Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

A Series of Unfortunate Incidents

on October 17, 2011

How is it that being away from blogging for a week feels more like a month?

This time Murphy’s Law didn’t just pay a quick visit, he vacationed here for the whole week.

Just before last weekend, I was supposed to host a birthday luncheon for a very dear friend of mine. The day before the big event, I had all the fixin’s and was ready to go. The flourless chocolate cake was made, cookies were baked, raspberry truffles carefully crafted, and ingredients for the lunch itself were standing at the ready for early prep.

And then I threw my back out.

I had to cancel the luncheon and ended up on the sofa with a heating pad for two days, after which my movements had to be VERY careful for several days. I hate doing nothing, it’s not in my DNA.

But before I even reached the point of full mobility, I had a day-long dizzy spell.

The day after that, I sliced a chunk of skin off my finger while chopping onions. That took two days to stop bleeding. (No, I didn’t go to the ER because I’m needlephobic, and that’s all they seem to want to do there.)

The day after that, I was inexplicably nauseous all day.

I finally rescheduled the luncheon for late in the week, which went perfectly. Everyone had a good time – maybe too good, because they were here for over six hours! It was well into the evening and past most people’s dinner times before they all left.

By Friday, I was well behind on my work, I hadn’t blogged in a week and a half, and I missed all my blogging buddies’ news. Ugh.

But you know what the silver lining is? A couple of my blogging buddies checked to see if I was okay, which really touched my heart. Sometimes I think blogging friends are better “neighbors” than those in our neighborhood, because where I live, it’s pretty much “every man for himself”. If you’re not around for a month, no one notices. If your house burns down, they just want to make sure their own property is undamaged. But just let someone plant a new expensive car in their driveway, and everyone takes note immediately – because they have to run out and get a better one.

When we first moved here years ago, the town was filled with horse farms, it had a small central village settled in the 17th century, and there was our development. There were little farm markets at almost every main intersection and more in between. Now only a couple are left, and the horse farms have given way to bigger and BIGGER developments. And our little development has been taken over by up-and-comers who are just waiting to get their claws into the McMansions. We’re among the last vestiges of the charming town we moved into, and I can’t wait to get out. I have my eye on a small mountain town in PA where one of my editors lives – that’s my prize, if fate allows it.

Anyway (sorry for the digression), all that is to say that my blogging buddies are a wonderful reminder that good neighbors do exist, even if they live miles and miles away. And I appreciate every single one of you every single day. πŸ™‚

There's nothing like a soft teddy bear and warm blogging buddies.... πŸ™‚

20 responses to “A Series of Unfortunate Incidents

  1. The Hook says:

    The feeling – and respect – is mutual!

  2. Soooo happy you’re back and all fixed up, you certainly were in the wars!! I hope Daisy was a good nurse!

    Here’s to a fun week ahead,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Oh yes, this week is shaping up to be MUCH better already! πŸ™‚

      Daisy was a real comfort, she sat on the sofa with me and cuddled up, all soft and warm. It was so sweet! She even gave up her usual nature-watch at the back door. I felt bad that I couldn’t play with her or take her out, but she didn’t complain! Dogs can be so wonderful when we’re low, can’t they? πŸ™‚

  3. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    We missed you a lot while you were away from blogging. We got all excited to see you had come to visit and then to find a post from you. Wow! you really had some stuff going on…some not so fun stuff too. Sure glad you are all better and was finally able to have the luncheon.

    Sweet Daisy we love those soft, cuddly teddy bears too and we sure love all our blogging buddies. We hope everything keeps going well for you all now and we will hear from you more often. Hugs and nose kisses

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It was great catching up with you Mumsy! Thanks for the warm welcome. Isn’t it wonderful how the internet can bring people from all corners of the world together? πŸ™‚

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    Oh No! Glad to read you are back and feeling better. I wondered where you got off too. I thought maybe it was a nice vacation. Sorry to hear that was not the case. 😦

    Raspberry truffles sound good. I wouldn’t leave either if you were feeding me those. πŸ˜†

    That is a cute picture of Daisy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I wish it had been a vacation! Believe it or not, these raspberry truffles are as easy to make as they are scrumptious…..which makes them even more dangerous…. πŸ˜‰ My friend is a serious chocoholic – her birthday cake was a flourless chocolate cake with chocolate ganache and the cookies were banana chocolate chip….chocolate overload!!

  5. barb19 says:

    Sorry to hear of your unfortunate incidents, and hope that you are well on the road to recovery . . . just be careful with the back!
    I’ve been away myself for the last four weeks, overseas, and I missed my blogging buddies too – it’s so nice to be back in touch again. We have a wonderful bunch here, there’s no doubt about it.
    Looking forward to hearing more of Daisy’s antics – love the photo of her with the teddy bear!

  6. Judy says:

    Sorry to hear of all your troubles. That is certainly a lot to have happen in a week! Wow! I’m happy to hear you are better now. Back trouble can be a huge problem when it strikes. I’ve had a few incidents myself at times and it can really immobilize you. I haven’t been blogging lately and I do miss my blogging buddies but right now I simply don’t have the time. At some point I do hope to get back to a regular blogging schedule. I hope this week is a better week.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Judy, and it’s great hearing from you! You were actually the first person I “met” on this blog, and I miss reading about Tiffy. Hope all is well with you and you’re busy with GOOD stuff! πŸ™‚

  7. Wow, for you to make such a quick comeback after a very tumultuous week is simply amazing! You should have given yourself an extra few days or more to relax. But I can empathize with your wanting to keep busy—I get a bit antsy, too, when I stay still for too long a stretch of time. I’m sure Daisy is thrilled to see you up and about, and more than happy to be back in the limelight of her blog. Speaking of blogs, your week’s absence from the blogosphere was definitely noticed. And it’s so true that blogging buddies are usually the first ones to pick up on it (lol)! Cyber surveillance… a little goes a long way πŸ˜€

    P.s. A small mountain town is not a far stretch of the imagination at all! I’m sure the mountain and her critters will have a lot to offer nature-loving Daisy πŸ˜‰

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you! Yes I think Daisy would be quite happy in the town I’m aiming for; it’s very dog-friendly, plus I’m sure she’d love meeting new people and discovering a whole new world of nature. The hardest thing will be leaving my friends behind, but I’ll make sure I always have an extra room for them to visit! πŸ™‚

  8. I loved what you said that being immobile is not in your DNA, nor is it in mine. Sorry for all that had seemed to go wrong in one week. Sometimes it is a blessing in disguise….see Daisy needed you and you were there. Glad your party went well and you are back to normal. I pray your back does not go out, the dizzy spells never come back and the sick feeling stays away all winter long. πŸ™‚

  9. Dawn says:

    I hope you are feeling better! I’ve had my own set of unfortunate incidents – my basement flooded, tire came off the car, furnace is out. While all this hurts financially, I think I’d rather take the financial hit than be in pain. I’m so sorry this happened and hope it never happens again. Daisy, you take good care of your mom. She is lucky to have you and all her great friends.

  10. Ouch. Two days to stop the bleeding? Sounds like a serious cut. Glad to hear you’re fine!

    We’ve been so busy that it’s hard to catch up and continue blogging, but at least I still have time to enjoy your blog πŸ™‚

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

