Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Raising Injured Daisy

on November 13, 2013

Daisy’s home!! Hooray! Our little family is complete once again.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that she’s suffering – a lot. And we’re suffering right along with her; we can’t stand to see her hurting. She’s in a lot of pain despite the painkillers she’s on.

DD and I were up all night last night with her. She’s constantly cry-whining pathetically, occasionally yiping, and always shifting around cautiously trying to find a less painful position.

We called the emergency vet last night around 1 AM – we were both in tears – and she was so kind and understanding. Turns out her small dog had ACL tears in both knees at different times, and she said some dogs go through recovery like nothing happened while others feel pain severely. Unfortunately, both her dog and ours are the latter. Also unfortunately, shy of taking her in for one more pain shot, there’s nothing we can do.

Daisy drank two bowls of water (!) and ate her dinner as normal last night, but today I can’t get her to eat her food, nor have we been able to get her to use the bathroom at all since she’s been home. Standing seems to exacerbate the pain even though she keeps that leg raised, and it’s hard for her to calm down afterward.

It’s heartbreaking to see her suffering so much. She keeps turning to me for help with those big, sad eyes, and there’s nothing more I can do. If I could take the pain away from her, I would do it in a second.

Please help me

Please help me

I'm so happy to be home again!

I’m so happy to be home again, but OUCH!

Hey! Don't take a picture of my nekked butt! (Looks like she's wearing a furry sock!)

Hey! Don’t take a picture of my nekked butt! (Looks like she’s wearing a furry sock!)

The source of the ouchies.

The source of the ouchies.

Comfy cozy with all the love of her family around her.

A brief moment of comfort.

37 responses to “Raising Injured Daisy

  1. Oh sweetheart…I’m so sorry you have a bad ouchie. Hopefully as the days go on, so will the pain. Hang in there mom!!!

  2. Misaki says:

    Oh noes, Daisy you poor thing. Hugs to you and hoping you make a speedy recovery xx

  3. Sending a prayer that the pain will subside. Suffering in an animal (or child) brings me to my knees. They don’t understand and rely on us to take care of them, and to make it better–so when we can’t, it’s horrible. Let’s hope this recovery moves quickly. She’s young, and perhaps that will indeed will be a benefit. Thinking of you all…being shaved makes her look even smaller! ox

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much Debra. I’m the same as you – any innocent who is suffering just breaks me down. Children, pets, the elderly – any creature who can’t take care of themselves, though my heart goes out to anyone anywhere who’s facing difficulties. DH says I’m a total mush – I’m not denying it!

  4. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, dear sweet Daisy we are so sorry to hear that you are in such awful pain. We know how hard it is to watch our fur sweeties suffer when we have done all we can do. Sending up prayers for you sweetie and we hope that pain will swiftly subside and you will be doing a whole lot better. Lots of hugs and nose kisses

  5. I wish I could do something for you and the little pup. I know how it feels when your best friend is in pain and you can’t help. I hope she feels better after some days and her leg will heal good.

  6. kolytyi says:

    The feeling of powerlessness is heartbreaking but it was a very good idea that you called the vet. It is a highly important piece of information that there is nothing abnormal in post-operation pains so that you don’t have to worry that there are complications or anything wrong with the OP – at least, I’d start to worry about this immediately. So, try to keep in mind that the suffering will subside soon, every day will be a bit better than the previous was. Daisy will completely forget the whole thing.
    OMG, she is even in pain and confused, with her furry sock and pink ham very-very cute!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes, powerlessness is such a difficult thing when a loved one is suffering. It’s even more frustrating when it’s a baby or a pet who can’t tell us exactly what’s going on – discomfort? pain? hunger? It’s so hard to give her any relief when we’re not sure exactly what she needs. I’ll take your suggestion though and keep my eye on the prize at the end of this fiasco – a happy, bouncy Daisy!

      • kolytyi says:

        Any Bionic Pup News (BPN)? As I see, you received so many good tricks and tips from fellow pawrents – and of course, you will learn Daisy’s sign language – that you will be in a twinkling a Perfect Injured Pup Mom (PIPM)! Doggies are so smart that they can develop their social skills quickly – so, I think she will express herself better and better. I hope that you will decode signals of hunger and thirst and boredom and slight discomfort instead of acute pain soon. But above all, I’m sure that Daisy’s pains and fears have already been and will be softened by your constant presence and tender care.

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Thanks so much for checking in! LOL The headline for the BPN today is: Bionic Pup Shows Signs Of Improvement. πŸ˜€ Daisy’s whining far less, she’s looking more alert, she’s able to find more positions of comfort, and I got her to eat some scrambled egg. I think she’s starting to adjust to this temporary new way of life, and part of that is what you said – her fear has been lessened a lot. When I think about it, it only took her a day to get the hang of things, but it sure was a L-O-N-G day! Yes, our blogging buddies are all so supportive and helpful, this would have been far more difficult without everyone. It’s so sweet and kind of you to see how we’re doing!

      • kolytyi says:

        πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. Will and Eko says:

    Oh man, that is so sad to hear. Luckily she got the surgery she needed and she has all the love and care you can give. With your help she will get through this.

  8. ILoveDogs says:

    Poor poor Daisy. :`( I sure hope she feels better soon.

  9. margiecook21 says:

    I’m so sorry baby. just brings tears to our eyes. our old dog was in such pain she would Trimble. Β .be strong …the world is rooting for you girl Β .Our famous Havachon . Margie Β Idaho Havachon

    Sent via the Samsung Galaxy Sβ„’ III, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  10. I’m so sorry Daisy is hurting. I wish they could give her more, or better, pain meds. And some for her people too, because watching your baby in pain is unbearable.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You’re so right Rachel, on both counts. Now we have a new challenge – Daisy has figured out how to separate the pills from the peanut butter and we’re having a hard time getting the pain med into her. Tonight could get a bit….difficult….

      • My Butterfly had to take pills for a couple for weeks, and I thought, this will be fine, because we have the pill pockets and she loves them. Well, she loves them so much that she ate around the pill once, twice, and finally on the third pill pocket the pill had dissolved enough that she couldn’t avoid it. Oy. These kids…

  11. barb19 says:

    Those photos of poor little Daisy in so much discomfort touched my heart, and I just want to take away all her pain too, and I would if I could, same as you. It’s so upsetting when they look at you with those eyes but honestly, there is nothing else you can do for her other than what you are doing. Comfort is the main thing and I know she has that from you guys. It’s early days yet and she will be feeling somewhat better in a few days . . . it’s just going to be a matter of time I’m afraid. You will get through it – just keep thinking about seeing her bouncing all over the couch again as per her usual self! Keep your spirits up.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yesterday felt so long that it seems we’ve been going through this for weeks already! Yes, those big, soulful, “please-help-me” eyes are killers. Not being able to do anything to make her feel better is the hardest part. But you’re right – we’ll get there.

  12. optie says:

    Poor Daisy, so sorry that you are suffering so much pain, rest up and let your mommy spoil you with lots of treats, hope you start feeling better real soon.

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Poor Daisy. Having been through a major surgery (bloat with Thunder), here are a couple of things I noticed. Sometimes there is a delayed reaction to the anesthesia which makes them not want to eat. Offer small amounts of food frequently. Maybe even try boiled chicken and rice to get them to eat (or could be boiled ground beef and rice). Also if she had no food for a day or two and/or is not eating, potty might not happen as frequently as you are used to and the anesthesia can mess with that schedule too. Add pain to that and it might be a bit before she is on track. Hopefully poor little Daisy will start feeling better and get back on track to eating. One thing that helped Thunder was they gave him a pain patch. I am not sure that is an option for a small doggie like Daisy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much for these suggestions Linda! The vet said Daisy could have one more pain injection if it’s necessary, but nothing beyond that. A pain patch would have been very helpful. The ground beef and rice and is a great idea (Daisy’s allergic to chicken), we’re going to try that later today. I got a little scrambled egg into her this morning, so that’s an improvement. It does make sense that all these drugs coupled with the pain would throw everything off. I know it’s all certainly throwing me off…. πŸ˜‰

  14. Coccolino says:

    Oh Daisy, we are so glad you are home but so sorry that you aren’t feeling well. That makes it tough but at least you must be more comfortable at home. Get lots of rest and cuddles.

  15. Clowie says:

    Poor Daisy! I hope the pain eases soon.
    Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

  16. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Oh Daisy

    My hearts hurting for you buddy and for your family, so sorry you’re in so much pain….

    Sending you all big fluffy hugs

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  17. Novroz says:

    Awww poor Daisy 😦
    I can imagine how it feels to be thw one tending a sick pet. It’s heartbreaking. I hope Daisy can have full recovery afterward. Hanging there

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

