Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Vet Visit Verdict

on November 24, 2013

Today we took Daisy back to the vet to have her stitches removed. Everything looked beautifully healed to me, and thankfully, the vet’s report was exactly the same.

The stitches are out! You can see the "peach fuzz" growing back on her leg. :)

The stitches are out! You can see the silvery “peach fuzz” growing back on her leg. πŸ™‚

He took the stitches out without incident; Daisy didn’t cry but she didn’t much care for it either – and she showed him by dropping a load of poop on the exam table. After that was cleaned up, she proceeded to wee and then wag her tail in it, splashing the vet. I could swear it was a calculated move.

These passive-aggressive pups sure are clever!

I've been through a lot, but I sure showed that vet!

I’ve been through a lot, but I sure showed that vet!

Daisy is now allowed to walk 3 times a day for no more than 5 minutes. Other than that, we still have to keep her seriously benched for another six weeks. That’s a LONG haul.

I'm hobbling around pretty well on three legs!

I’m hobbling around pretty well on three legs! Don’t you feel sorry for me with my sad little face on?

DH and DD are going to help out Β by working from homeΒ whenever they can. There’s just no way I can sit on the couch for another six weeks – the last two were hard enough. And especially with the holidays coming!

You can see how she continues to hold that back leg up when she walks or stands.

You can see how she continues to hold that back leg up when she walks or stands.

The vet said it may take a couple more weeks for her to start using that leg. He said small dogs take longer to use it than bigger dogs because – get this – small dogs actually find it easier to get around on 3 legs! I can’t say I see that with Daisy, but she can fairly move when she wants to!

This year, for the first time, we’ll have to have Thanksgiving dinner out. We can’t possibly get all the cooking and baking done while caring for Daisy, nor can we risk having her get as excited as she does when anyone comes into the house.

So we made a reservation at a nice place, but it’s still not the same as having dinner at home. I LOVE holidays at home, filling the air with the aromas of baking and roasting, then enjoying the leftovers for days after.

But we’re doing the next best thing – while Thanksgiving dinner will be enjoyed out, we’re planning a regular Thanksgiving dinner here at home for just the three of us on Friday. That way we can take our time and make dinner leisurely, taking turns babysitting Daisy, and we won’t have to worry about her becoming overly excited. The best of both worlds. πŸ™‚

Happy Thanksgiving to all our blog friends who will be celebrating along with us!

29 responses to “Vet Visit Verdict

  1. Misaki says:

    Way to go Daisy!! Keep getting better xxx

  2. Kuruk says:

    Heal up nice and good! Woooowoooooo

  3. barb19 says:

    It’s good news to hear that Daisy is improving, albeit slowly. She looks so sorry for herself in the third photo!
    Dogs get very excited when visitors come to the house, so having Thanksgiving dinner out this year is a wise move.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      She really did look like she felt sorry for herself – that photo was taken as soon as we got home from the vet, and I felt like her expression said, “You don’t know what I’ve been through!” πŸ™‚

  4. I’m so glad you’re doing good.. keep it up, and get all better fast.

  5. KDKH says:

    I’m so glad you’re recovering so well, now, Daisy. Hopefully, the e-collar is a thing of the past. If you’re a good girl, you may get some Thanksgiving leftovers!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Heehee I’m hoping for some sweet potatoes! πŸ˜€ The e-collar was supposed to be a thing of the past now that the stitches are out, but Mom caught me nibbling where the stitches were and now I’m going to have to keep wearing it at night and when my family goes out. 😦 But hopefully that’ll just be for a little while.

  6. MARGIE says:

    OH ~ that Havachon Sad look (poor piteful me) so sweet looks like she healing good we keep sending healing vibs to Daisy & you both
    good idea for thanksgiving alone NEXT year she’l make up for it woo hoo
    Margie havachons.com

  7. Daisy still looks so small! Poor little thing. This whole event must be traumatic for her–as evidenced at the vet today– but also for you! I still can’t imagine how she hurt herself this badly, but you are all so good to her to take turns sitting on the couch all day and arranging your Thanksgiving to be closer to her. It’s obvious how much you love her! Here’s to a much better week! πŸ™‚

  8. kolytyi says:

    Oh, Daisy, with my slow human brain I cannot interpret your message properly. With that poo and pee, you wanted to say the vet that that deserves who makes from a doggy leg a(n angora) chicken leg – or on the contrary, seeing the relief and euphoria of your pawrents after your first production after your operation, you tried to express your gratitude and put also your vet to cloud nine?
    Your Sad Look is very-very impressive (and cute, of course)! πŸ™‚

  9. 2browndawgs says:

    Way to go Daisy! You let that vet know who is really in charge!

    So glad to hear that she is improving. Hopefully the six weeks will fly by.

  10. optie says:

    Do you think Daisy saved that poop up specially for the Vet πŸ˜‰ So happy to see her looking a little better. Good luck with the enforced rest, I think Daisy may well have different ideas.

  11. Mags Corner says:

    Good job sweet Daisy letting the vet know what you thought. lol We are so happy to her the progress you are making. Keep healing and doing well sweetie. Oh, you get to have two Thanksgiving dinners, that will be nice. Sounds like a great plan to us. Hugs and nose kisses

  12. Great that all looks well and I hope you will have a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. Happy Thanksgiving to you and all my best wishes to Daisy!

  13. Will and Eko says:

    That’s great news. It will be a long recovery but nice to hear that things are getting better.

  14. ILoveDogs says:

    Sweet Daisy! I’m so glad you’re on the mend. Good move with the vet. Pierson did something similar once. He is scared to death of the vet.

  15. mollieandalfie says:

    You will soon be running around, just be good and do what the Dogtor ordered πŸ™‚ xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It can’t come soon enough for me – or my family! I’m pretty sneaky and I’m back to my wiggly self, so they’re finding it harder to keep me calm when someone comes in or when I get up in the morning. My mischievous side is pretty keen, you know…. πŸ˜‰

  16. Coccolino says:

    So glad to hear this, Daisy! Keep it up and you’ll be off and unrestricted again soon! xo

  17. Marcie says:

    So glad Daisy is healing nicely! Hope you all have a nice Thanksgiving.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

