!

His antennae are like fern leaves!! Nature is beautiful.

His antennae are like fern leaves!! Nature can be so beautiful (when it’s not a spider…).

And then there was this interesting David-and-Goliath standoff on our window screen:

Big grasshopper vs tiny moth - they stayed like this for hours!

Big grasshopper vs tiny moth – they stayed like this for hours! Believe it or not, the grasshopper backed down first!

Who are you and why are you staring at me??

Who are you and why are you staring at me??

How about this crazy kamikazee bird?? Why on earth was he nose-diving to the ground???

Dive-bomber bird!! What was he thinking??

Dive-bomber bird!! What was he thinking??

And this gigantic leaf –

That is one huge leaf!

That is one huge leaf!

Normally we don’t want to see any critters on our home-grown veggies, but this cutie was more than welcome:

Cute, fuzzy moth on our Swiss chard.

Cute, doe-eyed moth on our Swiss chard.

The gross bugs – yes I know they’re probably necessary evils but they’re still gross – have been awfully big, almost like the intense summer heat turned them into tropical bug sizes. When I see those I just screech and run away. Really!

And I just laugh and laugh and laugh at you! Heehee!!

And I just laugh and laugh and laugh at you! Heehee!!

25 responses to “Summer Visitors…And A Standoff

  1. we had such a big moth too, the mama thought it’s a bat and screamed like a banshee… but it’s a little crazy how much big things we saw this summer…. I also agree for the leaves… and the nuts (yes they the most lol) and the fruits…

  2. Mary says:

    That first moth is beautiful. Ya, don’t talk to me about bugs. Our stay at the lake was cut short because there was a hatch of a million, bajillion bugs. So horrid. And you should have seen all the bug poop we had to wash off the trailer and truck…Shudder…

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I read your post about those bugs – yikes!! I’d have freaked out! I never thought about bug poop…I guess there have never been enough around at one time to notice such a thing! Yick!!

  3. Yikes! Mom would be packing up to move out after seeing that giant moth and enormous grasshopper. We don’t do well with bugs…

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  4. That is one impressive moth! Enjoy the pretty bugs. I think the dragonflies are my favourite!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Ooo yes I like dragonflies too! We have a bunch of them around here and we read they eat mosquitoes, so we’re laying out the welcome mat in the back yard. 😉 We saw a beautiful blue one that was just stunning.

  5. Janet Keefe says:

    Yup, I’ve been known to screech and run away from bugs too! I like the same ones you do, but spiders and other creepy ones….ugh. I recently had to pick little green worms off of my kale plants – that was no fun!
    We had a lot of grasshoppers at our other house – our late beagle Kobi used to love chasing them! Luke seemed to pick that up too, but I haven’t really seen too many this year. I don’t know if it’s our new location, or maybe the weather that factors in. I hope they show up here sometime!

  6. Those are cool bugs!!! This time of year, we got lots of crickets chirping at night and Ma loves them, butts doesn’t really likes that they are chewin’ the leaves on her plants! Oh well, they gots to eat too, huh? ☺ Just don’t show any spiders….Ma HATES spiders!!!! she screams like a 3 yr old! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’m with your ma, Ruby – I’ve often wondered why the neighbors never call the police when I scream about a spider! I remember walking into a web and doing a freak-out dance to get it off me that must have had the entire neighborhood in stitches! I love the sound of crickets and other night bugs too – I call it the “summer symphony”. As long as they stay outside where they belong! 🙂

  7. Debra says:

    I honestly don’t mind insects at all, except when they flutter in my face! So giant moths might be too much! When visiting some hot and humid states I’ve noticed the insects appear larger to me than what I’m most familiar with from home, where we have plenty of heat, but little humidity. So the story I always told myself is that the humidity contributes to the size of insects. Funny the stories we tell ourselves with absolutely no science to back it up. But I think I agree with you…it’s the heat! 🙂 And with Daisy’s back trouble, you can’t even encourage her to chase them off! What a dilemma!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I wish some of your attitude about insects would rub off on me! I always say a similar thing to you – that the humidity swells insects up to enormous proportions like sponges…much like I feel it does to me LOL. I’m always so uncomfortable in heat/humidity that I feel like my clothes shrank half a size!

  8. Nylabluesmum says:

    Mee-you Daisy that iss SUM BIG Moth there. ladymum says it iss a Cecopeia Moth an they can get bigger! Mee-you….
    That grasshopper iss cute sorta…..
    Mee doess not like antss or spidurss much…thee littul black an white stripey spidurss that jump are cute tho’.
    Wee have sum strange lookin blue-green beetle type buggies here…they fly inn to mee face! PHOOEY!!!
    Butt they are all a part of Summer…too hot Summer!!! Dubble PHOOEY!!!
    ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Oh Siddhartha Henry I don’t like the buggies that fly into me! Some of them are almost as big as me! I snap at them but when they fly or run away, I just let them go. I bet they taste yicky anyway… And I don’t like the summer heat at all! I go outside and do what I have to and then come right back home. We’re all waiting for fall here!

      • Nylabluesmum says:

        Mee-ou Daisy Dew mee understands…there iss a nasty lookin flyin sumfing outside that iss tryin to dive bomm mee!!! mee gotted stung bye sumfing a week ago an it herted so-o much. Me eiss OK butt now mee scared of all them stingy flyin buggiess!!!! Mee iss lyin bye thee patio door lookin out an poutin…..
        mee too scaredykat to go out inn Condo!
        Wee want Autumm here all so…..
        ~~~head rubsss~~~ Siddhartha Henry~~~

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Oh no Siddhartha Henry I don’t like it when nasty buggies sting my friends! If I’d been there I would have stung that bad ol’ buggie back with my canine teeth and cuddled you until you felt better. I’m glad you’re okay though and I don’t blame you for being afraid of them now. We’ll celebrate when autumn comes! 🙂

      • Nylabluesmum says:

        Mee went out last nite fur a walk an inn Condo…those stingy buggiess were gone!
        **shuddersss** they are nasty!!
        An Daisy mee feels better all ready. Mee iss havin sum nappy time an will try to go out at sup-purr time butt LadyMum MUST come with mee to fight off thee nasty buggiess!!!!! 😉
        ***paw kissesss*** Siddhartha Henry xxxx

      • raisingdaisy says:

        I’m so glad the stingy buggies are gone and that you’re feeling all better now! I know your LadyMum will protect you from any nasty buggies that might have the nerve to fly your way. Nappies always make me feel better – they’re my favorite sport! 😉

      • Nylabluesmum says:

        Iss so *hot* here now Daisy thee buggiess are not even flyin, mew mew mew….
        LadyMum has a fly swatter tho’ an shee iss not afraid to use it! 😉
        Last nite wee lissened to thee Cricketss an they were luvley!
        **nose kissesss** Siddhartha Henry xxx

  9. I have those big moths too. We have grasshoppers for the first time in forever! Love the picture of sweet Daisy!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Marty! 😀 I’ve only ever seen this one giant moth around here. I’m sure I wouldn’t have missed any others if they were around – unless I thought they were birds flying by! LOL

  10. Was it a polyphemus moth? Looks like one. I have never seen one myself. We have a ton of lightening bugs this year. I think because it is so dry here.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I didn’t have a name to put with this big boy, but now that you said that and I looked it up, it definitely looks like one. How cool that it’s a silk moth! I’ve never seen another one, but I’d love it if there were more around here.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

