Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The Great Clear-Out of 2014 – Daisy and the Flute

on September 25, 2014

Since I had to empty out all the cabinets, the china closet, server, wall units, etc. for the renovations, I got the bug to start paring down.

You don’t realize how much you’ve accumulated over the years until something like this happens, and suddenly you’re faced with the reality of stacks of boxes of “stuff” and stacks upon stacks upon stacks of books. (In our defense, we’re all avid readers and research is a major part of my job, so there’s something of an excuse in there!)

But I have to admit, it was a bit of a weird feeling – you spend the first half of your life acquiring things and building up the makings of your home, then suddenly you find yourself teetering on that peak of the “other side” of life, the side where you move in the opposite direction and “deaccession” things, like museums do from time to time. It’s a weird feeling (I know I’m repeating myself, but it is!).

At first it felt positive, like I was trimming the fat and getting down to fighting weight (pardon the ridiculous cliche), then all of a sudden it felt like I was slowly closing the curtain of my life. I don’t like that feeling and it’s much too soon to feel that way, so I’m focusing on the fact that I really do prefer a simpler existence and am working toward retaining just enough to fit into that diminutive cottage I dream of living in someday.

It’ll take a while to get to that point fully, I know, but I’m working toward it.

Anyway, all psychological assessments aside, DD caught the “clear-out fever” and started going through some of her things. I guess you’re never too young to thin the herd of “stuff” that tends to accumulate.

In doing so, she came across her flute that we had bought for her in middle school. Music is in her blood; she plays lots of instruments (and was a music major at one point in college), but her true musical love was and is the French horn, which she still plays in bands, ensembles, and pit orchestras. When she found her flute during her clear-out, she decided it was the one and only instrument she no longer wanted to keep.

After cleaning it up, she tested it by playing it. This interested Daisy enormously, since she hadn’t heard the flute being played before. She immediately went into Investigation Mode – cautiously at first, then in full-on Daisy Mode.

The "head-tilting curiosity" mode.

The “head-tilting curiosity” mode.

"Investigation Mode" begins....

“Investigation Mode” begins….

Hmmmm....are you making it sing like that?

Hmmmm….are you making it sing like that?

Investigation Mode intensifies....

Investigation Mode intensifies….

My, aren't you the tall one!

My, aren’t you the tall one!

Challenge accepted! Begin "Daisy Mode"...

Challenge accepted! Begin “Daisy Mode”…

Full-on Daisy Mode! You're mine!!

Full-on Daisy Mode! You’re mine!!

We’re part of the Thursday Barks and Bytes blog hop!

2 Brown Dawgs

38 responses to “The Great Clear-Out of 2014 – Daisy and the Flute

  1. katiebblogs says:

    How neat about the love of instruments! Paring down is a good thing but sometimes so hard to do. Good luck and enjoy those pretty sounds!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Katie! I love listening to DD play her horn….and I love sticking my head inside the bell too! Yes I can see by the look that crosses Mommy’s face sometimes that it’s hard for her to get rid of some things, and DD’s the same way (so am I – I don’t like when my chewed-up toys vanish). Daddy just says “GOOD” when Mommy gives him another box for Goodwill!

  2. seems flutes work on all kind of animals :o) I have a love/hate-relationship with clear-out projects, I always start full of power till I find something with a story behind… and that’s the moment where I want to keep all things, because everything has a story even the biggest mispurchase ever :o)

  3. FleaByte says:

    Awwww. Our dogs only get to hear a harmonica, and they don’t seem to like it very much. 😉

  4. kolytyi says:

    I’d like to book a seat in the first row at Daisy’s first concert. I’m sure that she needs only a few days to play this, for example: http://youtu.be/fFFt_kFq_eQ.
    I think moving into a new flat or house is the best way of sorting your things out. At the same time, however, it is also a head start on collecting a new amount of extremely useful doodads…

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We’ll be sure to send you front row tickets! 😉 LOL about moving, what a double-edged sword that is! My thought was that I’m getting a head start for when I move into a smaller place, but now I have my doubts on whether it would work…. 😉

  5. Will and Eko says:

    The pied-fluter! She’ll have all the neighborhood dogs marching behind her in no time.

  6. Novroz says:

    I know how you feel about clearing out…we never realize the amount of stuff we have.

    I will wait for daisy to play it 😉

  7. Sue says:

    Love it! We sometimes play a kazoo for our pack and they love it 🙂

  8. http://thepoodleanddogblog.typepad.com/ says:

    As soon as we get rid of something it seems like we think of a reason to need it again.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      YES! I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one! The thing could be sitting around for ten years doing nothing, but the minute we get rid of it, we need it and have to buy another. What’s up with that?!

  9. LOL I think Daisy is a fan. 🙂 I keep saying that we need “Junk Be Gone” to come by so we can fill it up with all the stuff we don’t use or need. 🙂 Thanks for joining the hop!

  10. Barbara says:

    Sounds like you have another music lover in the family besides DD. The photos of Daisy checking out the flute are priceless, she’s really interested in it!
    Poppy howls when I play the harmonica, it seems to stress her, so I don’t play anymore.
    Be careful what you get rid of because without fail, you will need it again!

  11. Jodi says:

    Well of course she’ll investigate, what self-respecting dog wouldn’t?

    I hear what you are saying about paring down your ‘stuff.’ I’ve been thinking like that too lately and using the spare room for ‘stuff’ I want to tag sale. If it does not sell, I’m donating it. Once that’s cleaned out I want to go through more stuff and get rid of that too!! I’m just thinking who the heck wants to deal with all that when they retire?

    Thanks for joining the bloghop!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’ve always wanted to move to a cottage, and all this stuff just won’t fit in it. Plus I want simplicity, period, and clutter, no matter how pretty, just doesn’t fit in. Moving (eventually, hopefully) has so many difficulties of its own, the last thing I need is to be trying to sort through the excess! Although I’m sure I’ll never quite be DONE.

  12. Marty the Manx says:

    I am lucky enough to be a mover. I have lived in 5 homes in the 19 years I have been back here. This has made me one of those people who do a serious “clean” every spring and fall. I even force myself to do this with my “treasures”. Love to hear that DD is a multi-instrument musician! Both my brothers are too and I think that is an incredible gift 🙂 Miss Daisy you are a little hoot with your flute investigation/conquering 🙂
    Luvs
    Marty’s Mom

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Wow, that’s a lot of moving! It does help keep your stuff lean, which I’m very envious of! Daisy enjoys all of DD’s instruments except one – the trumpet. She gets pretty annoyed when DD plays it, she really doesn’t like the sound. She barks up a storm, grumbles, and complains. I guess she’s a canine critic!

  13. You’re so cute, Daisy! 🙂 We had to go through all our stuff when we moved from Kansas to Iowa in May. It was really uplifting to get rid of all that junk. I didn’t get depressed about it at all. But I did have a hard time getting rid of my books and art supplies. I ended up keeping all my art supplies and most of my books. My husband was so overwhelmed with all the books that he bought me a kindle.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL!! Well that’s one way to consolidate things! I still can’t give up my books, especially those I use for research. It’s much easier for me to have several books open in front of me than to switch between pages on my computer (for me, at least). I do feel a weight off me as things leave the house, but getting them into those “to be donated” boxes is a tough hurdle for me.

  14. megtraveling says:

    I have a hard time deciding whether or not to keep things, especially travel souvenirs! It looks like Daisy may have a new toy though!

  15. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, sweet Daisy we would loved to have seen a video of that and heard the pretty music. Did you try to make music from that tall flute? Adorable pictures of you adorable, sweet Daisy. Hugs and nose kisses

  16. I love the sound of the flute. Such cute pics of Daisy. Good luck with the paring down. You might have to do it in small stages. 😀

  17. Zoe says:

    I often play the piano and my pups sit close by observing, they seem to enjoy it! “Daisy Mode” aww that is just to adorable, she seems like a very characterful dog!

  18. Soooo cute! I love all her modes of investigation. She’s such a curious little pup!

  19. I’m definitely relating to your observation that it feels weird to be on the other side of accumulation! I’ve been really paring down, and we are downsizing without actually leaving our home. I have such a need to feel free of all the clutter and the burden of having entirely too much of everything. I have had a similar thought to what you shared. There was a time I wanted all these things, and now I don’t. Is that just a developmental shift? Do we all go through this at some point? I don’t know, but it sure is my season! I hope you continue to feel good about the goals you’ve set. And is your daughter sure she’s going to relinquish her flute? She could have quite a musical act with Daisy. I’m reminded in these photos of a snake charmer..not that sweet Daisy is anything like a snake. LOL!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL We can just call it a Daisy Charmer! 😉 I definitely seem to have entered a “season of change”, and I do wonder if it’s “time of life” related – let’s not go there too deeply – or a generational thing, but one of my friends is going through the same thing and she’s around my age too, so…. But I think that would be an interesting study! I find I want to simplify my surroundings and my life, even so far as to change my furniture to more of a simple Shaker style. It almost feels like it came out of nowhere. I don’t see the same thing with my parents’ generation, all of whom (the ones I know, anyway) have overstuffed china cabinets and knickknacks galore.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

