Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Dog Food Recall Notification Service

on June 27, 2013

I don’t know about you, but I’ve gotten pretty concerned about all the dog food recalls lately. What’s up with all this salmonella getting into every kind of dog food, from dry to frozen?

A friend of mine made me aware of a great free dog food recall notification service. It’s on the website Dog Food Advisor, and they not only keep an up-to-date  listing of dog food recalls, but if you sign up, they’ll email you every time a dog food has been recalled. It’s a free service and SO helpful!

For each recall, they tell you where the recalled products are being sold, why they’re being recalled, and exactly which of the company’s products are affected.

Check out the site if you get the chance, it’s got lots of other good information too.

Before you give me that kibble, did you make sure it's safe? Hmmmmm???

Before you give me that kibble, did you make sure it’s safe? Hmmmmm???

 

31 responses to “Dog Food Recall Notification Service

  1. jan says:

    We are quite concerned too. Three of the so-called premium dog foods we’re used have been recalled. It seems some of the high priced pet foods are being made in factories that seem to be cesspools.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s really scary. The premium dog food we feed Daisy hasn’t been recalled YET but twice we found maggots in the bags. Now we open the bags before we take them out of the store. It’s disgusting and I shudder to think why/how that could be happening.

  2. Daisy, that’s brilliant. I will sign up there immediately. here we never get recalls, they remove it in stores or replace it – that’s all. Thanks!

  3. megtraveling says:

    Great tips to keep our dear friends safe!

  4. kdkh says:

    Thanks. I’m definitely signing up!

  5. FleaByte says:

    Oh good to know! Thank you!

  6. Lucky us over the pond….no worries here. Have a tremendous Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly.

  7. Clowie says:

    That’s useful to know.

  8. writetowag says:

    Thank you for sharing this…

  9. kolytyi says:

    OMG, Daisy, you look very-very formidable in that pic! It would be nice when pet food producers would behave always responsibly and you should not make such a serious face! You and all other dogs and cats deserve healthy ingredients and careful production!

  10. Thank you so much for this information. I just a few weeks ago contacted a company to let them know I had opened a can of cat food and found mold covered the whole top of the food. I am concerned too about all the recalls and concerned about the fur babies who might eat bad food. Hugs and nose kisses

  11. 2browndawgs says:

    I don’t think there are more recalls, just that there are more sites publicizing them. Also, factories make several brands in one place these days so if there is a problem many foods will be affected. I remember when I was a kid, my parents taught me to always wash my hands after touching dog food. Why? Salmonella. It is nothing new.

    However due to last year’s drought, it pays to keep a sharp eye out if you feed a food with corn as an ingredient.

  12. Misaki says:

    Thanks for sharing its good to be aware what’s happening with our food!

  13. I didn’t realize they had that alert. I’ll sign up. It’s an all around great site. Thanks for the tip. So far Poppy’s food Stella & Chewies is safe, but it concerns me to hear the frozen foods can be affected too.

    Daisy, you are the cutest flower dog around!

    Hugs,
    Poppy & Nanina

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Aw thank you! I was so happy to find that website notification service. Hopefully it’ll never affect us (with Daisy’s sensitive tummy, it would be hard to find a replacement), but better safe than sorry! Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  14. Marcie says:

    That is a great service! Sometimes it’s hard to stay up-to-date with the latest recalls. Being able to enter in pet foods and treats and have them notify you of recalls would be a great tool!

  15. It really is terrifying. You trust the manufacturers with your animals lives and then this sort of thing happens. We had quite a scare a few years ago

  16. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Daisy,

    My Mum is always so worried about all the food recalls, it’s so hard to know what’s safe these days for us doggies and also for our humans! Mum and Dad were eating frozen organic berries recently from Costco and then discovered they contained Hepatitis A! Such a minefield

    Thanks for telling us about the site,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  17. I love the photo of Daisy. It looks like she has a chef’s hat! 🙂 Great service! My brother and my son both have dogs I love…I’ll be sure they know about this! Thank you!

  18. Steve’s Real Food of Murray, Utah has recalled its free range; antibiotic and hormone free chicken, turkey, and duck dog food because of Salmonella contamination. The 8 oz. “Turducken” canine recipe patties come in 5-pound bags.

  19. Thx for the follow. I will (sadly) be posting slowly, though I keep up with comments daily, as homeschooling will be getting busier and I am very busy over at aholisticjourney.wordpress.com. Thanks for your patience. Will be putting up my sinus tea soon. Xxx Diana

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

