Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Naughty Mommy!

on September 6, 2011

I can’t believe I did it.
I lost Daisy.
Again.
We all know this happened before, but that time it was because she was somewhere she shouldn’t have been.
This time it was my fault.

I need some comforting after my harrowing experience!

I had gone into the laundry room and closed the door behind me when I left, like usual. It’s not a large room, yet I never noticed that Daisy had quietly followed me in there.

I closed her in the laundry room for what must have been 15 minutes.
Yes I did.

Naughty, naughty mommy.

On my behalf (if there is one), she’s mostly white and the laundry room is all white too. And she can tiptoe around like a phantom when she wants to.

I know, I know, that’s a ridiculous excuse. It didn’t fool my conscience either.

I suddenly realized I hadn’t seen her for a while, so I searched high and low – literally. High being up on the bed and couches, low being underneath the bed and tables.

I searched the whole house twice, calling her name, with no response. In true “mommy” form, I started picturing all kinds of scary scenarios – Daisy lying unconscious, Daisy having choked on something, Daisy with a broken leg after jumping off the couch wrong….you know the drill.

Then it struck me – I’d been in the laundry room. But it didn’t make sense – she didn’t respond when I called to her – no whining, no barking, no scratching at the door – and I didn’t see her in there.

How could you?!

So I opened the door and – POP! – out flew little Daisy, who then turned around and gave me the biggest look of reproval I’ve ever seen from a dog.

I don’t blame her a bit. The laundry room doubles as the “naughty room” when she does something naughty.

Bad mommy. I think I’ll give myself a 30 minute time out….

27 responses to “Naughty Mommy!

  1. Judy says:

    Unfortunately little dogs are easy to loose. Sometimes Tiffy is right next to be and if I’m not paying attention and get up to go somewhere I will accidentally lean on her and we both get a scare. These type of things never happened with any of my large dogs:) Happy to hear you found her:)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It would have been a real mystery if I hadn’t found her! I’m glad to hear that this is a common thing with small dogs.

      Hope you all made it through the hurricane without too much property damage!

  2. 2browndawgs says:

    I am always worried that I am going to lock the cat in the laundry room. She doesn’t have any business in there, but once in a while she sneaks in and I have to go and rescue her. I get the same look that you describe.

    I hope Daisy isn’t too traumatized by her laundry room stay. Did she at least fold a few items for you? lol

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL That’s the next thing I should train her to do!! 😉 She was fine as soon as she reclaimed her post snuggled up on the couch. Apparently soft blankets cure all ills! 🙂

  3. Oooops!! Glad Daisy was rescued from that cozy, warm room and given lots of treats hugs for her ordeal! 🙂

    I can’t get lost in ours, it’s not that big and anyway, Mum normally makes me wait outside and watch her so she doesn’t fall over me…..

    Whenever Mum doesn’t know where I am, the first thing that crosses her mind is I’m up to mischief!! Huh!? She never thinks I might be lost! Doh!

    Hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I think my mom also thinks I’m up to mischief at first, otherwise she wouldn’t be looking on the beds for me first (I’m not allowed up there!). I can’t say that I blame her, though, because I can be a pretty mischievous little pup when the mood strikes me…. 😉

  4. I wouldn’t feel too bad, at least I don’t, ha ha-maybe I’m the real naughty mom since I have no guilt. Yuki used to follow me (before dad became her favorite person), so closely I didn’t even know she was following me. She’s been locked in my bathroom and my closet, in complete darkness. Funny thing is i didn’t hear her bark. Anyone who knows yuki, knows she loves to bark and very loudly at that.

  5. bichonpawz says:

    I have this problem with LadyBug! She follows me everywhere and if I am not careful…well..she has been left in my laundry room!! The funny thing is she doesn’t cry or whine or anything to let me know she is in there!! She just patiently waits until I come and open the door! Hope your little one is not too traumatized!!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Daisy’s just fine, but I wonder if she realized she was left in there by accident or if she thinks she’d done something naughty! I can’t figure out why our pups don’t cry or whine when they’re accidentally left in a room – Daisy certainly isn’t the shy, quiet type (anymore!) and she can be quite rambunctious when she’s annoyed!

  6. The Hook says:

    Is Daisy half-ninja?

  7. granny1947 says:

    that reproachful look is hysterical!!!

  8. Oh dear! Well, ironically, I suppose this little incident might have come across as a lesson for Daisy. Perhaps Daisy thought she was ‘intentionally’ kept in the naughty room for 15 minutes because she sneaked in behind you without your ‘permission’. I wonder if Daisy would want to attempt another vanishing act after this event? 😉

  9. giselzitrone says:

    Kleine Hunde sind einfach niedlich und hier Blick Wünsche dir noch einen schönen Sonntag und Grusse dich lieb aus KölnGislinde http;//zitroneblog.wordpress.com

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you, and thanks for visiting!

      For my English-speaking friends, here’s the translation from Google Translate:

      Small dogs are cute and simple look here Wish you a nice Sunday and greeting you from loving KölnGislinde

  10. That reminds me of the time when I pulled out an under-bed storage box to add something to it and then shoved it right back. About an hour later I called to my little Shih Tzu to go out for a walk and heard no response. So, I looked all over the house and still didn’t find him until I went back into the bedroom and heard a little whimper coming from under the bed.

    It turns out that he made his way under the bed when I pulled out the storage box and by replacing it I also blocked his exit. Poor little guy was shaking uncontrollably when I pulled him out but do you think he stops running under the bed every chance he gets? Nope.

    So, yes. It’s very easy to lose these little dogs. Thankfully such losses are short lived.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      OMG! What a great story. Yes you’re right, we find our pups very quickly and there’s no harm done. It just seems so funny to me, after having had only large dogs in the past, to lose these little ones IN the house. 🙂

  11. Daisy, its certainly ok to give mommy a look like that, she did not mean it and your look is justifiable. I love you and so does mommy. It will never happen again. xoxo Jackie

  12. ILoveDogs says:

    I’ve done that with my dog Maya. I went down into the basement not realizing that she had come down too. When I realized she was missing I called her and called her. But she’s not one to whine or bark. It wasn’t until I heard a thump at the basement door that I realized where she was. Poor Daisy! Poor Maya! :0)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL Aw poor Maya (I love that name for a dog!). I don’t know why our dogs don’t bark to let us know where they are when they’re left behind; Daisy certainly lets loose about lots of other things! 😉

  13. lol, I have had this happen once before, too. I came home around noon and went to let the dogs out, and Tobi was nowhere to be found. She managed to sneak out without me even seeing her when I first came home and opened the door. My heart started to pound as I searched all over the house for her. When I went back outside she came running in. But she loves it outside, so she thought nothing of it. I was surprised how sneaky she was!

    Daisy’s look in the end is adorable 🙂

  14. Oh the poor darling. But don’t blame yourself too much Mommy. You love here so and she’ll understand it was all a mistake . Glad that the Hurricane didn’t cause you too much harm.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I figure that she did realize it was a mistake because even after that happened, she’s not afraid to follow me into the room. I think if she thought it was deliberate, she probably would stay far away from that room….like she stays away from her bathtub! 😉 Thanks for visiting!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

