Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Monday Mischief – Faker!

on January 23, 2012

My oh my, did Daisy ever cry wolf this weekend! She’s taking mischief-making to a whole new level!

Sunday wasn’t only bath day for our Miss Daisy, it was a full grooming day. ย That means that after her bath, I clip her nails, trim the hair on her face, legs, and paws (including around the pads), and give that cute little derriere of hers a buzz cut to keep unmentionable stinkies from clinging to her. It takes two of us to get the clipping and trimming done – DH to hold her in a comforting yet firm way, and me to do the dirty work.

Needless to say, Daisy hates full-on grooming days.

You're not coming toward me with that clipper....are you?

We give her treats to help get her through these non-invasive, non-painful, simple little procedures. The way Daisy acts, you’d think we were performing surgery without an anesthetic.

But this weekend she raised the stakes. My least favorite part of grooming her is clipping her nails. Only once did I draw blood from one of the black nails, and she didn’t even yipe. We stopped the bleeding quickly by dipping her nail in regular ol’ flour; the vet said we could also use baking soda or a styptic pencil. I probably only slightly nicked the edge of the quick since she didn’t feel it, but I was shaking for an hour!

That was months ago. Yesterday, after trimming the hair on both front paws/legs and clipping the nails, we moved on to her back legs, which are much easier to do. As soon as I clipped the second nail, she let out an ear-piercing yipe. Scared the living daylights out of me! I was so upset – how could I have done this again, and on a transparent white nail, yet?

I started running to get the flour again when DH called out, “There’s nothing wrong with her!”

In disbelief, I went back and checked her nail myself – I hadn’t cut anywhere near the quick! She wasn’t bleeding, and there was still white nail extending beyond the pink quick.

“FAKER!” I cried at her. “The dog who cried wolf!!”

Relieved but still shaking a bit, I took hold of the next nail with DH’s prompting. Guess what happened? She yiped before I ย even brought the clipper anywhere near her foot!!

“Oh no you don’t!” I scolded her, staring straight into those big brown eyes, “You’re a faker! No more! You stop faking!”

I think she understood, because I cut the rest of her nails without even so much as a whimper. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, to add to Snoopy’s Rules of Mischief ย here’s our Rule No. 8 – if twisting, pulling, yanking, groaning, and puppy-mumbling won’t stop them from clipping your nails, resort to yiping. Works every time. (Or at least momentarily!)

This is NOT my best look!!

We’re part of the Monday Mischief blog hop!

Snoopy's Dog Blog
33 responses to “Monday Mischief – Faker!

  1. fake it till ya escape it…yep…if not milk them for the “pain” – Keanna
    p.s. i hate the full grooming day, too

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    That Daisy is one smart doggie. She even fooled her human for a bit. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The Hook says:

    At least she’s happy-go-lucky…

  4. Bassetmomma says:

    What a faker! I get stressed and shake every time I have to trim nails, too. Daisy must be taking lessons from Freddie. We’ll have to call her Miss Dramatica! LOL!

  5. Kame says:

    Poor Daisy…but you need that bath and grooming. Mommy used to clip my nails too…but not anymore (Thank God!!).

    You look funny all wet like that…but still adorable ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Jan says:

    It’s amazing how quickly a dog can come up with something to get their way. Humans must always find out if this is a real pain or play acting which some dogs do so very well.

  7. That’s a good trick Daisy – I will remember it next time the humans bring the dreaded *brush* near me! *waggy tail*. Thanks for joining our blog hop!

  8. granny1947 says:

    Daisy sure has your number…clever girl!

  9. Daisy,

    You’re the best!! I’m so impressed with your superior levels of Mischief buddy!! That’s a great one – I used to get my nails trimmed when I was little and hated it, luckily I don’t need them trimming anymore cos I run so much……

    However, I have also been implementing that technique when Mum’s grooming me, but for me it’s when she tries to do my Matts – and yes, sometimes I do get the timing wrong too and yelp before she even touches me – doh!! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s good fun though, hey?!! Tee Hee

    Keep up the wonderful work you great little Mischief Maker,

    Your pal Snoopy ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS – your Mum did a great job on your grooming – despite your best efforts – Haha

  10. barb19 says:

    Oh my goodness, she was trying it on – and it did work for a second! But you’ve got her number now, you wont fall for any more fake yipes!
    They let you know though, don’t they . . . just look at those eyes, oh Daisy, Daisy!

  11. Seems like everyone is getting the evil bath treatment lately, we hated it too!
    Shame the clipper trick didnt work, maybe next time? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Slobbers
    xxx

  12. What a smart cookie! Mom’s still trying to get me used to the dremel fur my nails. I say no way!

  13. Yes! Maple is starting to learn very quickly the power of a shrill cry. We’ve caught her doing it twice already and each time was a false alarm. So far, no fake yelping incidences yet when it comes to nail-clipping…but that could be just a matter of time, lol!

    Daisy has the cutest “I’ve just come out of the shower” head I’ve ever seen! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. tiffy40 says:

    You are so brave to clip her nails at all. When Tiffy’s gets a home grooming, I trim Tiffy’s nails occasionally to keep them neat in between her professional grooming visits and only take a tiny bit off at the end. I really dislike this grooming task and would rather pay the vet ($15) or groomer ($40 includes haircut and bow) to do it for me. You are our hero:)

    Tiffy the Yorkie

  15. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    Sweet Daisy we know it was not funny that you scared your mom and made her shake but we couldn’t help but laugh reading about your new tactic to stop the nail trimming. You are such a cutie the look on the face would get Mumsy. Hugs and nose kisses

  16. Higgins says:

    I just might have learned a new trick on toe nail cutting day! Thanks! BOL!!

    ~Higgins

  17. […] This week’s rule comes from my good palย Daisy…. […]

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

