Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The Daisy Runway

on August 13, 2015

Daisy is a nut. A lovable, adorable, sweet little nut. We call her our little peanut.

But sometimes her nuttiness is dangerous to her, like when she charges at full speed across the kitchen floor and only puts the brakes on an inch away from the door frame or refrigerator, causing her entire body to crash into it with a bang.

Her nuttiness was also the cause of her severe ACL/meniscus tear, when she jumped off a chair with such crazy excitement that she landed wrong and ended up in a world of pain…and in surgery.

Ack! Keep those cold germs to yourself, please!!

Ack! I don’t ever want to go through that again!

So now we don’t let her jump off the furniture, we carry her off with us. She seems to like that. And we watch out for other ways she can hurt herself, like her flying slide across the kitchen floor.

The solution – we put a long runner down across the kitchen floor, connecting the carpeted living room and familyΒ room. It may look odd, but now there’s no more slipping and sliding and Daisy seems to love it. πŸ™‚ And hopefully we’ve avoided yet another emergency surgery.

Long runway, little Daisy. :)

Long runway, little Daisy. πŸ™‚

I love my soft runway!

I love my soft runway!

It may not be orthodox in placement – I can’t say I’ve ever seen a home with a carpet runner across the kitchen – but it’s a whole lot safer for our little speed demon, so it’s staying. πŸ™‚

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes bog hop!

39 responses to “The Daisy Runway

  1. Sweet little Daisy! Love the runway. πŸ˜€

  2. KDKH says:

    Sounds like a perfect solution!

  3. jan says:

    It’s a good place to practice her career as a runway model. πŸ™‚

  4. Me says:

    Omb we’ve had a few ‘live fast, think later’ moments with Kasper and Zoey too…when Zoey was under 6 months old she dived off our couch into a wooden chair when playing with Kasper, and got a nasty cut on her head. Then there’s the dozens of times Kasper has injured or cut his paws / tongue / legs on off lead walks…he managed to cut an artery once >__<

    I'm kinda glad he has to stay on a longline for walks now, it slows him down and keeps him safe πŸ˜›

    The runner is such a great idea, and that first photo of Daisy = tooo cute! ❀

    • raisingdaisy says:

      OMG those sound like some nasty injuries! These little pups do tend to go with the moment and suffer the consequences later. Sometimes I feel like we’re always playing catch-up!

  5. kolytyi says:

    I’m confused. No, I’m shocked. I cannot believe it. Is it possible that Daisy’s carpet is not RED? πŸ™‚

  6. Jodi says:

    We put an area rug in our kitchen because the flooring was wood and we needed to keep Sampson from slipping. Then I added a little runner right where he eats. Hey, what does it matter what it looks like, as long as our ‘babies’ are safe? πŸ™‚

    Thank you for joining the blog hop!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree completely, Jodi! And I kind of get a chuckle when people come into the house and they see the start of the runner in the living room – their eyes just follow it across the kitchen and into the family room with a kind of perplexed look. πŸ˜‰

  7. Will and Eko says:

    That first photo says it all – love it!

  8. I think that is very smart. You really don;t want any more injuries if you can prevent them. Besides, I bet Daisy loves it! Thanks so much for joining the hop.

  9. Mary says:

    I think that’s perfect, and very pretty too.

  10. I think it looks fine and even if it didn’t, Daisy’s safety is priority number 1! I think it is a great solution for the problem.

  11. Barb says:

    The runner is a good idea and very practical to keep her safe; I think it looks fine and it looks like Daisy approves too – and in the end, that’s all that matters!

  12. Beth says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who chooses pets over interior design πŸ™‚ Sounds like you found a great way to keep that sweet girl safe.

  13. Debra says:

    I think calling her a little “nut” is a good call! I have never seen a dog go sliding across a floor like that. I’ll bet the first few times she did it you couldn’t believe what you saw! Good call on the floor runner, although it’s a good thing she didn’t see it as a runway. Daisy is lucky she has the family she does, or she’d be in a cervical collar! πŸ™‚

  14. we have an EASY RACETRACK in our kitchen too… it’s ok… but the carpet I had to glue on the stairs is a complete eye-poison… I hope I will find a better solution, but better safe than sorry…

  15. Mags says:

    When it comes to the safety of our little sweeties how things look takes a backseat. I think the runner looks nice myself, I have never seen one that long. I am happy that Daisy is liking her new runway. What a little darling and so cute. Hope you all are doing well. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on the slugs. I am always thrilled to see you have been to the blog. Love, hugs and nose kisses from all of us to all of you.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree with you Maggie, safety is first! Thank you for all your kind words. I always look for new posts from you and when I don’t see any for a while, I send out extra prayers because I know things are tough going. Hope you and your Shug and all your fur-buddies are doing well – Daisy sends you all puppy kisses. πŸ™‚

  16. Jan K says:

    When you have dogs, all thoughts of beautiful and perfect home decor have to go out the window (though that is a very pretty carpet runner)! I’ve always hated carpet and loved wood floors, so we slowly converted most of our house to wood floors and stairs. Now we have throw rugs, carpet treads, and whatever else it takes to keep the dogs from slipping and sliding! Live and learn…LOL.

  17. you are right, much better to be safe and that runner is beautiful! Happy to meet you! Found you over at http://talesfromthebackroad.com/ and I am glad that she linked to you, because now I am one of your newest followers!

  18. bichonpawz says:

    Hi there! I am popping over from Mary’s blog too…especially interesting to me because I have bichons! My girls had a lot of trouble with their knees…luxating patellas, etc. We certainly understand RUNNERS!! We put all new floors in the cottage and then discovered that it was a very bad idea because the girls kept slipping and sliding all over the place. We purchased a package of those foam squares that many people use in kids’ playrooms and it has worked well…although does not look that good!! Safety first … as we all say! Nice to meet you!
    Jeanne, Chloe and LadyBug of BICHONPAWZ at http://bermudabluez.blogspot.com

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Nice to meet you too, and thanks for visiting! I agree, safety above all else, especially when it comes to our little ones! How lovely that you have bichons, they’re SO sweet! Good idea about the foam squares. I’ve heard there are “carpet tiles” that also help, and each square can be replaced independently if some experience more wear than others. Lots of great options, thank goodness! πŸ™‚

  19. Misaki says:

    Sounds like a great way to keep Daisy safe

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

