Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Life Can Change In One Second…..

on November 10, 2013

After our lengthy, unwanted hiatus due to moving my 90-year-old aunt into an assisted living home (more about that “adventure” another time), selling her dilapidated home (a miracle in itself), and getting all her stuff organized including bills and decades of accumulation, DD and I had a wonderful four-day weekend away last weekend so I could de-stress after the most stressful month-plus I’ve ever experienced.

But I can’t tell you about that now, because today everything changed in the flash of a second.

Little Daisy is in the hospital.

This afternoon, DD and I were working on some stuff in the family room while DH was fixing something outside. He hammered, which drove Daisy into her typical Havachon frenzy, which she truly enjoys.

She ran from window to window jumping up and down on chairs to find the source of the noise, barking up a storm in her usual “I’ll get ’em! I’ll get ’em!” adorableness, when suddenly, from the other end of the house, we heard the most horrible shriek-yipe followed by horrible nonstop cries of pain.

It was Daisy. We ran down the hallway and found her trying to hobble toward us with her hind right leg lifted in the air. DD picked her up and carried her to the sofa, where she laid her down so we could take a better look.

DD is excellent in an emergency – focused, serious, get-to-the source intense.

I fall to pieces. The cry of an injured innocent little thing sends me into a tailspin.

Daisy’s back leg looked generally okay, but she couldn’t put any weight on it. Then I noticed that the bottom half past the knee looked out of whack.

Daisy actually looked sad. Sad, scared, and confused. This is not a look we’ve ever seen on our happy little girl.

I called the emergency vet while DD comforted her (of course these things always happen on holidays or Sundays). As I’m trying to fight off something that’s giving me a sore throat, DH and DD took Daisy to the vet without me, DH driving while DD cuddled Daisy in her arms.

Twenty minutes later I got the call – Daisy tore her ACL. Those ligaments hold the bones in alignment, so that’s why her leg looked so funky.

Of course I turned to the internet to do some emergency research. Turns out that small dogs are particularly prone to this (though it happens to large dogs too), and when a dog gets one ACL tear, chances are it’ll happen to another leg too, because apparently it shows that that particular dog’s body has a tendency toward it. Great. Just great.

We had to leave Daisy there and she won’t be home until Tuesday. It’s even more uncomfortable because she’s not with our usual vet.

I can’t tell you what a hole we feel in our little family. I keep thinking I hear those happy little paws tick-tick-ticking across the floor toward me.

Tomorrow (Monday, 11/11), two board certified surgeons will be doing surgery on Daisy’s leg. They have to drill holes in her bone in order to anchor the fishing line-like thing that they use to realign everything and get those ligaments sewn back together. Then she has to stay overnight again because she’ll be heavily sedated and they want to keep an eye on her.

Daisy’s young age is to her benefit and will help her heal, but it’ll take many, many weeks. We have to somehow keep her calm and quiet during that time, and she won’t be allowed to jump on sofas either. That alone will take all our effort once she starts feeling “springy” again.

Even though this is considered “routine” and common surgery, it’s our baby and we’re upset. And we miss her terribly. We can’t stand to think of her all alone in that hospital – is she wondering why we left her while she was in pain? Does she feel hurt or confused that we’re not there?

There’s a huge void in our home tonight, and I’ll certainly miss my little buddy when everyone goes off to work tomorrow. I’ll miss looking down and seeing her trotting next to me wherever I go. I’ll miss our special morning cuddle and all-day lovies. And the constant cuteness. Oh, the cuteness!

We’ll be saying some prayers for our little one, that the surgery goes smoothly, that she doesn’t suffer, and that there are no complications or infections afterward. We just want our silly, adorable, loving, happy little baby back.

31 responses to “Life Can Change In One Second…..

  1. barb19 says:

    Oh my dear, I’m so sorry to hear that Daisy is in hospital with a torn ligament, and I know how you must be feeling. Our pets are like our children and we feel for them the same. I will keep Daisy in my prayers that the surgery has a successful outcome, and that she is back home with you soon.
    Daisy is such an active, bouncy girl and once she starts to feel a little better, it’s going to be hard keeping her quiet but with an injury like that (I tore my ACL years ago so I speak from experience), it’s imperative. I hope all goes well.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Barb. You’re right on target about our pets being part of our family and like little children to us, completely dependent for their care. That’s part of what breaks my heart when something goes wrong like this. Plus this was an emergency situation that occurred on a Sunday evening when everything is closed, and it afforded us no time or ability to find the best surgeon possible or get recommendations. All we can do is pray that these surgeons are as good as they sound. I agree with you that keeping Daisy quiet once she starts feeling better will be our biggest challenge; from what I’ve read, we’ll have to use the crate a lot in order to keep her somewhat subdued. I’m sorry to hear you went through the same thing, I understand it’s extremely painful.

  2. Oh No….Daisy. I hope hope she feels better soon and the surgery all goes smoothly. And I hope you feel better as well. I know that’s traumatic. Take care, you and Daisy are in our thoughts and prayers. Paws crossed!!

  3. KDKH says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ll send loving thoughts to Daisy and her surgical team.

  4. Hope everything goes smoothly.
    Best wishes.

  5. kolytyi says:

    Your silly, adorable, loving, happy little baby was really considerate towards you, because she waited till all the fuss is over. Imagine this happens some weeks ago…
    I’m sure that the surgeons and people in the hospital are overwhelmed by her cuteness and will bring out their best in order to heal her.
    BTW, I have the same reactions to emergency situations – but you have DD and DH at your side! Please, continue reading about how to help Daisy during the healing period! She will need you a lot, you have to be steady, caring and very-very mellow so that you receive back your adorably tick-ticking pup!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You’re so right, it never crossed my mind how impossible it would have been to have this happen at any time over the past several weeks! Thank you for all your kind words. Yes I’m very blessed to have my emotional side balanced by DH and DD. I’m good at the after-crisis nursing, it’s the crisis itself that throws me into a tizzy! Although I’m sure that when I first see Daisy after her surgery, I’ll probably be overtaken by her sad little look and inability to use her leg. Tomorrow feels so far away!

  6. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, we are so sorry to hear about sweet Daisy’s injury. We will be keeping her and all of you in our prayers. Thinking about you and sending special, warm hugs for you all and some nose kisses and hugs for sweet Daisy.

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    Poor Daisy! Best of luck for a speedy recovery. It is never easy when the little ones are at the vet. Keep us posted. 🙂

  8. optie says:

    So sorry to hear about Daisy’s misfortune but I am sure she will make a full and complete recovery. The same thing happened to our Maltese (now across the Rainbow Bridge) at the age of 11 and she made a full recovery. It took her a couple of months to learn that she could put her weight on that paw but once she had that figured there was no stopping her again.

  9. Coccolino says:

    Oh no, so sorry to hear this. Please keep us updated. Best of luck and lots of piggy kisses.

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Oh no, poor little daisy!!

    I’m so sorry to hear this, I’ve had a partial tear to my ACL since early this year and my Mum was hoping I wouldn’t completely tear it (paws crossed it’s healed).

    Do you think they may let you go and visit her today? I know how you feel about the empty house, my Mum totally hates it any time she’s at home and I’m not here!

    Sending get well soon vibes and hugs to Daisy and a few extra hugs for all of you,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much Snoopy and family! I’ve read that partial tears can heal on their own, and if you’re careful for the first couple of months, it can develop scar tissue around it that works as a stabilizer to help prevent further injury. We pray that’s what’s happening for you!

      They said we can visit her, but it could be more harmful because she’ll get excited to see us and she needs to stay completely subdued, plus she’s going to be heavily sedated. But they said we can call all we want to check on her, so that’s what we’ll do once we hear she’s out of surgery.

  11. Oh no. I cross my paws that all will go well today. May all the luck of the world be with you today, dear Daisy.

  12. Oh my goodness! I can’t believe it! I am certain that Daisy did well with the surgery. As you say, her age makes it less fearful, but it’s hard on her nonetheless. We’ve only had Zena in our home for two months and I’m already so attached to her I’d be heartbroken if she were injured. I can only imagine how upsetting this has been for the whole family. I hope she can come home and be babied and loved to distraction! I’m also so sorry about timing. I don’t know how it happens that we so often experience “pile on” anxieties. Now that your aunt is settled, I hope that you can find time to rest and recover right along with Miss Daisy. We’ll look forward to an update on her progress. Poor little thing!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Debra, your kind, understanding words help a lot. Yes, we’re all so upset by this; we feel the impact tremendously. I pray we never hear a shriek like that from Daisy again. Things like this happen so fast – she’s badly hurt, we rush her to the vet, and the next thing we know we’re in a quiet house without our little bundle of joy. You’re in shock because you can’t possibly prepare yourself for things like this, so you’re always caught off-guard. And you hurt for the pain and confusion you know your pup is going through. All day yesterday I kept expecting her usual silly, cuddly Havachonness, and of course, there was nothing but quiet emptiness. It’s amazing how our whole worlds change when pets enter them!

  13. Novroz says:

    Oooh…this is so sad. I know how you feel. I hope Daisy get well soon and not too springy again.
    Keep us updated with her condition.
    She will be in my pray tonight.

  14. granny1947 says:

    Oh poor baby. I do hope she is back home safe and sound. Please drop me a mail and let me know. Lots of love.

  15. ILoveDogs says:

    Oh no! Poor Daisy!!! I’m so sorry. It sounds like she is in excellent hands, though. You know, until entering the blogging world, I never heard of ACL tears. Now I hear about it all the time. There’s Dexter, who is a medium-sized dog, and either Leroy or Sherman, both very large Newfies, and Blue, a pittie mix. All these dogs are doing well, despite the ACL tear. So I’m sure Daisy is going to pull through just fine. My prayers are with you, Daisy, and your family.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

