Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Backroads Discovery: A Most Unusual Train Hotel

on July 6, 2016

One of my favorite things to do is explore small towns, places with no tourist attractions. I love Pennsylvania for that reason – it’s loaded with my favorite Small Town America that takes you back in time to when people were friendlier and even though you were never in their town before, they make you feel like you’re returning home.

PA Manheim house

One of the striking old homes in a small PA town. You know how much I LOVE old architecture!

DH and I discover these places by driving up the PA Turnpike and taking exits for towns that sound interesting – all very spontaneous, which I prefer to planned trips. We explore the town itself on foot, then drive along backroads to see what there is to discover.

Driving through Amish country

Driving through Amish country

One of the interesting places we happened across was plopped miles away from any main roads or town centers, in the middle of hundreds of miles of Amish farms. We crossed a railroad track, and suddenly this popped up:

PA railroad hotel

Nope, this isn’t a caboose graveyard, it’s an honest-to-goodness train hotel! They’ve collected real train cars (mostly cabooses, but some larger ones and one of the biggest is called the Bridal Suite!) and converted them into “hotel rooms”. It’s called the Red Caboose Motel and it’s so unusual.

PA railroad hotel dining car

PA railroad hotel car

PA railroad hotel caboose

PA railroad hotel (2)

Look how many there are!

A short distance away, there was a train depot…out there…in the middle of nowhere…

PA railroad depot

The proprietor of the hotel was kind enough to let us see the inside of one of the cabooses, and I took pictures but they’ve somehow magically vanished into the digital netherworld. It was amazing to see how much they could fit into those small cabooses – they even put in a small loft with another bed! They made every inch count without overcrowding.

Later we pulled into the parking lot of a large chain hotel to find out if it was pet friendly, planning, of course, for a future weekend away with Daisy. Nope, no luck, not pet-friendly…YET LOOK AT THE PATHWAY PAVING STONES THEY USED:

Is there any wonder why we thought this was a pet friendly hotel??

Is there any wonder why we thought this was a pet friendly hotel??

Daisy was none too pleased at this misrepresentation.

I'm throwing a BIG raspberry at that hotel!!

I’m throwing a BIG raspberry at that hotel!!

17 responses to “Backroads Discovery: A Most Unusual Train Hotel

  1. I would love to discover this places with you :o) it was one of my girls-dreams to have such a train car house… and I still have this dream… it would make a fabulous mom cave :o)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It sure would – it’s very cozy! And it’s really nice having your own caboose rather than sharing a wall with a loud hotel neighbor! Easy, you and I would have a great time sniffing around that huge open field!

  2. Mary Hone says:

    Those cabooses are great. Fun idea, And ya, what’s up with the pavers? I think I would have said something like, “Oh, I assumed you were pet friendly, by your outside decor.”

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It was great to see those cabooses being put to use instead of rotting in some train graveyard somewhere. I would definitely have said something to the non-pet-friendly hotel owner but we were leaving after stopping in and had circled around the back of the hotel when I saw it and got out to take a picture. Maybe they were pet-friendly at one time, but still!!

  3. jan says:

    I don’t like crowds so I’m with you on finding little gems in out of the way places. Those cabooses are da bomb. I love when old things get restored and repurposed.

  4. Cupcake says:

    I agree with you, D. Big raspberries from me, too. Meanwhile, that train hotel is AMAZING.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’m trying to talk Mom and Dad into taking me to the train hotel. They don’t know if it’s pet friendly either, but at least I could go and sniff around for a visit!

  5. OMD, those cabooses look like FABulous hotel rooms! I bets they are quiet and comfy to stay in….I do however have to agree with Daisy, that the MISREPRESENTATION of that HOTEL that they loves the pooches!!! pffffffffft! so not right…
    Thanks for the tour, and Ma wants to come with you next time! ☺
    Kisses
    Ruby ♥

  6. Jan K says:

    False advertising! LOL. What a cool place that Caboose Hotel is! I went to college in PA and remember visiting Amish country. Very beautiful places there, I remember the Farmer’s Markets the most. I love to explore small towns too, even if it’s just driving through. When we take a trip I like to skip the highway and go through the small towns instead. There’s so much more to see!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I SO agree with you! What college did you go to in PA? I ask because my daughter also went to college there, in Annville – talk about small town charm!

      • Jan K says:

        I went to a small school in Villanova – Northeastern Christian Jr. College. I’m not sure where Annville is, but it sure has a small town sounding name! 🙂

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Annville is actually very near Hershey, PA, but it’s in the middle of a string of small towns in the “Bible belt”. People who lived there never locked their doors, which was odd for us, coming from NJ! Everyone was so incredibly friendly, they treated us like they knew us all their lives. My daughter went to a nearby Methodist Church while she was there, and the church members would always invite college students back to their homes for Sunday dinner. It was such a wonderful place to be. 🙂

      • Jan K says:

        Since I was at a Christian College, we often visited other churches all over the state. Everyone was always so friendly and welcoming!

  7. Sounds like a fun trip. I bet the train motel was neat.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

