Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Thursday Barks and Bytes: Warm Winter Havachon

on January 23, 2014

We were shocked to discover that Daisy outgrew her winter coat! Naturally, we only found this out during the first snowstorm, so we needed a new one right away. DD and I couldn’t run out that day, so DH went on the errand.

You know what happens when you send a man out to get a girly coat? You tell him to look for something pink and cute, and he comes home with rugged red. “At least it’s not blue….red is closer to pink than blue is” – that’s DH’s male logic (sorry Will!)

I look like a log in this thing!

I look like a log in this thing!

But I have to say, this puffy red coat is really nice, and it’s rated for temps as low as five degrees….who knew we’d be at -15 this year?! It’s got a cool little pocket on the back that snaps closed, and the hood, which is nice and tight to the head, can also be snapped back off the head onto the coat to keep it off the dog’s head. And there’s a drawstring at the tail end of the coat for those blustery days too.

Ack! This hood is inescapable!

Ack! This hood is inescapable!

He also got some nice boots that go all the way up the legs, which we really needed, but unfortunately he got mediums and we needed smalls. So we made due with last year’s little booties for the time being.

....I really hate boots....

….I really hate boots….

I refuse to put my bad leg down with these things on!

I refuse to put my bad leg down with these things on! (This is not a happy Havachon moment!)

The Bulldog Stance - waiting to be de-booted.

The Bulldog Stance – waiting to be de-booted.

Daisy may not appreciate being dressed in a coat and boots, but we did notice that she stays outside longer now that she’s toasty warm in her new coat and her feet are protected from the snow. And that’s a good thing!

We’re happy to be part of the new Thursday Barks and Bytes, hosted by our friends 2 Brown Dawgs and Heart Like A Dog!

B&B3b_Fotor

52 responses to “Thursday Barks and Bytes: Warm Winter Havachon

  1. Kuruk says:

    I think you look cuuuwooowoooote!

  2. ThatJenK says:

    I like the red coat! Looks super warm!

  3. Sounds like something my boyfriend would do…. only deliberately! He doesn’t like pink. At least she’ll be warm!

  4. waiting to be de-booted LOL! I think you look cute and the best is, that you have a warm belly too, my coat only warms my back :o)

  5. slimdoggy says:

    Even though it’s red, she still looks pretty cute and most important, WARM!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Slim! Yes she does seem much warmer, especially since she’s letting us take her for short walks in these frigid temps instead of taking a step out the door and turning right back around!

  6. Will and Eko says:

    Makes perfect sense to me, but that’s because I’m a guy I guess! As long is it’s warm, it works by me.

  7. Carol Bryant says:

    Would you please stop by and teach our doggie to wear booties – he hates them but wears everything else. Great post!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL Thanks Carol! It’s definitely not easy getting Daisy to let us put her boots on, but she’s slowly resigning herself to the idea! πŸ™‚ I’ll have her give your pup a call…. πŸ˜‰

  8. 2browndawgs says:

    Thanks so much for joining Barks and Bytes! That coat does look warm and snugly. That first picture made me laugh and the picture of Daisy with the hood on her head. I am not sure she was convinced about the new coat at the moment…lol. Glad she likes it and it is helping her stay out longer. πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s still a struggle to get the coat and boots on her – she tries to hide when she sees the coat come out, yet once it’s on her, she’s happy to go out. Strange little girl…. πŸ˜‰

  9. Daisy is one very comfy, warm doggy!

  10. You are really ready for the article freeze-very cute,

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Terri! Yes we’re right in the middle of this Arctic freeze, and more snow is coming this weekend! It’s already about 5 times deeper than Daisy is tall! πŸ™‚

  11. I am struck by how I need to stop complaining that I don’t have enough time! I have so much more available time than you and my other friends on the east coast! I don’t have to take all that time to basically “stuff” my dog into winter clothing. LOL! I am just agog! I never once thought about this, and yet, of course, it would be entirely too cold for a small dog without winter outerwear. Zena also has no idea what she would be in for if her mommy had to dress her. You should see how awkward I am when I have to help my granddaughter get into her Tae Kwon Do sparring gear. I can’t imagine what I’d do with a dog coat and boots. This was so enlightening! Go Daisy! You’re one patient little girl. ox

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Not to mention that we have to stuff ourselves into layers upon layers of winter clothes and outerwear! LOL!! The dog boots are necessary for another reason besides the cold – they also protect Daisy’s pads from the salt and de-icing chemicals on sidewalks and streets. Both the icy cold and salt/chemicals can wreak havoc on a pup’s paws. As much as we love snow and winter, we’re looking forward to some degree to the months where we can just snap on Daisy’s harness and leash and GO! πŸ™‚

  12. optie says:

    Please tell Daisy that she is the epitome of canine chic in her red jacket and boots, maybe that will help her to like them more πŸ™‚

  13. Mags Corner says:

    Sweet Daisy with the temps you all are having we think that warmth and protection is the most important thing for you. And you know what…we think you look pretty cute in that new red coat and your little boots. You are always adorable no matter if you have something on or it is all just your sweet self. Hope your leg is still healing well and you will soon keep it down at all times. Hugs and nose kisses

  14. FleaByte says:

    Looks like that puffy red coat is a good investment. πŸ™‚

  15. That’s a great coat! I wish the puffs would wear them. Anne lays down and refuses to get up when I put hers on. Abbe walks like her legs are stilts and all stiff. I can’t win. I usually end up going out with them and ‘rescuing’ them when they get to cold and carrying them back in.
    Daisy looks cute if you ask me. Hope her leg is doing ok in the cold.
    Marty’s mom

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Marty’s Mom! πŸ™‚ Daisy does some weird walks when she has boots on and she refuses to lift her head when her hood is on, but she’s getting more used to it.

  16. Cute! I think the red has a bit of a pinkish tinge to it. Or is that just the photo? I never considered coats for my dogs until this winter. Never have we had so many below freezing days.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I know what you mean – this is a true winter. I remember having winters like this when I was growing up, but it hasn’t been this frigid for so long that I’ve forgotten how rough they can be!

  17. kolytyi says:

    My first impression was that Daisy looks like a sleeping bag, but then I realized that she added a new dimension to the meaning of the phrase ‘hot dog’. She is inexpressibly hilarious in her winter overlay! πŸ™‚

  18. megtraveling says:

    The colors look good on her! I really like that hood… πŸ™‚

  19. Jodi says:

    Hi, thanks for joining the blog hop!! Daisy sure looks cute in the coat and boots. We keep talking about getting coats and boots for our dogs but so far, we haven’t found anything I really care for. 😦 (I’m super picky) I wonder how Daisy likes wearing the hood? I don’t think either of my guys would like it.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Hi Jodi! Daisy HATES wearing hoods, and we don’t put it on her unless it’s raining pretty hard. That’s why this coat was so good – the hood snaps back onto the coat, so it’s completely off her head. She tolerates that much better. πŸ™‚

  20. Misaki says:

    Oh Daisy, how cosy you look:-)

  21. I think you look beautiful Daisy. I have some orange boots but I look like a duck in them, as they are a bit big bawahwhahhhaaaa xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  22. Lee says:

    Why I think red is very romantic and you are all fitted out for Valentines Day.
    Sounds like you have made some nice finds in the river bed. I do hope you find that arrowhead.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog
    Sweet William The Scot

  23. Novroz says:

    Hahaha you look like the Wombat from an old movie.
    At least now you can enjoy the snow πŸ˜‰

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

