Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy and the Tornado Watch

on February 25, 2016

We’ve had the most insane weather here. Below freezing one day, 60 degrees the next. No wonder everyone’s getting sick!

Last night we were under a tornado watch. The winds were scary – it reminded me of the early stages of Hurricane Sandy – and the rain was pelting the house with such force, I thought it would break through the windows. It sounded like Mother Nature was furious and trying to break in.

Daisy did not like this. At first she barked every time the windows creaked and the house groaned. Then she started barking at the rain slamming against the windows.

That is, until she found the perfect nesting spot underneath the folding table I was using for my computer, then the combination of comfy and closeness turned her into a laid back, come-what-may kind of gal.

I'm perfectly safe in here!

I’m perfectly safe in here!

I'll just take a nap while you guard the house against the storm. Wake me if we need to leave...

I’ll just take a nap while you guard the house against the storm. Wake me if we need to leave…

We did hear a metallic crash outside – I took a picture of what it was this morning:

street light

street light 2

The power company doesn’t seem to be in any rush to take care of this, even though the light was on all night, the interior is exposed and sitting in a pool of water, and the wires are exposed. I called them at midnight and again this morning, but still no one has come out. I guess our entire lawn and house need to catch fire before they’ll venture out.

Meanwhile, Daisy is taking it all in stride.

I have my comfy blankets in my snuggle spot with Mommy, and all is right with the world. :)

I have my comfy blankets in my snuggle spot with Mommy, and all is right with the world. 🙂

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

23 responses to “Daisy and the Tornado Watch

  1. Jan K says:

    We’re so glad you’re all safe and that Daisy found a comfy place to ride out the storm! We had heavy rain and winds here last night too, but no tornado watch. I did hear thunder once in the night which is so weird in February! Luke didn’t like the storm so he just took himself right down to the finished basement while waiting for it to subside. It didn’t seem to bother the girls this time – they get more nervous when there’s a lot of thunder though. I hope the power company shows up soon to take care of that lamp!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I hope they show up soon too! It’s 8 PM and they still haven’t come. The street light is now lit again and still sitting on our lawn. The winds kicked up again today so we removed all the broken glass from the sidewalk and grass so it wouldn’t fly around and hurt someone. I’m starting to really think the power company is waiting for something serious to happen! I mean, how long can exposed wires stay exposed before either someone does something stupid or they start to spark? I guess we’ll find out…

  2. I’m sure it helps to bark bad weather away…. keep on barking and stay in your comfy nest Daisy… and we cross our paws that alldamage and problems are fixed soon :o)

  3. Whew!! Thank goodness you are all ok!!!!!! A friend of mine lives in North Carolina and I guess they had wicked weather there too!
    DakotasDen

  4. jan says:

    We think bad weather should pay more attention to little dog barks.

  5. KDKH says:

    Isn’t it unusual to have tornadoes so far north? I’m just glad Daisy didn’t get excited and start jumping around. How is her health now?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s VERY unusual, especially in February. The temperature shot up to 60 degrees, so in addition to tornado possibilities, there were also thunderstorms, which are just unheard of at this time of year. The weather has been really wacky. Thanks so much for asking about Daisy’s health – she’s doing very well. She’s back to being silly and we’re trying hard to keep her calm; we don’t let her jump or race around anymore or go up/down even one step (per the surgeon, even though she said another disc issue could happen just from stretching). She just finished the antibiotics for the second UTI, so we’re praying it won’t happen again.

  6. Emmadog says:

    Storms and wind can be real scary. I rarely am bothered by it and usually just keep sleeping.

  7. I am glad Daisy for a safe place. I always pay attention to my animals during a tornado watch/warning. They have a way of knowing if we should be concerned. Thanks so much for joining the hop!

  8. Barb says:

    You look as snug as a bug in a rug Daisy….no worries!

  9. You had the right idea, D. Sometimes you just need to snuggle down, say a prayer, and take a nap. Glad you all came out fine.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree! During storms, Daisy’s most comforted in a small area with something over her head, something around her and something snuggly – as long as they’re all near us! 🙂

  10. Debra says:

    Here I am across the country complaining because we aren’t having ANY storms. I do think the strange weather patterns have us all confused and concerned! A tornado watch sounds very disconcerting and any mention of “sounding like” the early stirrings of Hurricane Sandy would be very alarming, so I will try to be grateful for our dry weather. I’m certainly glad you’re safe, and it looks like minimal damage, electricity and a wet lawn is cause for concern–unless you’re the power company. I’m glad to see that Miss Daisy knows where to find her security in times of stress! She is a very smart dog to understand the value of finding shelter. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      No weather extreme is good! That’s what it seems to be as of late – extremely cold, extremely wet, extremely warm, extremely cold – it just can’t make up its mind! The power company finally came two days later and now there’s an orange cone sitting over the stub…I guess that’ll be there until Christmas!

  11. I’m guessing you live in NJ like we do — or at least nearby. It was really cold yesterday, and today it’s supposed to be 60 degrees. Next week, I’m hearing snow. I’m ready for spring and warm weather.
    —Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes we do live in Jersey too, and I heard the same weather predictions as you did. Our daffodils are shooting up like crazy – the stems are about 4″ high already! They’re amazing hardy, though, they survive snow and ice like they were made for it. 🙂

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

