Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy’s New Outlook On The World

on September 16, 2013

I’m in the throes of arranging to move my 90-year-old aunt into an assisted living home, and the process is daunting in every way. We’ve been trying to get her to at least move into a smaller place closer to us (she’s AN HOUR AWAY) for the past 30 years – she’s living on her own in a 3-level home with steep stairs AND she has mobility problems – with no luck until now. Finally, after a second-floor pipe ruptured in her 1915 house resulting in costly repairs, she became convinced that the high cost of maintaining an old house isn’t worth the headaches – or the cost at this point in her life. She’s got very little to live on as it is.

That was the turning point that convinced her to move, and it was a blessing in disguise, because she’s become unstable walking and I really wanted her near me as well as in a nice place where there would be people around who could help her. Plus her neighborhood has changed a lot, and she no longer knows anyone there, so she’s become isolated. All together, these and other issues are recipes for disaster and unhappiness.

FINALLY, she agreed to let us bring her down to look at some nice assisted living homes. Her eyes opened WIDE and she fell in love with the places, the people, the friendly aides, the food – it was wonderful! She’ll be catered to for the rest of her life, she’ll have friends aplenty, and she’ll have a sense of purpose. I’m so happy!

The one catch is —– we need to move her by the end of the month. There’s only one apartment open, which is perfect for her, and they’ll only hold it until the end of September, and that’s doing us a favor – normally they only hold them for 1-2 weeks.  SOOOO, I’m arranging everything to make this happen in triple-time: selling her house (which won’t be easy, it’s incredibly rundown), moving her bank accounts, getting her medical assessments done, filling out a TON of forms (seriously, together they look like a book!), moving the things she’ll be taking with her, packing 81 years of stuff and selling what she’s not taking, getting financial Power of Attorney because she no longer wants to handle her own finances, so I’ll be doing that for her…that’s just the beginning. The list is endless and the timing has to be just right. But it’ll be SO worth it in the long run!

All this has created a mess in our house AGAIN – this seems to be a theme for us this year – The Year Of Messes. I’ve been moving boxes of things from her house to mine until we can move them into her new place or sell them at auction in October and November. The boxes have taken over my computer room and part of my living room (I swear they multiply at night!), so I’ve been working in the dining room.

This chaos has been a dream for Daisy, though. She’s got all this new stuff to sniff and investigate, plus she now gets to sit at the dining room table with me while I’m working (yeah, I know, I’m weak; her sweetness and cuteness win me over every time). There’s a double window near the table, and some days have been so cool and beautiful out that I was able to open windows in the house (finally, after that brutal summer! Though two days ago it was 100 degrees and humid again….) and I noticed Daisy trying to sniff the air. So I covered the chair seats with blankets and rearranged things a bit for her. This is now her new favorite spot – on sunny days, the sunlight streams in, so she gets to sit on a chair, sniff the air coming in the window, AND bask in a puddle of sunshine all at the same time – a Havachon dream come true!

Daisy window peek 2

Hey this is great! I may be small, but now I’ve got a higher perspective on the world!

Oh yeah, this is sweet!

Oh yeah, this is sweet!

If we’ve been a bit scarce lately, all this extra work is the reason why. I can’t wait until it’s all done and settled and I can have a normal weekend again!

16 responses to “Daisy’s New Outlook On The World

  1. Kuruk says:

    Good luck with all the transitioning! Ku and Mama

  2. optie says:

    Ah nice to see Daisy coming up in the world 😉 All the best with all you need to achieve in a very short space of time.

  3. MARGIE says:

    She is a special girl and famous toboot I have been sending our new Havachon parents up to your site to join in on the fun I have 2 female’s pup that look JUST like her .on my web site peek and see http://www.bichonsdressedinwhite.com I just posted them on the bottom she if she reconizes any one Il

  4. barb19 says:

    Dogs always find the best advantage, glad you accommodated Daisy, she looks so content looking out the window smelling the fresh air!
    Good luck with moving your aunt into her new place – a nightmare of a job, but as you say, it will be worth it for everyone when it’s done, and a great solution for your aunt.

    • MARGIE says:

      Our neighbors mother had to give into a rest home and did’nt want to give up her independance after they got her settled she became queen and loved it there .She died this summer at 110 year old bless their heart ….. I alway think there goes I

  5. 2browndawgs says:

    Bless you for helping take care of your Aunt. I hope the move goes well!

  6. Oh what a big job you have on your hands. We went through much of this once many years ago with my husband’s mother, and it was so much work, but as you are quick to note, so worth it in the end. I know it added years to my mother-in-law’s life. I really feel for you in your year of the mess! That’s wearying of itself! Daisy looks peaceful and calm, but I’m getting a little hint from her posture that perhaps she’d like to be put in charge! 🙂

  7. Coccolino says:

    Always a silver lining, this time for Daisy. Such a tough thing to do but we hope it turns out well for everyone.

  8. ILoveDogs says:

    Those assisted living places are really nice. When my day comes for that, I’d love to live in one too. I’m glad your aunt is happy about the move. It sounds like a lot of work, but like you said, worth it. I’m also glad Daisy isn’t disrupted by all the craziness. If it were my dogs, I think Maya would be fine but Pierson would get stressed out.

  9. Clowie says:

    That sounds like so much work, it must be quite stressful for you. It will be lovely when your aunt is settled in her new place.

  10. granny1947 says:

    My goodness my friend…so much work to get through. I admire you for caring about your aunt. I do hope you manage to sell the house quickly. Decent assisted homes are so expensive here. I would love to put my folks into one but then there is the problem of my brother.

  11. Dogs N Pawz says:

    OMG! You are really busy. Good luck with everything 🙂

  12. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Daisy

    Has anyone mentioned you might be a little spoiled? 🙂

    Glad to hear your moms aunt is getting spoiled too, sure she”ll be really happy 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  13. Misaki says:

    Hope everything goes well

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

