Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy needs your positive thoughts

on September 7, 2015

We had a very scary Saturday. It all started when Daisy let out a yipe when nobody was touching her. Then she did it again a little later. And she was walking a bit carefully, not her usually rompy, frolicking little self.

Then it all hit the fan. She was up on the sofa with us, and she gave another little yipe. DD touched her lightly on the back, and all hell broke loose.

She cried out and kept crying, making her way awkwardly across the couch to me – she always comes to me when she needs comforting.

She tried to sit on my lap but couldn’t get comfortable. She was trembling, whimpering, and couldn’t position herself.

“Call the vet!” I yelled.

DD was on it. You see, I’m good at panicking, DD is good at taking action. After the crisis is over, we both fall apart.

Anyway, our wonderful vet told us to bring her in even though his schedule was packed. He usually closes at 2:00 on Saturdays and he was backed up until at least 3:00, but he still let us come in.

He tested her neck and legs – all fine. Then he pressed along her spine and at one point she screamed.

“It’s her back,” he said. “She has back pain.”

He told us that it’s common for small dogs to get back pain between the ages of 4 and 6 – Daisy is 5. However, it can go either of two ways – either it’ll get better over the course of two MONTHS or it’ll get worse, which would be really bad. I don’t even want to think about that, don’t want to talk about that outcome. It just can’t happen. It just can’t.

He said if her legs start to wobble we have to call him immediately; that would be extremely bad. He wants to see her again on Tuesday morning; it’s never good when a vet wants to do a follow-up in three days.

She can’t go for walks, just a short, slow trip outside to take care of business and then back in again. When we got home and took her out a few hours later, after just a few minutes she had to take a 15 minute break to lie down in the grass. It was heartbreaking.

The vet gave her a shot to help take the edge off the pain and gave us two meds for her, one of which is pretty strong. She was crying when she walked, but once the meds kicked in, she could walk gingerly without constant crying. She whimpers here and there, screeches occasionally, and walks like a cat with its back arched, very slowly and awkwardly. Mostly she’s just lying absolutely motionless for hours, very occasionally looking up at us with big scared eyes.

If I could take the pain from her and put it into myself, I would do it in a heartbeat. It’s so painful to watch such an innocent little pup – or any animal – suffer so much. She doesn’t understand, and she’s scared. Understandably. We’re wrecks, also understandably.

We’re asking our blog buddies for your prayers, positive thoughts, messages to the Universe, or whatever you believe in to pull her through this and let it be something she can recover from and not the worst case scenario.

Because we just couldn’t deal with that.

We’ll keep you updated as the days go by.

73 responses to “Daisy needs your positive thoughts

  1. Dear Daisy I cross my paws and I send tons of POTP to you… I agree with your mom, if I could take the pains on my own back what torture my furkid, I would do it no ifs no buts. It’s the worst when we can do nothing while we have to wait…

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Easy. My family says that waiting is always the hardest when someone is in pain, and especially not knowing if it’s a temporary thing or the start of the degenerative disc issue. There is one bit of good news – my vet said that there was a possibility of paralysis if this was one of the two worst things that could happen, but we would know within several hours, and it didn’t happen. That was a big relief to us all.

  2. Fozziemum says:

    Daisy we send all our POTP…we will be hoping soon the pain goes away…we hate our furkids hurting and feel so helpless…please get better soon..loves Fozziemum xx

  3. Ranger says:

    OMD…… Miss Daisy….. I’m sending Up loads of POTP for you and sending you healing vibes.
    Take is easy girl and let your little body heal.
    Also send up POTPs for you Mom.
    Hugs,
    Ranger & his Mom

  4. Noreen says:

    Hi there, Sending the power of the paw and my prayers to Daisy today. We have a Bichon and know how sick I’d be in it happened to him. I’ve had a bad back with sciatica before and know how awful the pain is. Maybe there is a chiropractor for dogs in your area(we have them here in Colorado)or do they do cortisone injections to help with the pain the way they do for humans? Sending hugs your way.
    Noreen

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much Noreen. I’m going to look into acupuncture for Daisy – there’s an animal hospital near here that does it. I’ve been in the same position as you, dealing with back pain and sciatica, and I’m using my experience with that to understand how to keep Daisy as comfortable as possible. At least using those principles, we’re hearing fewer yipes from her.

  5. Cupcake says:

    We saw the call for POTP, and Mom and I said some prayers for Daisy’s speedy recovery. Our paws and fingers are crossed for strength and wisdom to help that beautiful girl. Hang in there. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. So many POTP coming your way. We completely understand your worry. Especially when you have to wait for so long to find out what comes next. Lots of *ear licks* Noodle

  7. bentley2 says:

    Sending POTP to you and prayers and love also to you and your family.
    Bentley

  8. KDKH says:

    Sending love and positive thoughts to all of you. But I’d like to share as well. I had a mastiff that would get to the point where she couldn’t walk. He back legs didn’t work at all, but the pain was coming from her back. I carried her (no small feat for a 200 pound dog) to our holistic vet, who gave her acupuncture and a chiropractic treatment and she walked out of there. Some alternative treatment may help Daisy; you just never know.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s funny you should mention acupuncture – I mentioned the same thing to my daughter yesterday; in fact I found an animal hospital near us that does it. Thank you for reminding me, I’m going to give them a call. And thank you for your kind wishes, they’re very much appreciated.

  9. Saw the post on POTP. Sending you prayers and love!!

  10. speedyrabbit says:

    Feel better soon pretty girl,love and Snuggles,xx Speedy

  11. So sorry you are having so much pain, Ms Daisy. Please feel better soon!

  12. Lots of thoughts and prayers from Wisconsin headed your way. Please let us know if we can do anything else!

  13. Oh my gosh this is terrible. Sending prayers for a quick and full recovery. Keep us posted.

  14. Mary says:

    Oh no!!! I am so sorry. Roxy has been living with back issues for several years. I started giving her a half dose of rimadyl everyday, and if it flares up, she gets the other half in the evening. She still has times when it’s really bad exactly like what you described. Talk to your vet about managing it that way.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much for that information, Mary, I definitely will. I’m also going to look into acupuncture for Daisy. I’m just anxious to get past the danger point where we can be sure it’s not a degenerative disc issue. We’re so relieved that there was no paralysis, which the vet had us watch for and said if it were to happen, it would be within the first day. Thank God we’ve passed that point! It’s so weird how these things just happen out of the blue.

  15. we are sending our most heartfelt POTP!!!!! And much love!

    DakotasDen

  16. We have stopped by to leave some pug POTP and prayers for Daisy. We really know how hard it is when your babies are hurting and waiting answers and relief.
    hugs and prayers
    Mr Bailey, Hazel & Mabel

  17. We have 36 paws in our pack and every one of them is crossed for a quick recovery. Mom is sending some hugs and prayers too.

  18. cecilia07 says:

    Daisy and peeps we are so sorry to read about your back pain and very scary weekend. We hope and purr you are feeling better each day that passes
    Hugs madi and mom

  19. Flynn says:

    Thank you for taking the time to send me your healing woofs when you are in so much pain yourself. I send my purrs to you and hope the pain soon eases and you will feel well again and be able to enjoy your walks.

  20. LB Johnson says:

    I do hope Daisy finds some comfort and healing soon. My old Barkley did something similar with his leg, and he quite eating and drinking completely, it turned out to be a pinched nerve and with some anti-imflammatories he was OK in a few days, but the worry we dog parents go through can be almost disabling. I hope the week gives you strength to help her in any way you can.

    LB – Abby the Lab’s Mom

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much LB. I’m so glad to hear that Barkley came through his injury so well, but I certainly know how frightened you were for him. These pups look so scared when they’re in pain and they look to us with “help me” eyes – it’s heartbreaking. But we have the first good sign – no paralysis within the first day which was one of the two bad possibilities, which is a huge relief. Now to get past the second big hurdle that hopefully won’t happen and then onward to total healing, which is what we’re hoping for.

  21. Murphy & Stanley says:

    We are sending her our most powerful POTP for total and complete healing. We saw the message you left us on POTP so we are glad that there is some good news but we are hanging on for the bestest good news. Be strong Daisy!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Murphy and Stanley. All the good wishes from the wonderful POTP followers and our blog buddies have really warmed our hearts. It’s really helpful to hear from so many pet parents who truly understand how hard it is to see our beloved pets suffer. We feel so helpless against this awful thing, but we are bolstered by such positive support. Thank you for all you do.

  22. Me says:

    Oh no, how scary 😦 It’s utterly horrible when our pups are in pain and we don’t know why and can’t ease it for them.

    Poor Daisy, and poor you guys! We’re all sending positive thoughts your way from our end and hoping the news is as good as possible ❤

  23. Jan K says:

    Oh no, we are so sorry to hear that Daisy is going through this. We are sending all the positive thoughts and prayers we have. We know how stressful it is to have them not feeling well like this…you feel so helpless. We hope the meds do their work and she gets on the mend soon. Please keep us posted if you can, and hang in there. Sending lots of comforting hugs.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Jan, your prayers and positive thoughts mean so much. Yes, helpless is exactly how we feel. I’ll definitely keep you posted as we go along. The support of this wonderful blogging community is so helpful.

  24. Barb says:

    Oh my dear, this is terrible for both Daisy and for you guys; things like this make us feel so helpless, and all we want to do is take away all their pain. So scary for all of you.
    Daisy will be in my prayers constantly, hoping for a good outcome when you next see the vet. Please keep us posted, you know how much we all love sweet Daisy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Barb, what kind things to say. All the support from the blogging community has helped so much. We are thankfully past the initial scare of paralysis, that fear is now behind us, thank God. We will definitely keep you posted on her progress – how can she not get better with so many wonderful, caring people pulling for her? 🙂

  25. Bailey says:

    Lots of paw prayers and I can second chiro. Both our dogs get monthly treatments and it has helped quite a bit over the years. Good luck on your journey.

  26. Oh noes. Daisy, I saw your postie on the POTP, and had to come overs and give you some healin’ vibes. I bets your Moms is all kinds of scared, and you are confused. I am so sorry! I hopes you feel better real fast, and that the dogtors can fix you up and get you out of pain. Sounds like everyone has some good advice, I will just leave you with some {{{hugs}}}} and maybe some margaritas for your MOms…☺ (they are my specialty)
    Sorry I had to meet your cute self under these circumstances, I will check in and see how you’re doin’.
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Oh thank you so much, Ruby! Yes, my mom and my whole family are so worried, and I’m kinda scared too. Mom says I have big frightened eyes, not the happy, bright eyes I usually have, and it makes her sad. I’m hoping my vet will have good news tomorrow and that his exam won’t hurt too much. I appreciate your hugs and my mom says to thank you for the virtual margaritas!

  27. KB says:

    I’m new here but I saw your story on the POTP blog. We went through this twice with one dog, a Lab who lived a pretty long time ago. Both times, strong anti-inflammatory injections by our vets helped him recover quickly. On one of those occasions, his hind end was almost completely paralyzed but he recovered with anti-inflammatories.

    I am sending you POTP, hoping that you get similarly great outcomes. I hope that Daisy’s pain is relieved very soon.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much for your good wishes and for sharing that story, KB. It’s always helpful to hear about other dogs’ experiences with the same problem, it gives me a lot of hope that Daisy will make a full recovery.

  28. Debra says:

    This seems to have come on her so suddenly that it’s hard to even think it could be devastating. But I’d be panicked as well! No doubt about that. I will pray for Daisy to have a complete recovery and I believe caring for our animals is a very pure prayer. She’s so defenseless against the pain and it must just be so frightening to her as well. It hurts me just to think about it. I will be looking for updates and thinking of you in this really difficult time. She is a valued member of your family–that is very clear! ox

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much Debra. It’s horrible to see any animal or person suffer, but it’s even more frustrating with a pet because you can’t explain to them what’s wrong and make them understand that it will be better. You also can’t explain that when they start feeling better, they still can’t be too active or they’ll go right back to square one, maybe worse. I really appreciate your prayers and support.

  29. kolytyi says:

    The feeling of helplessness is terrible – I went though a similar situation with my mom. She had terrible belly aches and vomiting a week ago, and the doctors could not help for a while. But in the end, the problem was found and she has been operated. You can be sure that you did lots for Daisy and she knows it and will reward you for comforting her and soothing her pains. I crossed all of my 20 fingers for good news from the dogtor’s visit.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much. I’m so sorry to hear about what your mom went through and that she needed surgery. I hope she’s feeling much better now and is healing well. We will also send our positive thoughts out to her and to you for everything to be fine again.

  30. Sending our POTP your way.

  31. Mags says:

    Oh, no this hurts my heart so much to know sweet little Daisy is in such pain. Will be keeping her and all of you in thoughts and saying prayers. Love and hugs for all of you and nose kisses for sweet little Daisy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much, Maggie. You’re dealing with so much right now, it’s so kind of you to pray for Daisy as well. Love to you!

      • Mags says:

        You all are always in my prayers when I pray, but I say extra ones when there is a need. No matter what I try to check every day to see if there is anyone needing prayer. Love and hugs!

  32. Jill says:

    So sorry to hear about Daisy! Our Havachon is 4 and I would be a wreck if she was in this pain! I hope you get a good report soon. Stay strong!

  33. Oh my GOD I have missed so much being so far behind with work 😦 This is what happened with Anne two years ago when Mazie hurt her back. I kept her very quiet and kenneled in the bathroom when I was gone. It was a very very slow road to recovery, keeping her from jumping and carrying her up and down the stairs. She does well now, has her up and down days which I give her Previcox for. I can remember how horrible it was, she spent 3 days in the emergency vet hospital and I wasn’t sure she would even come home. Sending love and tons of POTP and healing prayers for “our” sweet blogging sister!!!!
    Luvs
    Marty’s Mom and the Gang

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much to all of you, we really appreciate all your prayers. It’s good to hear about others’ experiences with back injuries, we get a lot of great information and it helps us deal with it better. Tomorrow is the second follow-up vet visit, and Daisy does seem better, though I know he’ll caution us against moving forward too fast, since she still has at least another month-plus of recovery time and she’s not off the pain pills yet – that will be the real test.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

