Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Monday NAUGHTY Mischief: Daisy’s Overmarking Her Turf!

on September 17, 2012

Mischief is one thing – we laugh at it, take pictures of it, and marvel overΒ how smart and funny our sweet puppy is. BUT – this isn’t funny mischief, it’s downright naughty mischief.

Daisy’s new breed of mischief is – she piddles when we first greet her, both in the morning and when we come home after being out. And it’s not one single “hey-you’re-home group piddle” either – she’s got a piddle saved for each of us.

I’ll save you any unnecessary photos of the piddle puddles she’s gifting us and just share this photo of a semi-remorseful Daisy (but not remorseful enough to stop!).

Don’t see a lot of remorse here? Neither do we – just a touch to get the sympathy vote.

It’s like she’s marking the spot where we say hello, wherever it may be. Of course, with this new behavior, we only say hello on tile floors now.

I can’t figure out why it started, and the only thing that it coincides with is the work being done in our kitchen. Can that figure into it?

Or could it be that the installation wasn’t going smoothly and we’ve been living in chaos for the past month? It’s a long story, but to cut to the chase, the wrong size cabinets were delivered for half of the kitchen, so we were on hold for 10-14 days until the new cabinets were made and shipped up from Virginia. So we had no stove, oven, or sink. And everything is still in chaos because I have the flu (a super early flu!) and can’t manage all that backbreaking work. All the stuff from the cabinets are in boxes all over the living room and the dining room table is loaded with things we need to use. Up until last week, the dining half of the kitchen had the disconnected stove and dishwasher against a wall, blocking traffic flow.

When I say things are in chaos, I’m not exaggerating. It’s miserable living like this. I’m wondering if it’s affecting Daisy, but why would she show it this way? She seems perfectly calm the rest of the time.

So we’re going back to basics using Jan Fennell‘s Amichien Bonding techniques. Her training techniques worked like a charm with Daisy when she was a stubborn puppy, so we have faith they’ll work again.

If anyone has any ideas as to why this naughty mischief is happening, we’d love to get some fresh perspectives!

We’re part of the Monday Mischief blog hop!

49 responses to “Monday NAUGHTY Mischief: Daisy’s Overmarking Her Turf!

  1. No idea I’m afraid but we hope someone can help. Have a wonderful Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. kdkh says:

    Let’s hope it’s just anxiety due to the chaos. At least there’s an end in sight there.

  3. Mollie says:

    Oh what an upheaval your in with your kitchen πŸ™‚ Mollie use to piddle when we greeted her, that was because of excitement in my voice, now I come in calmly.make her sit, then give her a cuddle πŸ™‚ Have a great Monday..Pop by and see us sometime πŸ™‚ xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie

  4. Mollie says:

    Peee-ess, that’s suppose to be an unhappy face by the word kitchen..:( xx00xx

  5. 2browndawgs says:

    Have you made sure that she doesn’t have any sort of UTI or bladder infection? It could be the chaos or do you think it is submissive peeing? Females can be prone to that. Maybe because of everything being out of synch? Good luck!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I think it’s probably more likely the chaos in the house, but submissive peeing is also a possibility. I hadn’t thought of that. Probably all stemming from the insanity around here lately.

  6. Bassetmomma says:

    When Gloria was doing this it turned out she had a bladder infection. Once it cleared up the piddling stopped. It sounds like you have been having a horrific time with your reno. I sure hope it’s over soon. I can’t believe you got the dreaded flu on top of things! I sure hope you have a quick recovery. Daisy may just not be handling all the changes well. Paws and fingers crossed you get to the bottom of it. πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Janet, the reno process has been a complete nightmare. Mind you, we hired a company who did my 2 friends’ kitchens with very few problems. I don’t know what happened this time around. It’s pretty much done now, the owner just has to come today to put in a few final small things. It does look beautiful, though!

  7. I wish I had some wonderful words of wisdom, but I don’t. I hope you get it all figured out soon.

  8. g2-181676a647fc89e55aedc3f4eed1e54c says:

    If there are no physical problems, she is probably reacting to the chaos in a way that she knows will get your attention.

  9. I hope is just that she’s under a little stress and things go back to normal soon.

  10. Woof! Woof! Hoping you figure it out soon … Happy MM. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  11. I really don’t know a thing here, but I do wonder if it is just like with small children! They know when we are at our ragged edge, and either choose that time to get attention, even negative attention, or they’re sensing our stress and it triggers something emotional, just like bed-wetting sometimes come back to a preschooler when under stress. I hope you get it take care of for all of your sakes, but I really also hope your remodeling job concludes well and soon! Sounds very stressful to me, too! 😦

  12. I used to get sooooo excited when my humans came home, that I used to wee everywhere, but I’ve grown out of it. They are no longer exciting enough to wee over BOL. Daisy probably will probably grow out of it too.

  13. Kas says:

    Oh how we’ve missed you, Miss Daisy! But what’s up with the piddling? Have you mom email me and I’ll tell her my ideas πŸ™‚ livebarklove@ gmail.com

  14. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Daisy,

    This sure is some big Mischief buddy – I hope you’re not sick, it’s bad enough that your Mum is sick, I hope she gets well soon πŸ™‚

    Lots of great suggestions above, I hope the mystery is solved soon πŸ™‚

    Big Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  15. kolytyi says:

    Maybe there were to many strangers in her crib – unknown voices, new smells every day at a place that was safe and serene… This may make such a little pup really unsure and frigthtened. Is there any improvement?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Those are great points, I think you’re right. Since we’ve been using Jan Fennell’s techniques, Daisy has stopped peeing when she first sees DD and me, but she still lets some drops loose when my husband comes in. We’re trying to figure out why she sees him differently.

      • kolytyi says:

        She might think that he is the pack leader? πŸ™‚

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Possibly, but she also gets most excited when she sees him because she sees him less often than us. My husband leaves for work earlier than anyone else and he gets back later. And he’s the one who roughhouses with her – we mostly play tug-o-war, running, and retrieving games and cuddle with her. She really seems to look forward to their “rough and tumble” (such as they are with a small dog!) play times. πŸ™‚

  16. Aw! She thinks so highly of each of you that she gives you your own personal piddle! You should be honored! πŸ™‚

  17. Novroz says:

    Sorry to hear about Daisy’s naughty-ness…unfortunately I can’t help becuse I never had a dog in my life.

    hope Daisy’ll behave better soon or at least hope your messy kitchen can be sort out soon.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You definitely don’t have to worry about such things with turtles – another wonderful thing about those adorable creatures! πŸ™‚ The kitchen was finally finished today and we’re starting to regain some order. Finally!

  18. Zena says:

    I have dropped an award in your box, though can’t believe you haven’t already received it. If you have, take it as a compliment and ignore the rest!
    If you haven’t pop here to see the rules:
    http://theprincesstails.wordpress.com/

  19. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Awwwwe…poor sweet Daisy! Us doggies think she just hasn’t figured it out yet!!!! But really, we just don’t know:)

  20. Firstly, I hope you get better really quickly, especially with all the chaos you are living through. I think I’ve just changed my mind regarding re-doing my kitchen!
    Daisy is probably reacting to the chaos. A lack of confidence can definitely result in the “peeing I’m so happy to see you” phenomenon. A lot like what 2browndawgs was saying. It’s kind of a submissive / lack of confidence type behaviour. Her life is turned upside down just like yours. She may not be quite as calm as she’s making out. Hopefully it all improves once your nightmare finishes. Good luck πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I think you’re right – thanks so much for weighing in. This was a weird and – I think – unusual unfortunate series of occurrences that converged on our kitchen renovation. Two of my friends had this same company do their kitchen with no problems – we just got “lucky”! πŸ˜‰

  21. The Hook says:

    A little overkill never hurt, right?

  22. Hey Daisy, Jet here.

    Hmmm… hope you’re feeling better speedy quick… we send you virtual chicken soup and Mom recommends a regimen of oregano oil extract for 6 months. (she begins October 1 and ends April 1!)

    As to Kitchen Chaos, hmmm… very interesting timing with Miss Daisy’s new behavior. Mom never potty trained, so we can’t help much there. Adopting older K9s and all…
    Mom asked me to share that in solidarity… many years ago, when she and Mr. Fred only shared their new home with Mugs, the feline, they had to stay in the “house from HE–” while they renovated Casa Jet. It was supposed to be about 3 months and it turned into 13 capped of by Hurricane Andrew! Mugs was quite out of sorts in the temporary home, which had termites, a non functional kitchen (1/2 a fridge, a sink and a microwave) and went from the sweetest, most gentle feline, to a grumpy, depressed, feline who even bit a few times. As soon as they resettled into Casa Jet, he returned to his former self, almost immediately and lived almost 6 years more enjoying the new house.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks so much for sharing that story Jet! That underscores my suspicion that it was all the chaos that made Daisy react in such an unusual (for her) way. She’s doing much better now, so I think that was it. At least we’ll know what to expect when we have the painters in for a few days!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

