Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Winter Visitors and Daisy’s Poop Patch

on February 5, 2015

Oh yes, Daisy always gets her own personal little Poop Patch in the snow since she refuses to go “old school”. We even make a pathway from the patio to the patch for our finicky little miss. Here’s the one from this last storm, a few days later after the snow had gone down by about half (and it’s still there):

A nice little poop patch complete with pathway from the patio.

A nice little poop patch complete with pathway from the patio. It looks smaller than it actually is.

We’ve had a LOT of wonderful visitors, even more than usual. Yet another reason why I love snow.

You can always tell from the plumpness of the birds just how cold it is!

You can always tell from the plumpness of the birds just how cold it is!

One of my favorite winter scenes is the vivid color contrast of cardinals against the snow.

One of my favorite winter scenes is the vivid color contrast of cardinals against the snow.

I love when different types of birds share the banquet.

I love when different types of birds share the banquet together. Humans could take a lesson!

We’ve also had morning doves and blue jays as well as deer, but the deer dart through the yard and fly over the fence too fast for me to get my camera, so I just watch and enjoy. 🙂

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

2 Brown Dawgs

43 responses to “Winter Visitors and Daisy’s Poop Patch

  1. that looks like a great pee-mail and poop-parcel post office :o) I totally love the cardinals, I still wonder why we don’t have them here… probably they ate that birds as they ran out of frogs once :o(

  2. I don’t blame Daisy for needing a nice clean spot….lol. Love the bird pictures. So pretty. Thanks so much for joining the hop!

  3. Mary says:

    That red cardinal against the snow is beautiful. Roxy needed a poop patch too. It’s tough when they are little.

  4. KDKH says:

    Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for the versatile blogger award. Whether you participate or not, I encourage you to check out some of my favorite bloggers at: http://peacewithmylife.com/2015/02/05/building-community/

  5. kolytyi says:

    I cannot see any evidence that the object on the first pic is Daisy’s Poop Patch.
    My mother asked whether that red bird is a living being? Cardinals are really fantastic, and seeing them in the snow makes them even more exotic.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL yes I can testify that the cardinal is definitely a living bird AND that Daisy takes full advantage of her Poop Patch twice a day – we just keep it cleaned up. 🙂

  6. FleaByte says:

    I’m jealous of your snow! It’s so hit or miss here in Tulsa. Your bird visitors are lovely!

  7. We are lucky that Hailey will go in the snow as long as it is not deep, so she goes at the edge of the driveway etc. Phod will swim through the snow to find the perfect spot (which is usually an impossible place for me to pick up, but since it is in the bus around the house, I am not too worried). Stay warm.

  8. Mags says:

    Now that is a pretty good looking poop patch sweet Miss Daisy has there. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful birds…you know I love birds. Great pictures! Hugs

  9. This is one for our collection of “Things we do for our dogs”…

  10. Jodi Stone says:

    We don’t have patches, because the cleared areas still have some snow, but the daddy does clear paths to areas for the pups. I mean really, we have to much snow for them to try and find a spot. 🙂

    We don’t have a lot of birds in our yard, but I have seen a cardinal and I’m like you, I love their vivid color.

    Thanks for joining the blog hop.

  11. Misaki says:

    Those cardinals are beautiful

  12. Barb says:

    It looks so cold over your way, and I’m sure Daisy appreciates the trouble you go to for her to make her outside calls less fraught with all that snow!
    Love the photos of the birds, and that cardinal against the snow is stunning! I love watching the birds coming into the garden at my place (but we never get snow), thank goodness!

  13. I am sure the Puffs would appreciate me digging them a ‘patch’ too. I will have to remember that next time and start before we have more than 12 inches in the yard! Love your feathered visitors!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Marty! That patch really saved the day – and our carpets! 🙂

      • The Puffs are potty pad trained since Mom is on call with her nursing job in the cardiac cath lab and she didn’t want them to have to try and hold it if she couldn’t get home. Gram and Gramps have to come let Mazie out still though. 🙂

      • raisingdaisy says:

        You’re so lucky to have a double backup system! 😉 Daisy WAS potty pad trained, but last year she decided to refuse to go on the pad anymore, so we’re stuck going out in all kinds of weather. No matter what we did, she absolutely refused to go on the pad anymore. Makes things difficult during extreme storms!

      • That’s a stinker 😦 Anne has a bit of a “glitch” in her little brain and will sometimes use the throw rugs instead, but she is usually pretty good. She never has accidents on the only real carpet I have in the basement though.

  14. Novroz says:

    The Cardinal looks gorgeous!!

    I never have a picture of birds, they always flew before I had time to take their pic.

  15. Will and Eko says:

    Haha can’t say I blame her for refusing to go in that snow. I know I wouldn’t.

  16. megtraveling says:

    The birds look extra pretty against the snow – nice pictures!

  17. What a lot to think about! It’s really a shame dogs don’t use litter boxes! 🙂 The cardinals are absolutely wonderful. I love that last photo with the three little birds. You caught a sweet little moment!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Debra! Yes, we’ve often thought how convenient litter boxes for dogs would be during stormy weather; I heard some time ago that they came out with doggy litter, but I guess it didn’t work too well because I haven’t heard about it for quite some time. We really had it made for a few years when Daisy was using the wee-wee pads when we couldn’t take her outside – which was a Godsend during the hurricane! – but once this little pup makes up her mind about something, there’s no talking her out of it!

  18. Coccolino says:

    Those are some pretty visitors! It’s great to have a special spot. Pixie has carved out her spot in the snow too 🙂

  19. amkuska says:

    Our deer aren’t nearly so shy. I’ve watched them graze placidly across the fence from my psycho dog lol

  20. Clowie says:

    The photographs of the birds are lovely. I’d love to see deer in my garden!
    Daisy, you have your bipeds well trained if they make a path in the snow for you!

  21. Jan K says:

    I love to watch the birds too! Our dogs are pretty good about plowing through the snow to do their business, but we haven’t had any huge snowfalls all at once this year either. That could change things…hopefully it will stick to a few inches at a time or we’ll have to do more shoveling too. 🙂

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

