Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Canine Disk Surgery Recovery Journal – Day 7

on December 13, 2015

Yep, it’s one solid week – 7 days – since we brought our sweet girl home from the hospital. In that time we’ve really seen marked improvement in many areas.

DD took Daisy outside for a little more time twice today and tried a couple more of her favorite sniffing areas, but still no results. I noticed from when Daisy was a puppy that she was stubborn, and she is – she doesn’t like doing things differently, so she’ll just put her little paw down and flatly refuse. And unfortunately peeing with a lame leg and a sling around her seems to be one of those “different” things that make her refused to pee. The only reason she poops at the vet’s is because she’s so upset at being there, it literally scares the crap right out of her (sorry for the crudeness!); however, today she did a small one after DD tried expressing her. Sometimes that seems to stimulate her bowels – either that or the sheer fear of being expressed produces one! Anyway, looks like we’ll be making yet another trip to the vet tonight. ::sigh:: I can’t even tell you how stressful this has become.

She did a mini half-shake today, which is another new improvement. Shaking was something Daisy had a hard time doing before her surgery, so the fact that she gave it a try and was able to do half a shake is positive. Isn’t it amazing how the little ordinary things become so extraordinary and noteworthy at times like these?

Almost a complete curl!

Almost a complete curl! And looking very much more normal. 🙂

Evening update: It was back to the vet for expressing, but we had another encouraging sign: when DD opened the crate door to lift Daisy out, she sat up, then started moving toward the open door on her own! She stood up on “all threes” – still not wanting to use that lame leg – but she’s never shown a desire to push herself up or walk out the door of the crate. We were so excited about that!

So really it’s the whole bathroom issue that remains, otherwise we’re on a good track. But two funny things – while waiting at the vet’s, a couple came in to pick up their cat…named Monster! What mischief that kitty must get up to! And also, when I went up to the receptionist when we got there, a vet tech passing by looked at me and said, “Daisy, right?” I didn’t know whether to laugh or blush!

21 responses to “Canine Disk Surgery Recovery Journal – Day 7

  1. Debra says:

    I am so sorry for what you are all experiencing. It would be hard any time of year, but this is probably the most difficult of all, and I am sure you’d like to be back to normal routines before “hard winter” sets in! Poor Daisy. It does occur to me that so many times humans have trouble with urinary functioning after anesthesia and surgery. I hope that very soon our little Miss Daisy is back is so much improved! I just can’t help but repeat how sorry I am. I just know how worried and overwhelmed you must be! I hope this new week brings about great change for the better. ox

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Debra, I think once we get this pee issue resolved we’ll feel a lot better, especially since not going can cause so many dangerous issues. Now the vet wants her expressed twice a day instead of just once…don’t know how we’re going to manage that.

      • Debra says:

        I think the absolute proof of how special Daisy is in your life is making time to help her with this issue! I can remember when I was a child and my grandmother expressed her dog for a very long time after she developed a chronic condition. Since that time I’ve known that’s true love. Inconvenience is only a small part of how hard that is. This must be confusing to her, too. So difficult! ox

  2. Barb says:

    Haha, she’s becoming quite the celebrity at the vet’s, making a name for herself! Now I wonder why? LOL
    Some good positive steps in today’s report, I am so happy to hear that things are progressing steadily. The bladder is still a problem for her but that too, will come good eventually; these things take time. She is coming on in leaps and bounds, good girl Daisy.

  3. Extra Pawkisses for a speedy recovery 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. I cross my paws for more little good signs and for the yellow rain what hopefully comes soon. Maybe you can go back to the wee-wee pads so she can try it inside? Hugs and POTP….

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We’ve tried the wee wee pads inside as well as the good sniffy areas outside, but still nothing. We have one new tact we’re going to try tomorrow, and I’m hoping it’ll work. Thanks for all the lovies, Easy, we can feel your POTP all the way here. 🙂

  5. Every day there is a new little improvement, D. Plus you’re making friends and getting kind of famous at the vet! Hang in there, sweetie. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. Mary says:

    You’re lucky the weather has been nice. This would be harder in the cold and snow.

  7. I bet this week has seemed a year long. It’s slow going, but glad to hear the going is in the right direction.

  8. Jan K says:

    So much progress! We are keeping our paws crossed for you that you can get past the hurdle of peeing and get that lame leg working too. I can only imagine how stressful it must be to have to keep trying yourselves and then having to go to the vet every night. Keep hanging on to the positive things….

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Jan – you’re right, this pee issue is incredibly stressful. The leg is worrisome but I know we have time to get that working and we’re already starting massage on it, and Daisy has shown some signs of using the thigh muscle a bit. The vet really wants her going twice a day, and we can’t possibly run her down there that often. That’s the toughest part right now.

  9. I sure hope she will be able to pee on her own soon. It sounds like she is making good progress and you are taking great care of her.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Linda. Yes every day there’s a positive sign, and we’re grabbing on to each one. This pee problem is a real stickler, though – the vet says we have to make her go – how in the heck are we supposed to force a dog to pee?? He didn’t have any answer to that…

  10. kolytyi says:

    Oh, Daisy, first I found it rather embarrassing that you and your pawrents and me and my mom have to cope with a series of totally similar problems, but then as I read your story every day, I think that it is somehow touching. My mom had surgery at her belly twice, spent 6 weeks at the intensive care. Now, she is at home with me. And we also have a new bed with a cosy, smooth mattress, we have a thingy similar to your wee-wee pad, we have pee-problems (due to the weeks with catheter), poo-problems (due to an temporary stoma), we had a similar accident (I knocked over a cup in the hospital with her tea), and similar fears and feelings.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’m so sorry to hear your mom is going through so much; I’m sending her many positive thoughts and many prayers for a full recovery. I can only imagine how difficult this is for all of you. I hope she recovers very soon. ::hugs to you::

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

