Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Poppy Says We’re On Fire!

on July 19, 2012

Fluffy Popcorn, one of our favorite little blog buddy pups, has generously passed the Blog On Fire Award on to us – thank you so much little cutie! This tiny toy poodle has a lot of personality and a ton of cuteness in her small little self!

And now for the requirements: 8 unusual facts about ourselves….hmmmm, unusual? That’s a tough one, being that we’re not unusual people! How about a few facts we may not have mentioned before?

1. I’m not a summer person. I can’t stand heat over 80 degrees F or humidity (and we just had a 105 degree day with a heat index of 110!). The only things I love about summer are fresh fruits, veggies, and flowers. Give me a place with year-round fall and I’ll move there!

2. If we could, we’d live off our own garden completely to avoid the toxins in commercial meats and produce.

3. I’m most happy puttering in the garden, hiking in the woods, discovering interesting small towns, or tucked under some blankets while watching an old movie on a cold winter day. Or coming in from the snow and warming up with hot chocolate. The ultimate is doing all of this with my little family.

4. I love fall/winter clothes. I love their rich colors, their warmth and softness, and their look, and I love being bundled up in them.

5. My dream is to have a small, Kinkade-esque cottage near a rambling stream surrounded by wildflowers with herb and veggie gardens outside the back kitchen door (similar to Colonial kitchen gardens). Its interior would be bright, happy and charming and it would be a short walk from an artsy town center with a couple of al fresco cafes. Β (I’ve actually sketched out the floor plan for the cottage – a modified version of a hundred-year-old Β home-turned-shop I’ve been in. It does include a walk-in fireplace in the open living room!) Not too idealistic, ya think?

6. Daisy screeches when the doorbell rings. Not barks – ear-piercing screeches intermingled with insistent whining. Sounds like she’s being stuck by pins rather than announcing a visitor!

7. I love antiques, but I have a fondness for pressed glass Victorian toothpick holders. I’m always amazed at how the Victorians had a specific item for every single need at the table, and these little gems really captivate me. I have a small collection of them and use them as miniature vases for small garden flowers or flowers from bouquets that outlive the rest.

8. I love 19th century literature, and Jane Austen is my guilty pleasure. I’m savoring every word of Mansfield Park right now. (And DD and I are BIG Downton Abbey fans!)

And now for 8 blogs to pass the award on to. If you’re on this list but not interested in awards, just consider this our way of introducing our friends to you!

1. Peace With My Life

2. Snoopy’s Dog Blog

3. Doggy’s Style

4. The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf

5. Bassett Momma

6. Hey….Its Jet Here

7. Alfie’s Blog

8. Hutch A Good Life

Thank you Poppy! πŸ˜€

25 responses to “Poppy Says We’re On Fire!

  1. Congratulations, well deserved. You are so beautifulβ™₯β™₯β™₯

  2. Absolutely fascinating. Point 1 – couldn’t agree more (I spend my life wishing for spring and autumn). I prefer the African bush to anything – the idea of just being close to a quaint village is perfect. Your house plans sound perfect (walk in fire place included). I was terrible about reading until, in junior school, I found Jane Austen and then, no-one could get me away. I have an antique sliver toothpick holder (OK, it’s only one and it’s silver, not glass but still).

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Wow we have a lot in common! I actually start a Fall Countdown as soon as we hit the summer solstice….and every “end of summer clearance sale” gives me a boost, even though they start in July. πŸ™‚

  3. barb19 says:

    Congratulations on the award which is well deserved with your wonderfully entertaining blog!

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    Congrats on your awards. I love Jane Austen too. Have read her books many many times over. I don’t feel a bit guilty about it either. πŸ™‚

  5. Bassetmomma says:

    Congratulations on your award and thank you so much for passing it on to us! It was so interesting to read these facts about you. I too, love the cold weather. I love being bundled up watching an old movie during a snowstorm. Your idea for a little cottage with gardens outside the door sounds wonderful. Myself I have always loved the old english cottages!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I was happy to pass the award on to you, we love reading your blog and get suck a kick out of Fred and Gloria! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who enjoys cold weather and the cozy indoor pleasures it brings. πŸ™‚ (I’ve realized that the theme to most of my likes and dreams is “coziness”!)

  6. Little Miss Fluffy is another cutie, isn’t she? It’s nice to know that Daisy has a blogging buddy! Congratulations on your award, and it’s lovely to get to know more about you! I think the cottage, unrealistic or not, sounds wonderful! I like antiques, too, and completely understand how you would want to collect those adorable little toothpick holders! D

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Yay – Congrats on your award!! We love Poppy too! πŸ™‚ And thanks so much for thinking of me – You’re so sweet!! πŸ™‚

    I really enjoyed the list – I was thinking, you might want to live in England, Mum says they never have a proper Summer, they have lovely quaint cottages and they have lots of Antiques – they do get lots of rain though, not sure if you like rain? πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s funny you should suggest living in England, because so much of what I love is English! My husband works for a company based in England, so he gets to travel there a few times a year – LUCKY! He always wants me go to along, but it’s always at the wrong time for me. One of these days I’ll go along…but may not want to come back…. πŸ™‚

      All that rain would be great for the skin, but I’d have a tough time keeping my curly hair straight – it takes me 40 minutes every day to straighten it! :<O

      • snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

        Hey Daisy’s Mum,

        Ooooh, I so hope you got to England soon, you’d love it!! I think I’d just give up on the straight hair πŸ™‚ – I’m so glad I don’t have to straighten mine – 40 mins a day? Yikes! πŸ™‚

        Hope you’re having a fun day πŸ™‚

        Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  8. Congratulations! Cute pics ❀

  9. KSO says:

    Congrats on the award!!!! You deserve it!

  10. Papoe says:

    Congratulation for the awards daisy πŸ™‚ well deserved.

    Hold on…Daisy’s mom like winter/fall clothes? but I though Philippine has 2 seasons like my country…wet and dry.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

