Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Fall Festival Daisy!

on November 5, 2015

We took Daisy to her first fall festival a couple ofΒ weekends ago, and she had a blast!

One happy pup at our lakeside break.

One happy pup at our lakeside break, sitting on her daddy’s lap.

Well, it’s actually the second fall festival we took her to, but after driving over an hour to one last year and then searching for parking on small streets for another 15 minutes, then walking a quarter of a mile to the festival, they wouldn’t let us go down the street with the festival because dogs weren’t allowed! RUDE!!

We were pretty angry, and I did get in touch with the organizers afterwards and told them that nowhere on their website does it say “no pets” and I gave them an earful. Now they finally have that notice on their site. (Still RUDE, though!)

AAAnyway…this was a pet-friendly festival – as it should be since it’s all outdoors – and Daisy was thrilled with all the new smells and new places and, of course, all the people who couldn’t resist petting her and gushing over her. πŸ™‚

It was perfect weather – 70 degrees and sunny. This is a small, historic New Jersey town that we’ve been going to for many years now. I just love the charm and ambiance of small old towns.

The old Farmers’ Bank building, built on a narrow corner. The building is shaped like a triangle.

One of my favorite small homes in town.

One of my favorites of the smaller homes in town. You know how much I love cozy cottage-type homes!

One of the large old homes in town (most of it isn't in the picture). I had to take this pic because whenever we go there, there are always people sitting on the porch with a couple bottles of wine! Always!

One of the large old homes in town (most of it isn’t in the picture). I had to take this pic because whenever we go there, there are always people sitting on the porch with a couple bottles of wine! Always!

As usual, my photo focus is always on the charm and serenity of areas I visit, and I realized I didn’t even take any pics of the festival itself! I enjoy the live music and all the tents with artists displaying their beautiful creations, but I never think to take pics of the crowded street scene.

So you’ll have to bear with me as I show you some of my favorite spots in town, like the peaceful lake that I always visit…

lake

…and the bamboo forest I always hike through (VERY dense, but there is a trail!), I’m like a kid in forested areas…

bamboo forest

…and the colors of fall starting their glorious display…

fall at the lake

…and these little remnants of summer, quietly standing their ground so beautifully…

last summer flowers

We walked and strolled and enjoyed ourselves for a good three hours, and I’m happy to report that Daisy did very well, both physically and without displaying any reactive leash issues. Although she wasn’t as relaxed as this little guy…

pooped pup

…Daisy had some cheat time, when her daddy carried her through the more congested crowds so she wouldn’t accidentally get stepped on…

Hello! Nice to meet you! Please feel free to shake my paw! :)

Hello! Nice to meet you! Please feel free to shake my paw! πŸ™‚

And of course, there was the happy ride home, where Daisy saw scenes like this

Pumpkins pumpkins everywhere!

Pumpkins pumpkins everywhere!

…and I saw scenes like this…

One happy, pooped pup as seen through the car's vanity mirror. :)

One happy, pooped pup as seen through the car’s vanity mirror. πŸ™‚

Wow! That was fun!! :D

Wow! That was fun!! πŸ˜€

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

36 responses to “Fall Festival Daisy!

  1. Daisy that was a perfect day! I love the old farmers bank building, it reminds of those in movies what get visitors in black clothes who put all the money in potato bags before they jump on their horses and disappear in the sun rise :o) It was great to see a super happy Daisy!

  2. Mary says:

    That looks like a great place. And yes, Boooo on the other place not allowing dogs. You need to get a backpack like I have for Roxy. I worry about her getting stepped on, or if she gets tired, it’s perfect. And, is that book in your side bar, written by your daughter?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes it is Mary, thanks for asking (and noticing!) It’s her debut novel and it’s getting great reviews. She’s got another four coming out in the Dark Victoriana Collection, which will be novelettes that tie into the novel but aren’t quite sequels. Her dream is to be a full-time writer, and I always use you and Al as examples of people who found a great way to live out their dream while pursuing the art they love. πŸ™‚

  3. Looks like a great trip with even better company. I’m sure Daisy could have nosed her way into that porch wine party for you.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Haha you’re right, Will! I should have let her turn her charms on those people, that would have gotten us in for sure! πŸ˜‰ It’s crazy how they’re just ALWAYS there with seemingly endless bottles of wine, except on the absolute coldest of days.

  4. Me says:

    Tooo cute! Looks like a fun trip, and Daisy looks adorable in pink ^__^

  5. Looks beautiful. Glad you found a place she could go.

  6. Cupcake says:

    So fun! OMG, D. I love love love that picture of your dad carrying you. I’m glad this festival was doggie friendly!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  7. Jodi says:

    Oh I love your pictures. My favorite is the colored trees reflected in the lake. So beautiful That is something I didn’t get this year since our reservoir is so low…:-(

    Thanks for joining the blog hop, so glad that Daisy did so well at the festival!

  8. Jan K says:

    That looks like the perfect fall day for all of you! We’d much rather see the beautiful scenery than the crowds of people! πŸ™‚

  9. I’m so glad I have discovered your lovely blog! I relaxing the evening reading my favorite blogsggand yours are so positive and refreshing. Keep up the good work!

  10. Hi Y’all!

    Can’t think of a better way to spend time on the porch than with the Humans while they sip a glass of wine! (or is it “whine”?) BOL!

    Have a great weekend!
    Hawk aka BrownDog

  11. kolytyi says:

    Awwww, Daisy, that was a perfect day! Your eyes tell everything – and the change of the colour of your paws towards the end of the trip, too! πŸ™‚

  12. tweedles says:

    Thank you for visitng me.. and the love you gave to me to make me better.
    It was so nice of you to come visit me
    love
    tweedles

  13. tweedles says:

    thank you for visiting me
    love
    tweedles

  14. Debra says:

    How fun for Daisy to enjoy a field trip! IT’s so much more enjoyable to bring our eta with us rather than to leave them behind and hope they’re staying out of trouble! πŸ™‚ I love the beautiful little houses but your photo of the lake with the reflected autumn colors is just breathtaking!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Debra! We always prefer to take Daisy with us, and when we go places where she’s not allowed, we’re always saying how we wish she could have come too because there are always things we know she’d enjoy. Plus we just love having that smiling little face there. πŸ™‚

  15. It sounds like a wonderful day. I love charming old towns. But what was up with the one that did not allow pets? How can you bar dogs from a public street? Oh well we avoid places where our dogs should be welcome and aren’t. Thanks so much for sharing on the hop!

  16. Looks like a great day – and I love the cottages as well (at least, I love the idea. My shoe collection probably needs a bigger house).

  17. Daisy, I had no idea you were a Jersey girl! We’re Jersey dogs ourselves! There are lots of old towns throughout the state — and many are much more dog friendly than that first festival you went to.
    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s always great to meet other Jersey dogs! My family loves going to quaint towns, and most of them are very dog friendly – like Lambertville, one of our favorites (I get lots of pets there!) – we love to stroll through the cute town center and then take a walk along the tow path. πŸ™‚

  18. amkuska says:

    Glad to see she’s having fun!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

