Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Monday Mischief – Daisy Has Radar!

on January 29, 2012

I think Daisy might have a telepathic connection to anything that drops on the floor. Even if she wasn’t around when it fell and hasn’t been anywhere near that room at all, she just knows.

Who, me? Innocent little me??

This morning I knocked an emery board onto the bathroom floor. I couldn’t pick it up right away because my hands were wet and soapy, but as is usual with me lately, by the time I finished washing and drying, I’d forgotten all about the dropped emery board.

And in all fairness [aka excuse], it fell on a beige area rug with its beige side up, so it didn’t catch my eye. Honest. Really.

Keep in mind that Daisy was nowhere in the area; she wasn’t even at that end of the house. And it didn’t make a sound when it fell on the rug.

Later, after breakfast, Daisy suddenly and deftly trotted past me to the opposite end of the house. I knew that gait – she was up to something. So I waited. I gave her a minute to locate her target so I could catch her in the act.

There she stood in the bedroom, the nail file sticking out of her mouth, angled like a cigarette between the lips of a seasoned smoker.

She just stood there, frozen. Staring at me.

Suddenly she started to bolt for the safety of the bed – under the bed, that is.

“Drop it!” I yelled.

And she did! I was shocked! She stopped in her tracks, looked at me, and let the thing drop to the floor. I cracked up!

It was too late to get my camera for a picture, so instead I took a picture of the aftermath:

I got some good licks in!

We’re part of the Monday Mischief blog hop!

Snoopy's Dog Blog

44 responses to “Monday Mischief – Daisy Has Radar!

  1. Great job Daisy!!

    You’re so good at this Mischief Making πŸ™‚

    I’m guessing you wanted to file your nails after the drama you had last week with your Mum’s attempt, right?! Tee Hee

    I think we’re gonna have to work on our walks buddy, my Mum always knows when I’m up to something too!! Although, isn’t that half the fun – Tee Hee

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You’re right, Snoopy! I need to practice a calm, easygoing walk so Mom won’t suspect anything. And if I could keep my nails from tick-tick-ticking across the wood floor, I might be able to go Ninja! πŸ™‚ Mischief making is so much easier in carpeted rooms, don’t you think? πŸ™‚

  2. Jen says:

    Hah, good drop it!

    Elka likes emery boards, for some reason. She purloined one at my grandparents’ house at Christmas, and while she’ll let me file her nails, she licks the emery board the entire time.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL I wonder what it is about emery boards that pups seem to like? I haven’t tried filing Daisy’s nails, but I will now. Maybe she’ll like it! Thanks for visiting, Jen!

  3. barb19 says:

    You got busted Daisy – can’t get away with anything!

  4. bichonpawz says:

    hahahahah! Busted indeed! It is rather amazing how on earth they know when things drop! LadyBug can just tell when a bag of chips or pretzels or some kind of snack is being opened even if she is all the way upstairs at the other end of the house!!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Wow LadyBug has radar too! πŸ™‚ They do seem to have a built-in sense of things. I remember our last dog would get excited a few minutes before my husband would get home from work, and he never came home at the same time twice! I always knew by her anticipatory reaction that I should unlock the deadbolt. πŸ™‚

  5. tiffy40 says:

    Oh no! You were caught again:) You will have to become even more mischievous.

  6. Woof! Woof! Oh geting busted is not FUN. Happy Mischief Monday! Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Sometimes I get pretty far in my mischief before I get caught, but it’s only when Mom’s really super busy. It’s almost worth getting caught to see the funny look on her face when she sees what I’ve done!

  7. Bassetmomma says:

    That’s hilarious! I can’t believe she actually dropped it when you told her too! If that were Fred I would have been shocked too if he actually listened to me. Glad to see your up and running again! πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I just tried posting a comment on your blog, Janet, but I’m still having no luck with Blogspot so I’m going to comment here. πŸ™‚

      That’s such a cute photo of Freddie, and so nice of him to “help” with the laundry! πŸ˜‰

  8. Yep doggie radar is strong in this house.

  9. Good drop, Daisy! That’s quick thinking–I find it works when you’re about to be in trouble.

  10. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    Sweet Daisy you almost made it to safety with that new chew toy. Good try! Reading this made us giggle. Hugs and nose kisses

  11. Higgins says:

    Aww man, you were caught!! BOL! I hate when I get caught doing naughty things because I like to blame it on others!!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yeah, it’s rough when they catch us red-handed. πŸ˜‰

      Still can’t post to Blogspot so I’m commenting on your post here(!):

      OMG Higgins! I love the smell of coffee, but I’ve never been able to sneak a sip. LOL You’re too funny! πŸ˜€

  12. nalasdogdays says:

    Daisy, Nala is exactly the same! She loves to (try to) lick my nail files.. Maybe she wants a manicure too πŸ˜‰

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Its all about timing, isn’t it Daisy? You almost got away with it. πŸ™‚

  14. MyBrownNewfies says:

    I think that Daisy and Leroy would make a great pair of thiefs!:))) If only they would learn to not make so much noise walking:)))

  15. Daisy is a real good girl – and I love her built in radar! *Waggy tail*

  16. Bunk says:

    Good Job Daisy! Why would the human ask you to drop it? Don’t they understand what’s on the floor is YOURS. πŸ˜‰

  17. Bailey says:

    ah hahaha! I’m the same way!! Way to go, Daisy! πŸ˜‰

    Woofs & hugs, ❀

    ~Bailey (Yep, I'm a girl!)

  18. The Hook says:

    Daisy has mad skills, no question…

  19. granny1947 says:

    That guilty look is classic!

  20. I want that skill. I could reap some serious benefits. BOL!

  21. Your doggy sixth sense?

    slobbers
    xxx

  22. That’s too funny! Daisy had her fun while it lasted. It’s nice to hear that she is a good listener. Daisy is such a sweetie! πŸ™‚

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

