Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

A very special day!

on July 30, 2015

Are you familiar with Danny Elfman or Tim Burton? Elfman writes a lot of the music for Tim Burton’s films, like Nightmare Before Christmas, Edward Scissorhands, Corpse Bride, Alice in Wonderland and lots more. They frequently work with the gorgeously talented, gorgeously beautiful Johnny Depp (did I mention he’s gorgeous??), as well as the lovely Helena Bonham Carter, one of my favorite contemporary actresses. In fact, Depp wrote a large introduction in the playbill for this concert. All four are beautifully eccentric, and I just love them and admire their freedom to be who they are.

Anyway, we were fortunate enough to snag tickets to a once-in-a-lifetime show of Danny Elfman’s music for Tim Burton’s films at Lincoln Center in New York. It was only there six days after a round-the-world tour.

Big screen over the orchestra.

Big screen over the orchestra.

As soon as I heard about it, I jumped online and got tickets – center orchestra! Couldn’t have been more perfect.

New York Philharmonic

View from our seats of the New York Philharmonic

The lighting changed to match the film they were playing music from, and clips from the films as well as concept art you never get to see accompanied the music.

There was a most amazing young woman violinist who just blew our minds. She soloed in a few pieces – dressed in Burtonesque style – you’d think she’d been playing for decades to be that good! There were also two incredibly talented young boys who were soprano soloists for a couple of pieces.

THEN – Danny Elfman came out and performed some of the most loved pieces from Nightmare Before Christmas – we LOVE that film and know all the words to his songs. He was the voice talent for several of the characters, and even though that film has been around a while, he performed them just like he did in the film, with very few variations (just to let us know he was doing it live!). What a wonderful personality and sense of humor! He came out afterwards with his cell phone and shot videos of the audience and the orchestra LOL!!

Every show was completely sold out – understandably – it was phenomenal! The audience went wild. I doubt if anything will ever top it for us. (Except running into Johnny Depp in person – yeah, that would be the end-all for me!)

Before the show, we went to a really cool Chinese restaurant near Lincoln Center called Shun Lee West. Look at the amazing decor!

Huge dragons surround the dining area, which had a sunken center.

Huge dragons surround the dining area, which had a sunken center.

A dragon coming right for me! :)

A dragon with glowing red eyes coming right for me! 🙂

Really cool floor-to-ceiling dragon in the lobby.

Really cool floor-to-ceiling dragon in the lobby.

A crystal sculpture with colorful origami inside. Very cool!

A crystal sculpture with colorful origami-like crystals inside. Very cool!

It was a fabulous day filled with sunny skies, great food, and amazing music. I don’t know how we’ll ever top this, but if we do, I’ll post about it!

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

26 responses to “A very special day!

  1. KDKH says:

    Good to hear from you! I love to hear about other people’s perfect days. So refreshing among the angst, ranting, and whining on the Internet.Thanks for sharing.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you! I know what you mean, I tend to click off of any negative online convos. There’s enough negativity in the world without people online unnecessarily adding to it. I prefer to stay focused on the lighter side of things. 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    Oh WOW…That would be amazing! What a great evening. Between that way cool restaurant and the concert, what a fantastic night. I would die on the spot if I ran into Johnny Depp. Love him!

  3. Oh you described this event so good it was a little as if I would be there too…I’m sure it was THE event and I’m glad you had the chance to see it with your own eyes. I also love the decorations of the restaurant… is that a climbing monkey above the dragonhead?

  4. Sounds like a fantastic show and day! I would have loved to have seen that myself.

  5. I love Danny Elfman and Tim Burton!

  6. Wow!! That must have been cool, I have been a fan of Danny Elfman since the days of Oingo Boingo!!

  7. It sounds like such a wonderful time. I am glad that you shared it on the hop!

  8. Jodi says:

    That sounds like a great time! My friend and I are planning an excursion into the city sometime in December. I want to see the tree and take in an show.

    Thanks for joining the blog hop!!

  9. Wow! That sounds like an amazing show!! I also love Tim Burton films – you’re so lucky to have snagged tickets! Great post 🙂 I love living vicariously through other bloggers’ trips 🙂

  10. Jan K says:

    I’m not a huge fan of Tim Burton, but I sure do love Johnny Depp! He’s the hottest man alive every year to me. 🙂

  11. megtraveling says:

    What a marvelous experience, including the dinner! Your pictures are great… 🙂

  12. dogdaz says:

    Sounds like a fab time. The dragon looks scary. The dogs would be hiding under their seats – Your friends at DogDaz Zoo

  13. Novroz says:

    It sound like you had a wonderful time.
    I love that Chinese restaurant, the decoration is great. I am glad you took some pictures and shared it to us.

    I hope Daisy didn’t fell left out that day 😉

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We really did, and the restaurant was wonderful (as was the food!). I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures. I suspect Daisy did feel somewhat left out, but we made up for it when we got home with extra cuddles and a nice long walk. 🙂

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

