Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Unspoken Signals

on April 20, 2012

One of my favorite blogging buddies, Nala’s Dog Days, (another Havachon blog!! Woohoo!!) recently did a post called Learning By Doing, where she talks about the ways her adorable Havachon, Nala, has learned things without any training.

This got me thinking about the unspoken signals we give our dogs, and the way they’re always paying attention even when we think they’re not (just like kids!).

My last dog used to respond to “Do you….” at the start of any sentence because she knew it preceded “….want to go OUT?” Similarly, the word “out” raised her ears and got her all excited. So we started avoiding the “do you” phrase and spelling “out” anytime we used it: “Could you take the dinner plates o-u-t?” Well that only worked for a couple of months, because she then recognized the spelling of the word, since we began saying, “Are you ready to take Mugsie o-u-t?” We then started saying it in French, but realized in short order that she’d pick up on it even if we said it in Martian, as long as we said it right before taking her o-u-t. πŸ™‚

Daisy knows the nap signal – when I sit down at my computer in the morning, it’s time for Daisy to hit Big Blue or the couch with the fleece throws. She knows I’ll be busy working for a while, so she settles in for a cozy morning snooze.

It's only 9 AM and I've accomplished so much already - stretching, eating, playing, jumping, racing - I think I deserve a nap.

Then there’s the unspoken dinner signal – when Daisy hears the evening news come on, she jumps up and stares holes in me, pacing expectantly.

Dinner time dinner time dinner time dinner time----

In the kitchen, we have a few different unspoken signals. Early in the morning, when Daisy sees me push in the end chair, she knows I’m going to open the blinds to her Window on the World (the sliding glass doors). The minute I put my hand on that chair, she trots quickly to the edge of the doors, ears perked in anticipation of the Grand Opening. πŸ˜‰

Look! There's my squirrel buddy! I wonder who else will be paying me a visit? πŸ™‚

On the other hand, when she sees me put my hand on the oven door, her ears go down and she runs into the next room – this is a throwback to the Great Scone Incident. Never will she ever forget the havoc she caused, and the oven door opening still signals d-a-n-g-e-r to her.

Are you opening any time soon? I need to know so I can run away....

Now we have the Snack Signal – when Daisy hears me peeling carrots for our dinner salad, she trots expectantly into the kitchen….she knows that a small chunk of carrot has her name on it! πŸ™‚

And, of course, there’s the Bath Signal, when DH struts into the room and says “OK” in a particular tone, then follows it with a rhetorical “Where’s Daisy”. That’s her signal to look maniacally for a hiding place, and if there isn’t one, to roll submissively onto her back, ears down, eyes open to their widest, and little licks with her tongue. It pathetically screams, “Please, please, please NO BATH!!”

Ahahahaha! You can't reach me when I'm in my cave!

Have you noticed any unspoken signals that your dog responds to?

We’ll be a bit scarce next week – we have family staying with us all week from out of state (Daisy will be thrilled!). We’ll try to pop in and visit our blogging buddies whenever we can, otherwise we’ll see you May 1!

19 responses to “Unspoken Signals

  1. Bassetmomma says:

    Love the unspoken signal! Fred and Gloria are the same way when I peel carrots. I love the way Daisy knows you’re going to open the blind on her “window to the world” ! πŸ™‚

  2. nalasdogdays says:

    Awww Daisy thank you for your kind words, we are both thrilled! And now that I think about it, we also have the snack signal.. Nala loves cucumber (go figure) and when ever I’m chopping anything, she comes around to see whether she is in luck (yes, I know, I shouldn’t ALWAYS give her cucumber when I’m chopping it….). And the same with frying anything, she lingers in the kitchen in case it’s mince, which she knows she always gets…. πŸ™‚

  3. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Daisy – you’re super clever!! Not surprised you hide when it’s bath time buddy – yuk!! πŸ™‚

    It was great to read this post – loved it!! It also made me realize about all the signals that go on around here – I hadn’t really thought too much about them before….. I think you might have even inspired me to post about them, as there are too many to put in the comment – Mum and Dad are creatures of habit – which works great for me! πŸ™‚

    Have fun with your visitors,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  4. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Aw…Daisy is adorable! Makes me wish I had a dog… πŸ™‚

  5. barb19 says:

    I loved hearing about Daisy’s unspoken signals, especially the one where she anticipates you opening the door to her world!
    Poppy has a few too – we spell some of her favourites out, but I swear she can now spell, because there is no fooling her! Words such as o-u-t, b-a-t-h, the usual, you know. She is crazy about cheese, and as soon as we take the cheese dish out of the fridge, she is right beside me – how does she know it’s the cheese dish? Beats me!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      These pups are all SO smart! They know the sound of chopping or peeling means carrots or apples, the cheese dish means yummy cheese – you name it, they know it! I can just imagine Poppy trotting expectantly up to you when the cheese dish comes out of the fridge! πŸ˜€

  6. 2browndawgs says:

    I always said that Daisy was a smart one!

  7. Dogs are just so tied to wanting us to be pleased with them, I think, that they watch us…and in turn, they do catch on to the cues we throw out there. Daisy is just the cutest thing! She has the brightest eyes! Debra

  8. granny1947 says:

    Good morning RD….we are going to be scarce at the same time.
    Mind you….I intend getting my computer set up before I even unload the bed.
    Once has to get one’s priorities right!

  9. Cheese and chicken are Tiffy’s favorite words. She will come out of hiding no matter where she is when those words are spoken:) Tiffy and Daisy have a lot in common. Have a great weekend.

  10. The Hook says:

    Daisy is one smart cookie!

  11. Kroten says:

    I guess all pets have unspoken signals πŸ˜‰
    I have my signals too, but not quite like Daisy πŸ˜‰
    http://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/happy-4th-gotcha-day-kroten/

    I like your dinner time face πŸ™‚

  12. 47 says:

    I throw Rocco in the shower with me, so when I turn the shower on and go to grab him, he folds his ears back and shrinks away. So cute.

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

