Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Monday Mischief: Evil Carrots!

on June 17, 2013

I don’t know what happened in Daisy’s little Havachon tummy, but twice now she’s thrown up after eating a small piece of carrot. Obviously, carrots must have an evil conspiracy against Havachons. 😉

evil carrot

Every night when I’m making a salad, I give her a tiny slice for doing a trick. She LOVES that; she stands at my side, looking up at me with those beautiful expectant eyes. How can I resist?

But twice lately she’s thrown up shortly afterwards, so I’m thinking we should go off the carrots for a while, if not permanently. I don’t like to see the poor little thing looking like this:

Ugh.

Ugh.

Double ugh.

Double ugh.

Has anyone else experienced their pet suddenly not reacting well to something they’ve eaten for years?

We’re part of the Monday Mischief blog hop!

33 responses to “Monday Mischief: Evil Carrots!

  1. I give Easy from time to time a complete carrot, that he can chew on it . When I give him a piece and he swallows up the piece as a whole, then he eats grass and the piece comes back. I hope it’s nothing wrong with the cutest Havachon of Blogville.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Aw thanks Easy, we hope not too! That’s interesting about the whole carrot vs a carrot piece. We can’t give Daisy too much of anything because she’s so small. I only give her a small slice of carrot but I did notice that when it comes back up, the pieces are chunks rather than chewed well. Could be the problem but we’ll mention it to the vet at her annual exam in September.

      • Maybe you can shred a little bit of a carrot for Daisy? Easy really eats only the cooked carrots – the whole we give him sometimes is more for “house decorating” and more a chewing toy than food. Maybe the vet can solve this miracle :o)

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Cooked carrots! That’s a great idea! (It’s weird how I only thought of carrots in a single dimension – raw – and never considered cooked!) I’ll definitely try that this week. And I’ll be interested to hear what the vet has to say when we take her in for her annual. Thanks Easy!

  2. No we have always not done well with grass but when we were little we were very ill on pork but now it is OK. We agree with Easy may be it is not chewed properly. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. Hmm, that’s weird. We give SlimDoggy whole carrots and he loves them. Sometimes he eats them too fast and they come back up – is that maybe it? Maybe smaller pieces?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Could be. I hear crunching and I see her chewing but still the pieces may be too big for her small tummy. I doubt that I could make them any smaller as I only give her a pretty think slice no bigger than a nickel. I’m afraid if I make them too small she’ll just swallow them whole….talk about being between a rock and a hard place!

  4. Jill says:

    Very interesting you say that about carrots. I gave my Havachon, Rosie, thin slices of carrots twice and she puked both times. No more carrots for her….she’s been fine since! I enjoy reading your blog and comparing notes 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      So nice to meet you Jill! I always love talking to other Havachon owners (there aren’t that many of us!) to see if they’re dealing with the same issues. I’m so glad you mentioned that Rosie has a problem with carrots too, that makes me feel that it may be one of those “Havachon things”. Daisy’s tummy is very sensitive – is Rosie’s?

  5. Not exactly, unless you count all the mice, moles and small birds my feline contingent barfs up (and who could blame them – ick!).
    That’s sad to have to give up a food she so clearly enjoys 😦

  6. Marcie says:

    Aww, that’s sad she doesn’t feel well. At least you know what food is causing the issue.

  7. I hope you get some answers! I wonder if it’s just a changing digestive system. I think of how sometimes we humans have a change in what we tolerate. And maybe she so anticipates the treat that she eats it too quickly! Obviously I have no real idea, but I agree with you, it’s hard to give her a treat knowing it may upset her. Ironic that it’s a healthy treat. Much like we aren’t supposed to give broccoli to Darwin, and he LOVES it! I hope she makes a nice transition to another healthy treat, if necessary! 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s a good point about a changing digestive system, I hadn’t thought of that. And it could also be all that anticipation and excitement. Even more ironic than carrots being a healthy treat is that they’re organic carrots, so no chance of any pesticides being the problem. She’s still good with apples, so we’ll stick with those for now.

  8. optie says:

    A friend of mine gives her dog big carrots as a treat and he suffers no ill effects at all. She is probably swallowing too quickly in case there is another treat on the way.

  9. kolytyi says:

    Uh on, poor little Daisy, ugh-ing and double ugh-ing makes her eyes and body so round!

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Oh No Daisy,

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re having trouble with Carrots! Of all things carrots – they’re SO yummy! That would be like my Mum not being able to eat chocolate!

    I sure hope it’s just temporary and you’re feeling better soon and maybe even get back to eating the yummies?!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  11. megtraveling says:

    Are carrots princess food?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Heehee Most doggy “princesses” – and princes! – love carrots! And they’re such a healthy treat for them too. Daisy is the first dog I’ve had whose tummy seems to be objecting to them.

  12. onebluedog says:

    That is a strange thing. I wonder why those carrots are bugging Daisy’s tummy! I love carrots, but I would not like evil carrots that make me puke.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Haha I agree! I think a few other people may be right, that she’s “wolfing” (pardon the pun!) them down too fast and the big chunks are causing it. I wish I could explain that to her!

  13. Clowie says:

    I’ve changed my mind about whether I like some things or not, but I’ve never had a reaction like that.

  14. Maybe it is just a fluke thing for the last few days and her tummy has just been acting up. Kirby likes to chew on grass, when I repeatedly tell him not too,and then heave it up once in a while. These dogs, what are we gonna do with them 🙂

  15. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Poor Daisy. My dogs love carrots and seem to do okay with them. Scout has been having problems with throwing up and our vet thinks it might be his food that he has eaten forever. So strange!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

