Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy and the Dishwasher

on September 20, 2011

What a little character we have here!

If any of you have ever seen the old Star Trek movie “Wrath of Khan”, you’ll remember the moment when Khan’s second in command asks him why he insists on seeking retribution against Captain Kirk years after he’d been wronged by him. Khan’s response, with fists clenched, was, “He tasks me.”

Well, the dishwasher is Daisy’s Captain Kirk. It definitely tasks her.

Every time we put anything in it, she comes flying into the kitchen looking wide-eyed and expectantly between us and the dishwasher. “Is it going on, Mommy? Are you turning it on now? Can ya, huh huh huh?”

When we don’t turn it on, she gets a bit frustrated and sometimes grumbles.

But when we do turn it on….that’s when the show starts.

As soon as Daisy sees us open the under-sink cabinet and take out the dishwasher detergent, she goes into action. With an excited yip, she squeezes half of her body underneath the open dishwasher door.

Then, when we close the door, she waits for that telltale SNAP that tells her all systems are go and liftoff is imminent. She then stares at the Start button, and if we take too long to push it, she starts grumbling and yipping again.

As soon as we push it, she shoves her nose into the corner while the motor quietly hums and waits for the sound of water flowing into the dishwasher. This really intrigues her. With ears at attention, she investigates the corner, the front of the dishwasher, and the small area beneath the dishwasher door.

When she inevitably cannot solve whatever mystery she’s investigating, she looks up at us for an explanation.

It’s just too funny. Eventually she gives the dishwasher door a lick to match the nose marks she’s left, and she’s on her way. This happens every single time, day after day, week after week, month after….well, you get the idea. And with each passing week, she gets a little more excited and yippy.

Daisy leaves her mark!

Silly puppy! 🙂

25 responses to “Daisy and the Dishwasher

  1. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL she sure is silly. I wonder why she is so interested in the dishwasher?

    We get nose marks on our stainless appliances, only they are higher up!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I can’t figure it out. We used to have an old noisy dishwasher that didn’t bother her at all; now we have a new quiet one and it drives her crazy! Maybe she’s looking for the noise? LOL!

  2. Haha she is too cute! I love when the silliest things can hold a pet’s interest.

  3. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    How funny. It must be a lot of fun watching. Daisy do you think you will ever get it figured out sweetie? You did a great job leaving your mark! Hugs and nose kisses

  4. granny1947 says:

    Damn I love your dog…can I adopt her…please????????????

  5. Oh Daisy,

    You’re so funny!! What’s the big deal about the dishwasher?! I can’t say I’ve ever shown any interest in that…..

    Now the vacuum cleaner, that’s a whole different thing……

    Glad you’re having fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  6. lexy3587 says:

    haha – what a funny little quirk! i wonder why the dishwasher? hilarious, regardless 🙂

  7. The Hook says:

    My money is on Daisy!

  8. Dawn says:

    Daisy is so cute! You’ve got to get this on video. Like most people, I’ve had dogs go nuts over the noise of the vacuum cleaner. But the most interesting reaction to loud noises is the noise I make when I talk through a wrapping paper role. Maya loves it! She gets very hyper and playful when she hears me through the paper role.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We keep saying we have to get Daisy’s silly antics on video too, yet we never seem to actually do it!! My last dog used to go crazy when I talked through a paper tube too. Daisy, of course, just wants to tear the thing up. LOL

      • Oh, now this I have to try with our Miss Maple! I might just have to wait a while until our kitchen paper towels run out to get that tube. Should be interesting to watch Maple’s reaction 😀

      • raisingdaisy says:

        I’d love to hear what her reaction is!

      • Ok, I couldn’t resist and went about finishing the last few pieces of our kitchen paper towel roll today… Oh dear, I couldn’t contain my laughter when Maple heard my altered voice through the other end of the tube! The little one first tilted her head in curiosity, then later wagged her tail furiously before readying herself to pounce on me. This toy certainly has caught Maple’s interest!

      • raisingdaisy says:

        Haha take some pictures, I’ll bet she looked adorable! I’ve found paper towel rolls to be the most inexpensive form of puppy entertainment! 🙂

    • Dawn says:

      I’m glad this fun little game has brought such joy! I used to do it to the dogs around Christmas time when we had those long tubes left over from the wrapping paper. It has become sort of a tradition now!!! Every dog I have had since then has experienced my voice through a wrapping paper roll and all have had the cutest reactions. :0)

      • Dawn says:

        This all started when I was a little girl so there have been lots of dogs since then.

      • raisingdaisy says:

        I find that sometimes the simplest little games get the best reactions from dogs. We also used to pretend sword-fight with our dog when we were kids and she LOVED it! She’d jump around and nip at the end of the tube, play-growling and yapping. Then when we’d eventually throw the tube out, she’d watch it go into the garbage and walk away with a triumphant little trot. So cute! 🙂

  9. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    Daisy sounds nuts – but isn’t that JUST why we get these gorgeous puppies 🙂

  10. This is just positively adorable!!! LadyBug has an issue with our new refrigerator…kinda the same thing I guess! I love this!

    Have a great day!
    Chloe, LadyBug and the mama

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

