Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy’s Humiliation – The Dreaded Sink Bath

on March 17, 2016

Yes, we’re taking yet another precaution against Daisy hurting her back again…though the surgeon would be emphasizing the fact that it can be genetic and it can happen from a sneeze or a stretch!

It’s the dreaded sink bath.

Daisy isn’t a fan of baths as it is, but when DH would bathe her in the tub, she had too much space and she’d walk around, slipping here and there, sometimes making a futile attempt at escape. Even when he’d be shampooing her, she’d get jostled around a bit.

We decided that was now too risky, so we’re bathing her in the sink like when she was a 3-pound puppy. Then she disappeared in the sink, but now it’s just the right size to contain her. We also put a non-skid foam net in the base so she can’t slip around and we’re shampooing very gently.

Her humiliation level seems to have risen exponentially, as you can see.

Oh I don't believe this!

Oh I don’t believe this! I refuse to even look at you.

OH...MY...GOD... You're taking pictures of this humiliation?!!

OH…MY…GOD… You’re taking pictures of this humiliation?!!

You may be able to force me to take a bath, but I'm scheming to repay you. Trust me on that.

You may be able to force me to take a bath, but I’m scheming to repay you. Trust me on that.

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes Blog hop!

 

29 responses to “Daisy’s Humiliation – The Dreaded Sink Bath

  1. Daisy I feel with you… and I’m so glad that my butt is too big for sitting in a sink :o)

  2. KDKH says:

    We take our little dogs into the shower and they sit in my lap as I sit on the built-in shelf along one all of the shower. We use a hand-held spray nozzle and I hold them close to my body. This comforts them and I don’t work so hard not to get wet (like I did for sink bathes). They just settle right in and snuggle while in bathe them. My vet does it that way too. Just an idea. It looks like Daisy behaves in the sink better than my small dogs. Such a lady!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s a really good idea. I don’t know if Daisy would cooperate or try to jump off us! So far the sink bath is working out well because she doesn’t have the space to move around much, except to turn, and she isn’t tempted to escape. The sink faucet has a nice, gentle spray setting and I think she likes that it’s quieter than the shower. 🙂

      • KDKH says:

        My dogs would always struggle to jump out of the sink. In the shower, they knew there was no escape! I’m glad that Daisy is more disciplined than my rowdy crew!

  3. jan says:

    If I lived with Daisy, I would hide my shoes for a very long time.

  4. OMGoodness Daisy. That face, though… It speaks volumes!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. Barb says:

    I know that look, “I’m so hard done to, rescue me someone, please!” Poppy has the same expressions on her face when I bath her too – in the sink. She’s quite small and can’t get away from me in there. Bet Daisy is happy afterwards though, rubbing her face on the carpet!

  6. writetowag says:

    Sweet Daisy, bless you little one, I know doggie baths can be a pain, but one good thing that is sure to follow is all the cuddles and kisses from your fam…Hope you get extra lovins today and extra treat or two for being such a good furrbaby…Hugs

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s true, I do get lots of snuggles and kisses after my bath…and I get LOTS of treats during my grooming! I get one treat for each paw when my nails are clipped and another when Mom trims my face and ears. And another when my tail is trimmed. 🙂

  7. DZ Dogs says:

    Awwww…. poor Daisy, we hate baths too..

  8. We think baths completely stink too Daisy! Lady dreads doing it cause we are so terrible at it!

  9. Debra says:

    Those photos do tell it all! She does have a scheming look, so I’d watch your back! LOL! It must be such a challenge to try and corral an active pup at every possible turn. I can certainly understand how concerned you are about a return of her back problem. It’s nice to have an update on a very special family member. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Debra! We knew the biggest challenges would come when Daisy got all her energy back, but we’re still glad she’s back to normal. It is tough, though, and I find myself always prepped for the worst (which I need to stop!) and trying to do whatever’s possible to prevent anything from happening. If it’s possible, I think Daisy’s even feistier than before her surgery!

  10. Poor Daisy, but at least she is looking and smelling good. Sorry Daisy but your people are right and the sink makes sense. Thanks for joining the hop!

  11. Kurome says:

    Hahaha look at Daisy’s face!!
    You should enjoy the bath Daisy…it’s comforting. Try to be in my shoes when Mommy tries to put us under the sun, I prefer water more 😉

  12. kolytyi says:

    This is lese-majesty, Daisy! And you responded in vain with an arctic stare. Terribly!

  13. Mags says:

    Awwww, sweet Daisy we are so sorry you are not fond of your sink bath. We have to tell you though you still look adorable even when you are wet. We hope you got special treats and lots of nose kisses and hugs after your bath. Love, hugs and nose kisses from all of us.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Maggie! 😀 Actually I do get lots of treats after my bath during my grooming – my mommy gives me one treat for each paw she grooms, another after trimming my face, and another after trimming my tail! Sometimes I even get a treat after my mommy rinses my face during the bath because I don’t like that. It’s so good to see you and we send you many Havachon hugs and kisses!

  14. SandySays1 says:

    Wish I could give my human a bath and get soap in his mouth. YUK!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

