Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Removing the Threat

on June 4, 2013

Well it’s done. The dreaded deed of removing four beautiful old trees from our property that were threatening our house during storms is over.

Not really something you want to see in your backyard....

Not really something you want to see in your backyard….

I loved those trees. I’m more of a cabin-in-the-woods kind of gal than a toes-in-the-sand beach person, so these huge trees were things of beauty to me.

They brought wonderful songbirds right up to my back windows.

They gave us a lot of shade to cool the house and sit under during the summer.

They dropped vibrant yellow leaves in the fall that floated to the ground like lightweight snowflakes.

They formed a gorgeous white canopy during snowfalls.

But over the past few years, I noticed peeling bark and more bare branches appearing. The arborist said their type only lives for a certain number of decades, then they start dying and pose a real threat to anything around them. So it was time.

But it still wasn’t easy. Although there was a certain amount of entertainment in the process….

Look at this crazy guy! He stretched himself out into an inverted cross shape while being pulled to the top of the tree!

Look at this crazy guy! He stretched himself out into a full inverted cross shape while being pulled to the top of the tree!

Daisy, however, had a field day with all the activity out there. Though I must say, she wasn’t half as noisy as she used to be just a year ago! She was actually a very good girl.

Oh, she was curious….

What's going on out there? Who are all those men? And what are all those noisy metal monsters doing in my backyard??

What’s going on out there? Who are all those men? And what are all those noisy metal monsters doing in my backyard??

But she got used to the noise pretty quickly and only barked, bfff’d, and growled occasionally. I think keeping the back blinds closed helped because she couldn’t see all the constant movement.

So now the front half of our yard is wide open. No more birdies chirping by the house, but the trade-off is that during a harsh rain/wind storm yesterday, I had no reason to fear anymore. 🙂 But it did come at a dear cost. At least the back half still has some nice trees, and I’m hanging on to them as long as possible.

 

28 responses to “Removing the Threat

  1. Oh you had circus perfomers in your back yard? the high wire act looks interesting. I hope all things are well in “havachon heaven” at casa Daisy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL Thanks Easy! Yes, things are much better now and I hope they stay that way for a long time. That guy really was a performer. Usually they put their foot into the loop like a stirrup and hold on to the rope so they get lifted up in a standing position. But this guy really seemed to be having fun with it!

  2. megtraveling says:

    It sounds like you have the right perspective about the trees, and Daisy certainly has good manners!

  3. I do mourn with you. I really do. But your decision made the most sense, and I don’t think I ever thought about a tree’s limited lifecycle. That’s a whole new thought to me. Do you think in time you’ll make some new choices and plant more trees? I know you closed the blinds and perhaps that gave Daisy only limited exposure to all the activity, but I wonder if you didn’t close them so you didn’t have to watch ever blow! I feel for you!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You’re probably right – my subconscious probably knew I didn’t want to see it either. Every time I peeked out, I cringed. Yes, we’re definitely planting new trees, but not so close to the house and not ones that will get so big over time.

  4. Will and Eko says:

    Always sad to see a good tree go – but much better than seeing a good tree go into the side of your house!

  5. jan says:

    We’ve been entertained by watching the topping and trimming of redwoods across the street. And we have been in awe of the people doing the work. They sure earn their money.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      They sure do! Initially I thought it was an awfully expensive project….until I saw the effort that went into it, the large crew of trained guys constantly working, the many pieces of heavy equipment….and it still took 8 hours with only a 1/2 hr lunch break! Plus they were working under a humid 92 degree blazing sun. I don’t know how they do it.

  6. barb19 says:

    Sorry you had to make the decision to remove the trees, but it seems you had no choice – they had to go. Now your house will be safe during bad storms and heavy winds. I’m sure you will plant some more to replace them, perhaps some quick growing ones that won’t grow as big?
    Daisy must have wondered what they were doing in her yard – I’m sure she would have loved to have been outside supervising!
    Those men surely earn their money.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes, they sure do. We will be planting some new, smaller, slower-growing trees, but they’ll be a distance from the house. We don’t want to replace one threat with another! On the good side, we’re putting in a nice veggie garden now that the area is sunny again.

      • barb19 says:

        A veggie garden is a great idea now you have a sunny spot. You will have to fence it off to keep Daisy out though – my dogs always seemed to love trampling through mine (as well at the kangaroos, possums and rabbits)! 🙂

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    We had to cut down about 30 oaks at our cabin due to oak wilt. No way to treat it and once the oak dies that is it. So much for my cabin on the woods. 😦 Luckily we still have a lot of pines.

  8. onebluedog says:

    I’m sorry you had to lose your beautiful tress 😦 But I am very glad that you will all be much safer! And what a good pup Daisy has been with all the commotion 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes, yes, and YES! 🙂 We found that we have to keep all the blinds in the back of the house closed in the afternoon because the sun is SO strong, it heats up the house and makes the air conditioning work harder. And it’s absolutely blinding! What a shame it is to shut out all that beautiful sunlight! Those trees had filtered it perfectly. On the other hand, we’re now able to plant a veggie garden!

  9. Misaki says:

    That’s sad, but sounds like it was the right thing to do

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    I’m sorry to hear you had to cut down your beloved trees, but it is great to know you’ll be safer now! You had such a good supervisor watching everyone! Great job Daisy!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Snoopy! I did keep those guys in line…. 😉 My family does seem much calmer now when it storms. My mom says it’s ironic that they cut the trees down on the first day of hurricane season!

  11. Novroz says:

    hahaha…nice pose 😉 that man should work in the circus.

    I really like your ‘eulogy’ for that tree…very nice and lovely.

    Will Daisy miss that tree?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I think she’d miss them more if she was a boy LOL! But she does miss the shade – Daisy doesn’t like the heat, and when we took her out back after the trees were gone, she wanted to come right back in after a couple of minutes.

  12. kolytyi says:

    Is that guy a retired circus acrobat?
    Have you already make thoughts about what kinds of new trees could you plant on your backyard? Daisy could participate in the activity 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      He definitely could sideline as an acrobat! And when he got to the top, he used only his ab muscles to roll upward and grab the rope. He must have abs of steel!

      We’re not sure what kinds of trees we’re going to plant, but I’m looking forward to strolling through a few nurseries to see what choices we have. I’d love to plant fruit trees, but I’d need to find some that can withstand cold winter temps. And I’m sure Daisy will very much enjoy helping us dig holes for those trees! LOL

  13. Marcie says:

    All those machines would be quite strange to a dog. I hope your trees in back stay for a long time. I love having the birds in my backyard as well.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

