Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy’s second follow-up vet visit

on September 22, 2015

I’m SO, SO happy to report that Daisy turned a major corner last week and started walking more normally – she even tried to run and jump! She’s looking like her happy self again, her eyes are bright and she’s very interested in her toys. She even wants to climb on our laps for cuddles. 😀 😀 😀

I'm finally back where I belong! :)

I’m finally back where I belong! 🙂

Yesterday morning was her second follow-up vet visit and he was very pleased with her progress. We got THE smile from him that we were hoping for!

We still have to finish up the anti-inflammatory pills over the next two weeks and she’s still on “restricted activities” – no long walks, just several short outings per day, and no jumping EVER again. When we pick her up, we have to support her entire length and keep her level with the ground. We can live with that!

And even more good news is that she can have baths again (much to her chagrin and our absolute joy) – and boy does she need one, three weeks is far too long for Daisy! Especially since there were some pretty nasty 90+ degree days during that time. Her hair and nails are all overgrown, her hair is extra curly and feels more like a Berber carpet than a soft Havachon!

Oh no, not this again...

Oh no, not this again…

And we can pick her up and bring her onto the couch with us – we’ve all missed our Daisy cuddles, and she clearly did too. During her floor time these past weeks, when we’re on the couch, she’s restless and can’t settle herself for too long because she wants to be with us. She kept standing near us with big pleading eyes, a gently wagging tail and a soft whine. It was so hard to say no.

But why can't I come cuddle with you like I always do?

But why can’t I come cuddle with you like I always do?

Again, thank you all for your POTP, prayers, and well wishes. You helped us as much as you helped Daisy. Our blogging community is THE BEST! 🙂

28 responses to “Daisy’s second follow-up vet visit

  1. Daisy I’m so glad you are on the way back to 100% Daisy :o) and if you can’t jump to get something, call me, I will jump for you :o) I cross my paws that efurrything is heaven now in havachon heaven :o)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      AWWWWWWWW thank you Easy!! Yes I am almost 100% Daisy again and you know what? It’s not so bad that my family has to pick me up instead of letting me jump – those pick-ups are like extra cuddles! In fact, I always get extra big squishy squeezes during those pick-ups. 😀

  2. Me says:

    Yaaaay what wonderful news!! So happy for you all and give Daisy a fuss from us here 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Such good news! She is such a snuggle bug, I bet you did miss it.

  4. Will and Eko says:

    Woohoo, that’s great news!

  5. KDKH says:

    Yay!! Such good news. I know it’ll be hard not to jump, so please do your best to hold back!

  6. Barb says:

    Best new ever….music to the ears!

  7. Jan K says:

    We are SO happy to hear this good news!!!

  8. Fozziemum says:

    This some wonderful news to hear..so happy sweet little Daisy is feeling better..and hey if i could be lifted everywhere i would be pretty happy about that 🙂 yay for Daisy 🙂 loves Fozziemum xxx

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Fozziemum!! We’re so relieved and so happy – she’s lying here on the couch next to me now and I just can’t stop mushying her! 😀

      • Fozziemum says:

        I don’t blame you! i hate that they age and get problems..really upsets me..poor old Doc and Forrest are getting older as i watch this past 6 months..but snuggles and love make all the difference 🙂 and btw i sent your little prize on it’s way on Monday..so i hope it arrives before 2020 🙂 loves Fozziemum xx

      • raisingdaisy says:

        LOL I’m so excited to receive it! Thanks again! I know what you mean about the aging issues, they seem to hit suddenly. Our last dog was very active for eleven years and when she suddenly slowed down (due to a small stroke no one knew she’d even had, diagnosed a few months later when a series of strokes took out her back legs…absolutely heartbreaking), it was like a shock that we realized she’d actually gotten older. Sounds crazy, but she kept up the same pace all those years. Yes, cuddles and snuggles do make all the difference – for us and our pups! 🙂

      • Fozziemum says:

        Sorry sweets i was laid low with sciatica and off the computer ..urghhh..how sad to see that happen for you 😦 i dread those aging years yet i love them because we have never had a dog live this long…so it is a bitter sweet thing…and yes Doc and Forrest keep up and still leap and jump and chase and run..but the recovery is so much longer..and lately even though we have a doggy door for them to come and go Forrest has been waking me up..Doc sleeps in our room as he was wandering the house at nights..like a little night time doggy dementia..and so he sleeps through if he is with me..anyhow Forrest wakes me up ..Doc is already awake and gone outside..i get up and Forrest goes back to his bed.i think he wakes up a bit confused and lonely..it kills me…but what can you do but love them silly 😉 I hope your cards come next week..i have things sent overseas and the times always vary so i am interested to see how this goes 🙂 loves and hugs Fozziemum xx

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Our vet said his 13 year old Havanese is also starting to show signs of what might be dementia – hearing things that aren’t there, wandering around and calling out in tones he’s never heard before. He said she’s slowing down too but he’s making things as easy for her as possible. It’s so hard to watch them age. I can so commiserate with your sciatica, I’ve been getting bouts of it too frequently all of a sudden and it’s affected my knees now, so I’m in PT for it (just started today). Hopefully this will loosen what needs loosening and tighten what needs tightening so I won’t have to deal with it so much anymore! I hope you’re feeling better, sciatica is so nasty. I’ll let you know as soon as your cards arrive! 🙂

  9. Elaine says:

    That’s fantastic news! You must be so relieved to have that good news from the vet and luckily Daisy is small and easy to pick up so she doesn’t have to jump. I’m really happy for all of you! 🙂

  10. That is excellent news. I know a dachshund that has spine issues, but is living very well with it doing the same things your vet told you to do with Daisy. Have you ever tried water-less shampoo? Our dogs do not get many baths, but we have used it on occasion to freshen them up for a show without actually bathing them…lol.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      No, I hadn’t even heard of waterless shampoo! Daisy finally got her first bath today, but if anything like this ever happens again where she has to miss her bath, we’ll definitely look for it!

  11. So glad she’s feeling better. It’s great Daisy is on the mend!
    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  12. Jodi says:

    I JUST caught up on this, what a horrible, scary thing to happen! I’m so glad Daisy is feeling better.

    You mentioned acupuncture for her, have you considered a chiropractor? We’ve found that to be helpful with back issues also.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

