Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

What do you get when you leave a man alone with a dog and a clipper?

on July 5, 2011

Man + Clipper + dog with long-haired ears that tend to mat = end result of:

Who knew her ears were so tiny under all that hair?!

Before the cut - which do you think looks better, long or short hair on her ears?

Woman + Clipper + long butt hair that tends to trap you-know-what = end result of:

Daisy's butt cut, a bit too much cut from the butt, I think....

21 responses to “What do you get when you leave a man alone with a dog and a clipper?

  1. yuki the dog says:

    ha ha, I know all to well cutting the hair around the butt area wrong. my husband and I have both attempted to be groomers from time to time, but we realized sometimes those jobs are best left up to the groomers. The ears came out good, yuki won’t let me get that close to her ears with anything-so I have to do those when she’s napping.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I was just so tired of cleaning Daisy’s bottom with Pampers Wipes after she’d poop that I guess I went a little overboard… On the plus side, though, nothing sticks there anymore! 🙂 LOL

  2. Daisy,

    I think you look adorable short hair or long hair!! So far I’ve avoided the ‘butt cut’ – I get hosed down after some walks if need be – I’m pretty cool with that, especially in this hot weather! 🙂

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you Snoopy! I expect my family will opt for seasonal lengths, as long as they can keep those mats from coming back….though they really like to “awww” over my puppy look! 😉

  3. The Hook says:

    This reminds me of the time I clipped one of our dogs – my wife was pissed!

  4. Is this how Daisy spent the holiday weekend? LOL!

    Oscar needs minimal grooming, but the hairs between his paws and the hairs around his bum are getting long… I haven’t attempted to give his butt a trim considering poop doesn’t get stuck in that hair trap. 😉

    P.S. I kind of prefer Daisy with long ears. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks for your vote, Pauline! I was mortified when I first walked into the house and saw the “chop job” – he hadn’t evened the edges out, so they were all choppy and different lengths. Just the mats had been cut out. I had to even them out so that at least she didn’t look like she was missing chunks of her ears!!

      I think we’ll probably let them grow in about half as long as they were to keep her from gnawing on the hair and forming mats. I was just so shocked to see how little those ears actually are! 😀

      You’re so lucky Oscar doesn’t need regular grooming!

  5. Judy says:

    I kind of like the short hair on the ears. Makes her look more “puppylike”.

  6. Mumsy says:

    We think you have a very cool new ‘do’. You look so cute!!! Hugs and nose kisses

  7. Kas says:

    I had to literally LOL as soon as I read the title. One time I asked Justin to keep clipping Evee while I went to grab a snack. I came back … poor Evee had a flattop. 😛

  8. lexy3587 says:

    I think she looks cute with the new cut. like the much younger puppy version of herself! Though she also looked adorable pre-cut… just probably a lot more work for grooming 😛
    This is why I found a groomer I felt I could trust before handing Gwynn over to his first hair-cut. And even so, he got wayyy too shaved in his… nether regions… and we could see his (for lack of less descriptive terms… sorry, you can delete this comment if it’s too inappropriate) empty ballsack hanging between his newly shorn legs in a creepy creepy way. Dog used to be so fluffy that he really could have been a boy or a girl… no being able to tell. his bits are far more out-there now.

  9. Being a hair dresser I often wonder if being a dog groomer would be more fun!!

  10. I think you guys did a great job! I quite like Daisy in her new short “bob” – it looks very summery. Daisy’s butt is certainly very glaring now (LOL), but I’m sure it makes for a hassle-free clean-up. We often have to trim around Maple’s fanny just to avoid the same kind of trapped mess, too.

    By the way, I’m shopping around for clippers and would love to find out your feedback on the one that you’re currently using. Thanks!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thank you! We use the Wahl Kennel Pro which comes with 16 attachments so you can control what length you want different areas of your dog’s hair. Plus there’s a video for instructions in addition to written instructions. We like it – and it saves us $50-$60 a month on grooming! (Daisy’s hair grows VERY fast.) 🙂

  11. […] year I wrote about what happens when you leave a man alone with an electric clipper and a dog. Daisy went from this: […]

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

