Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy Picks Up A Hitchhiker

on February 7, 2012

While we were in FL for Christmas, we discovered something brand new – and it wasn’t fun.

After taking Daisy out for walks, we’d find loads of nasty little green pods stuck in her fur. And I mean STUCK – they had little spikey things sticking off them that caused the pods to latch onto her fur so strongly that we had to cut the fur off. We couldn’t pull them out no matter how we tried.

We found them everywhere – on her legs, paws, tail, stomach….even under her neck and between her pads!

They looked something like this photo, but surprisingly (and happily!) those nasty looking spines were flexible and didn’t hurt Daisy at all.

My family in FL has St. Augustine grass, and these seed pods apparently are weeds that come up in the cooler months. They call them “hitchhikers” because they grab onto socks, pants, and anything else they can attach themselves to.

We still don’t know exactly what kinds of weeds they are, but they could be sandspur, which could hurt if it attached to the skin. Fortunately, Daisy’s fur is SO thick and curly that even these nasties couldn’t get near her skin – a great natural defense system! But she wasn’t too fond of sitting still while we searched her fur and cut them out after every outing.

So just a heads-up to all my traveling blog buddies out there – new areas could host new problems for our outdoor pups, so just check them over after going outside. You never know what might be lurking!

Good grief, what WERE those crazy things?!

22 responses to “Daisy Picks Up A Hitchhiker

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    My Daisy picked up many hitchhikers in North Carolina.

  2. tiffy40 says:

    Yikes, that does not sound like fun for you or Daisy. It’s hard enough to keep the mats out of their hair. Thankfully, you were able to remove them all:)

  3. Dawn says:

    Aweful! My Labrador Maya doesn’t pick up any of these things, but when I found my new dog Pierson, he had burs all over in his fur. Thankfully, his fur is soft enough that it was relatively easy to pick them out.

  4. Ouch! Hope you managed to get them all out 😦

    Slobbers
    xxx

  5. You poor thing Daisy!!

    I know how much I hate to get anything stuck in my fur!! So I feel your pain….

    Luckily I haven’t had those, but one time when I was younger Mum and the kids took me out and I got covered in little round spiky things, Mum and the kids had to take turns in carrying me back to the car as I couldn’t walk with them all in my pads as well as on my coat….they said I was heavy and spiky!! 🙂

    It took Mum ages to get them out of my coat when we got home….

    Mum learned never to take me off the trail again – though even on the sidewalk I can pick up lots of pesky stuff – doh! I guess it’s the price you and I pay for a fluffy coat? 🙂

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  6. granny1947 says:

    Oh boy…the joys of having curly haired dogs…my poodles used to be the same.

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    Yikes. We hate burs, but many don’t stick to Chessie coats. 🙂

    the brown dawgs

  8. barb19 says:

    Poor Daisy!
    We have them here in Oz and they are known as ‘farmers friends’. If Poppy gets into long grass, she always gets some on her but we have always been able to pull them off her – probably because her coat isn’t as curly as Daisy’s.

  9. Bassetmomma says:

    Well they just look nasty!

  10. Jackie Paulson says:

    I am so glad that you did not get hurt daisy…those little “hitchhiker” thingyies…OMG…how horrible… My sister has a dog and he got into a rose bush and he let me get them out of his paws with no hospital visit, took three hours,, a couple years ago, Glad it was not rose bushes.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Oh my gosh, Jackie….rose bush thorns?! How awful! That must have hurt that poor dog so much! It’s great that he let you take them out of his paws. Daisy is so squeamish about her paws – especially the front ones – that she struggles like mad when we do anything with them, like trimming hair and nails. I’m glad it wasn’t rose bushes too!

  11. Welcome to Florida! Poor Daisy! Unfortunately, I know all too well about hitchhikers. I try to avoid
    them at all costs. If I see a weed, which is all too common this time of year, I like to get rid of it as
    soon as possible.

    As annoying as hitchhikers are, it’s “fire ants” that can be a real pain to say the least. Daisy wouldn’t want to step into a fire ant mound. I hear fire ants are spreading fast and furious throughout the southern states here in the US. I avoid them whenever possible.

    Maybe Daisy needs her own protective suit when she visits Florida again! Ha! Ha! Better yet, I can envision Daisy wearing her swanky sunglasses while relaxing on the beach. Her hair is swept back from the gentle ocean breeze. She is soaking up the sun while enjoying her favorite doggy treat. She is blissfully enjoying “her” tropical oasis. Pure heaven for Daisy! 🙂

    • By the way, I wrote my comment in “word.” I guess it has a mind of its own. Hence, the reason for the erratic first two sentences. Ha! Ha! 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL That’s a great image you created! I can see her just LOVING every second of that! 😀

      I’ve heard horror stories about those fire ants, it’s one of the things that always concerns me. I didn’t realize they were spreading through the states, though. If our temps get much milder here up north, we may just be invaded some day too! A friend of ours gave Daisy cute little purple snow booties for Christmas – maybe we should put them on her the next time we visit FL! 🙂

  12. The Hook says:

    Daisy NEVER has a dull moment, right?

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

