Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Late Winter Doings, Daisy Style

on February 27, 2015

Well we got a momentary peek of early spring temps one day last week when the thermometer read 44 degrees – for a whole six hours. The next day we were back into single-digit wind chills; but hey, at least they’re not going below zero!

We’ve had a couple more beautiful snowfalls too, and the five inches or so that’s on the ground now is frozen solid. And I mean solid – the ice at the base of the driveway is at least two inches thick.

I can never get enough of winter photography; to me winter presents unique and ever-changing beauty.

The rising sun creates a reddish glow on the trees, which we don't see when the leaves are out.

The rising sun creates a reddish glow on the trees, which we don’t see when the leaves are out.

Winter sunset, which we also can't see when the trees are in full leaf bloom.

A particularly vivid sunset, which we also can’t see when the trees are in full leaf bloom.

We’ve made sure to keep the birdies well fed, and in turn, they’ve given us a lot of entertainment along with their cuteness.

You can always tell how cold winter is by how chubby the birds are!

You can always tell how cold winter is by how chubby the birds are!

These guys took the easy pickins.

These guys took the easy pickins.

And while dozens of little birdies braved the weather to visit our feeder during snowstorms, ice storms, and frigid temps, what did Daisy do?

Yup, that's our little log-dog squishing herself between a blanket and the sofa back, oblivious to the birds' winter plight.

Yup, that’s our little log-dog squishing herself between a blanket and the sofa back, oblivious to the birds’ winter plight. Don’t know how she even breathes like that!

We were happy to see that not only did our rosemary plant survive the winter and continue to give us extremely aromatic herbs, but it provided a nice spot for birds awaiting their turn at the feeder.

I'll just wait my turn on this yummy-smelling bush...

I’ll just wait my turn on this yummy-smelling bush…

Mom and Pop cardinals continued flocking in for food – this guy demonstrated how flexible a bird neck is:

What you lookin' at??

What you lookin’ at??

Meanwhile, Daisy did her best impression of a canine airplane:

Airplane Daisy.

Airplane-ears Daisy.

I guess every creature has their own way of getting through each season!

 

24 responses to “Late Winter Doings, Daisy Style

  1. megtraveling says:

    What delightful winter scenes and Daisy’s reaction is so cute – maybe she’s trying to hibernate!

  2. oh the sunset photo is great.. i first thought “da roof is on fire” literally :o) I bet flight D-Y 007 is on the way to a sunny island … oh wait for me Captain Daisy… I need some sun too :o)

  3. That bird neck! Meanwhile, Daisy is practically inside the cushions 🙂

  4. Mags says:

    Love all the pictures. Hugs and nose kisses for you and sweet Daisy.

  5. Mary says:

    Those are great! And that cardinal, what a hoot!

  6. jan says:

    We are all like Daisy during the winter, but finally we are having spring.

  7. I’m just fascinated with the idea that it can be 44 degrees one day and back down to single digits the next! I know you mentioned that was wind chill factor but however you get to that cold, it’s just really shocking to me! I love your photos and really appreciate how much beauty you find in what would otherwise feel so stark. As for Daisy–I think she has the right idea! I am certain she is dreaming of spring. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much, Debra! I know, I can’t understand how those warmer temps can cut a path through the area for a day and then temps drop by 30 degrees again! I really do love winter’s beauty, in my view it offers an ever-changing landscape and brings out features we don’t see the rest of the year. I agree about Daisy – she’s dreaming of romping outside without having her legs slip out in all directions! 😉

  8. We are getting closer to the single digits. This winter may end soon.

  9. Poor Daisy. It looks like she has had enough of winter. Love the photos. The birds have been singing away here. I think they hope to sing Spring in.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We just heard our first spring bird this morning, and I hear temps are supposed to rise into the 40s next week…after three more storms this week! Daisy likes cool/cold weather, but not deep snow or ice. Yes, I think she’s had enough. 🙂

  10. Coccolino says:

    Those are gorgeous pictures! That sunset is so pretty and pictures of birds always make me smile. Hope you’re making it through this brutal weather!

  11. Jan K says:

    That sunset is gorgeous, and I love all the bird photos. I slacked off feeding ours this winter, but they’ve still been coming around some!
    Daisy has the right idea hiding in the couch cushions there….that’s exactly what I’ve felt like doing this winter…LOL.
    Today hit 40 degrees here….yahoo!!! It’s going to turn colder again tomorrow but I think only for a day or two before warming up again. The snow is packing down here as well, and I’m sure it will be icy soon enough.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We’re looking at the same weather here. It’s been raining since last night, but that’s going to freeze tonight and then we’re getting another ice/snowstorm tomorrow. Crazy!

  12. Novroz says:

    Beautiful scenery…you can soon take Daisy for a walk …when she finally wakes up 😉

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

