Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Winter’s Beauty – The Final Round?

on March 5, 2015

Winter isn’t giving up easily this year – we’ve had two snowstorms and an ice storm this week. Call me crazy – as I know many will on this subject considering the endless snows we’ve had this season – but the sight of snow falling still makes me smile and makes my heart happy.

I awoke to another beautiful snowfall this morning and found this little guy waiting for his turn at the feeder.

I awoke to another beautiful snowfall this morning and found this little guy waiting for his turn at the feeder.

Outdoors I love standing out in the middle of an open area during a snowfall; the frigid pre-snow chill is replaced by a distinctive warmth that makes the outdoors comfortable. I thoroughly enjoy the unique atmosphere, exquisite flakes, and unparalleled quiet that defines a good snowfall. I guess I’ll always get a bit of a childhood thrill when I see snow.

A little mid-week melting had this guy claiming the one green spot under the feeder.

A little mid-week melting had this guy claiming the one green spot under the feeder.

But the next day came another snow, and we had another full house.

But the next day came another snow, and we had another full house.

Indoors I love the cozy feeling as I watch every little aspect of nature flawlessly outlined and defined by snow. The contrasts are breathtaking. The ground is uniformly clean yet undulating with rolling heights of snow and unusual patterns. There’s nothing similar about snowfalls to me; each is as unique as every flake that falls.

Wave patterns in the snow.

Wave patterns in the snow.

The ice storm this week did make things dangerous, but there’s an exceptional beauty that comes with it too. It’s rare and one of my favorite sights.

Like it's covered in diamonds.

Like it’s covered in diamonds.

Like a cut crystal coating.

Like a cut crystal coating.

Is this where the phrase "dripping with diamonds" came from?

Is this where the phrase “dripping with diamonds” came from?

A rare sight indeed.

A rare sight indeed.

Crystal-sheathed branches.

Crystal-sheathed branches.

I can’t help but chuckle when I think of how extremely opposite my photographs are from my blogging friend Mary, who posts the most amazing photos of desert life. I absolutely love her photography. During winter, our photos are in complete contrast with each other, but that’s one of the things I love about this world – opposites are beautiful if we’ll only take the time to see the beauty and stop complaining about the differences. If only humans could see that in each other…

If everyone appreciates the differences in dogs, then why not in each other? I don't understand humans...

If everyone appreciates the differences in dogs, then why not in each other? I don’t understand humans…

So call me crazy, throw rotten tomatoes at me, but I love winter. And I’ll be sorry to see it go when the temps hit the 40s next week. Yes, I do find plenty of gorgeousness in spring and summer too, because every season has its own special beauty, but come June I’ll be starting my annual countdown to fall. 🙂

We’re part of a snowy Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

31 responses to “Winter’s Beauty – The Final Round?

  1. I like it to watch it too… but rather from a distance. It looks like a magic land when Mr. Frost rules :o) Maybe I will get the half of the rotten tomatoes now , but I also count the days till we have fall again… :o)

  2. Nikitaland says:

    Absolutely beautiful photographs that you have captured of Winters beauty! Love those birdie photos in the snow!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Nikita!! I must have thousands of winter photos, I just love it so much. 🙂

      • Nikitaland says:

        I must have the same amount of pics too, and although I agree with you that the snow falling is absolutely beautiful to watch, I just personally want it to end already over here. The cold temps can go too. We started our bad weather here on Thanksgiving, so enough is enough. Ug.

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Oh wow that was an early start! We didn’t get snow until February, so it feels like winter is making up for a slow start here.

      • Nikitaland says:

        On Thanksgiving, we arrived home from dinner at my Sweetie’s parents house and the snow started, and never stopped. We were buried in about 8 inches of the white stuff that night. Now you can understand why we want this to be over already. A girl can dream, eh?

      • raisingdaisy says:

        I certainly do understand why you and most people are ready for The Great Thaw. I’m sure it’s right around the corner!

  3. Mary says:

    Beautiful shots. And our worlds are dramatically different, aren’t they? I like to look at photos of snow and the beauty that ice formations can make, but I don’t want to be anywhere near it. LOL Thanks for the mention today too!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You’re welcome, Mary! And thanks, it means a lot to hear that an outstanding photographer like you enjoyed my pics. 🙂 The only frustrating thing to me about snow/ice is that I can’t drive out to more remote areas with lakes and wildlife to get pictures there. When we used to camp out a lot, I was already in those areas and got some of my favorite pics there.

  4. Will and Eko says:

    Beautiful? Yes. Ready to see it go? Yes.

  5. KDKH says:

    I’m with you! I love winter and snow!

  6. Jodi says:

    Thanks for joining the blog hop! You did have green. I saw it. We do not have green, nor will we have green for probably another two months! LOL I love a good snowfall too, but truthfully, I am getting sick of the snow, especially with the time change coming up this weekend. Back to slogging through slippery roads in the dark on our morning walks.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yeah I agree about the time change. I don’t like the short hours in December – getting up in the dark or coming home in the dark. Losing an hour this weekend sucks too. You’re right – we got a few patches of green when it rained for 12 hours yesterday, but that’s all covered up now. It’s been snowing here since the wee hours and is supposed to continue through 7 PM – the snow in the yard was literally knee-deep at 8 AM…should be thigh-high tonight!

  7. Yes you are crazy…lol. But you did take some very nice pictures. Thanks so much for joining the hop!

  8. herongrace says:

    I love the photos. Especially of the little birds and that you kindly put food out for them.

  9. Holy cow, these photos are just wonderful! I’m in Iowa and it’s still in negative temps here, so I’m kind of hating on winter right now…but your photos made me fall in love with it again (from the comfort of my warm home) 😀

  10. Jan K says:

    I agree that winter definitely has it’s beauty. It’s not the snow I’ve been minding so much but the frigid cold. I just hate being cooped up indoors for so long, but I just can’t get myself out there when it’s below 10 degrees out!
    It’s the changing seasons that I love the best….I even get tired of summer after a couple of months of heat and do always look forward to the fall.
    You are right that opposites are beautiful. What a boring place the world would be if everyone was the same!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree, the changing seasons usually have comfortably moderate temperatures, but even so I prefer fall to spring, only because I prefer the crisp, clean air over warming, humid air. I also agree that once the thermometer goes below 20, it’s really hard to go outside – especially if there’s wind on top of it!

  11. I think it’s completely wonderful that you love winter. You’ve made me think a little harder about how we tend to label a season in positive or negative descriptions, when the world around us really is quite beautiful year-round. Your photos are absolutely wonderful and really show me a side of winter that I can’t see from my own windows. To your comment about your blogging friend’s desert photos and the variety of beauty around us, I was thinking about that just the other day. Our landscape is often brown, and probably to some not that appealing. But I see the subtle changes and the beauty in a very different climate. Visual appeal is so much about what we tune in to see, I think. I hope you just continue to see these last few weeks, maybe just days, or real winter. And then on to a lovely spring. Daisy will be happier, I think. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you, Debra! Yes, it’s the little details in nature that are so amazing and that really deserve more attention. I took a picture just yesterday of a plant we neglected to remove from its planter after fall – it’s all brown, but there are shades of brown along with textures, curls and loops that no one ever notices. Beauty in every stage. And yes, Daisy will be much happier once she stops disappearing in the snow! 😉

  12. One of the things about winter is, it makes you look a little harder for the beauty. And your photos certainly found it!

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

