Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Returning to Normal….Hopefully….

on May 28, 2013

Hello to all our wonderful blog friends! I know we’ve been MIA quite a long time, and Daisy and I have missed all of you

Hello again! I missed you!

Hello again! I missed you!

so much. I can’t tell you how much I’ve appreciated the emails and comments from those of you who were concerned about our sudden and lengthy absence – it softened a difficult time for me. This community is such a blessing in our lives.

Our absence was the result of a crazy series of events. At first, it was for good things that were happening – my freelance writing career went into overdrive (always a good thing!), and my daughter started her own editing/proofreading/beta reading business that started off with a very positive bang. I was helping her with the business end of things and with her great writing/editing abilities, she’s gotten off to a nice strong start. But it sure was time consuming.

Just as things got under control and I thought I’d get back to blogging again (did I mention how much I missed you all??), things went south. My husband was told he possibly had a very serious illness, for which he had to undergo extensive testing and some nasty biopsies. The doctor was so concerned that he made sure everything got done as quickly as possible, but it was still three weeks of hell not knowing how the tests would come back. I was in tears almost every day, preparing for the worst while praying for the best.

I’m happy to say that in the end, the best won out. All of the tests and biopsies came back “clean”, as the doctor said, and what he thought was most probably a latter-stage cancer turned out to be nothing more than an irritation of the prostate that carried with it all the same symptoms of stage 3-4 prostate cancer. I owe God a lot, I can tell  you!

After my heart rate finally returned to normal, I got a phone call that a friend of mine, who’s like a sister to me, passed away at only 47 years of age. She was extremely disabled with a progressive disease and had taken a serious turn for the worse several weeks earlier. She was in such a severely debilitated state that she was praying for God to either heal her or take her. We knew it would be the latter, and last week, her final prayer was answered quite suddenly.

Her parents, who consider me their “adopted daughter”, honored me by asking me to deliver a eulogy at her wake this week. I’ve never done this before, and I’m not a public speaker. I don’t like being in the spotlight, but I’m going to push through that dread and do what I feel is right as a final way to honor this truly amazing woman, who never let her disabilities stand in the way of living her life. She was truly an inspiration and the person I always think of when I’m groaning over some stupid little inconvenience or minor catastrophe that will pass. What she went through during the course of her life, I wouldn’t wish on anyone. Yet she always carried a smile.

Believe it or not, that was the abridged version of what went on during our absence! I can see that I’ve missed so much around here, and I’ll try to play catch-up as I can once the funeral is over on Thursday. I’m sure by Friday, I’ll be in recovery mode – probably an exhausted pile of soggy mush. But that’s the first step in the road back to normalcy.

Thanks again for sticking around and checking on us. You guys are the absolute best!

30 responses to “Returning to Normal….Hopefully….

  1. Archana sinha says:

    I am so glad everything worked out well for you and you are back !!!

  2. I’m so glad that your husbands tests came back clean. I feel sorry for your friend, that’s so hard and it hurts so much when we lose someone we love. I hope all things will fall into place – and I’m happy you are back.

  3. kdkh says:

    As if the hurricane hadn’t been enough this year. I’m glad you and yours are okay, Daisy too. Hopefully some less challenging times are on the way.

  4. Welcome back and we are so sorry to read about your husband but thank God all was OK. Also sad to read about your friend. We know she is in a happy place without pain now. Bless her.
    Best wishes Molly

  5. Misaki says:

    Sounds like you’ve had quite a time of it! But so glad you’re back 🙂

  6. Glad to hear from you all. Sure happy that all turned out well for your husband. Sorry about your friends passing. We know you will do wonderful speaking at the Wake. Keeping you and all touched by her passing in our thoughts and prayers. Hugs and nose kisses

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much Mumsy. From what I’m seeing in my email notifications, it looks like you’ve had a lot going on during our absence! I’m looking forward to catching up with you soon.

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    It sure sounds like you have had a lot going on. Welcome back. Glad to hear all worked out for your hubby and we are very sorry for the loss of your friend.

  8. FleaByte says:

    Oh sweetie – losing a best friend like that is brutal. I am SO sorry. My heart and prayers go out to you and her family.

  9. barb19 says:

    You have certainly had your hands full, and have been sorely missed. It’s great to see you again, getting back into the swing of things here.
    I want to know what Daisy has been up to all this time!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much Barb! Daisy has been her mischievous little self, but she’s also been such a comfort to me. It’s amazing how our pets know when we’re hurting and respond in such loving, caring ways. I’ll definitely be posting about it. 🙂

  10. Well hello! I am so happy to see you in the blogosphere again. Now this is no story, I was going to “tap politely” on your blog if you didn’t appear this week. I knew you were under so much pressure (I presumed anyway) with the aftermaths of the storm damage, and I presumed you were just swamped. But when there wasn’t even a niggle for so long, I was growing concerned. So our concerns were warranted, it seems. Great news that your husband is in good health. Hooray. But I’m very sorry about the loss of your friend. I am glad your writing is going well and you’re regaining some balance back! You and Daisy were very definitely missed in your absence! oxo

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you so much. I kept seeing email notifications of your posts and those of other blogs we follow, and it was so hard not to keep up with everyone’s news. Once this sad week is over, I’m hoping we can get back on track fast! 🙂

  11. onebluedog says:

    Wow, that is an awful lot to deal with. I’m very glad your writing and your daughter’s business are going great! And that your husband is okay! And I am so so sorry about your friend. It sounds like you have been on a roller coaster ride indeed.

    Mom and I have missed you! We hope things stay more normal for a good long while!

  12. BunkThePug says:

    Wow! That IS a lot to digest. It’s great to hear about your writing, your husband and the health of your family. I am sorry about your friend. It is good to see y’all back here.

  13. Clowie says:

    I’m glad that your husband’s tests were clear, that must have been an awful time for you. I’m very sorry to hear about your friend and I’ll be thinking of you giving a eulogy.
    It’s nice to have you back!

  14. megtraveling says:

    I’m so glad to hear from you and I hope you will find the routine will help as things become calmer. Welcome back!

  15. kolytyi says:

    OMG, this was a little bit too much from troubles and woes – the hurricane, losing job, the danger of a serious illness, death of a close friend… I hope the list will be closed for a long-long time and we can see that little face more often again.

  16. Dogs N Pawz says:

    So glad your husband is okay but so sorry about your friend. Hope things calm down for you and we are glad you’re back!

  17. You have my sympathy and understanding. I’m happy for your daughter, but so sorry for all the worry and grief you endured. I too am grateful for this wonderful blogging community – so patient & concerned for every member. What a blessing to have such friends.

    Hugs,
    Nanina

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

