Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Lemon Plum, Anyone?

on June 29, 2011

We interrupt our usual Daisy posts to bring you this little touch of summertime fruit….. 😉

DH is off this week, and we’re trying to get a LOT done around the house in preparation for some big renovations this summer. I won’t have time to post as much as usual, but I did want to pass along a picture of one of the most unusual plums I’ve ever had:

This is a lemon plum. I’ve never seen one before or since we got this one at a local farm market. They always have some unique fruits in season at this wonderful place, and DD and I like to try almost every new thing we find there.

The lemon plum was fabulous! It started out summer-yellow and reddened to a luscious color as it ripened over the next couple of days. It actually did have a slight lemony taste mixed with the plum flavor – we loved it! And the fact that it was shaped like a heart just made it all the more appealing. 🙂

18 responses to “Lemon Plum, Anyone?

  1. Wow, the pic of that fruit is so good it looks good enough to eat right off the screen!!

    Hope you’re enjoying your busy week,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    I wish I’d taken a picture of the inside – it was so juicy and a gorgeous shade of red. We were so taken with the flavor that we completely forgot to take a picture for the blog! 😉

  3. Judy says:

    What an interesting looking fruit. I have to see if they have any in my area.

  4. Mumsy says:

    I have never heard of lemon plums nor have I ever seen any fruit so perfectly heart shaped. Most interesting. Hugs

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We’d never heard of them before either. They were there for a little over a week, then no more. I guess they either have a very short growing time or they’re hard for markets to get.

  5. Carly says:

    Looks like a happy little food! 🙂 Hope you’re having a good week!

  6. Mmm.. That lemon plum looks delicious! I’m a huge fan of lemon anything, so I’m sure I’d love the taste of that plum.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Ah, Pauline, I knew we had a lot in common – I love lemon anything too! In fact, my daughter just made me lemon pancakes with homemade blueberry sauce – they were amazing! 😀

  7. My favourite aspect of summer is indulging in all the fresh fruits and veggies! Thanks for sharing a picture (and description) of a lemon plum. Now I know what to look out for the next time I’m at the market 😀

  8. Kas says:

    It looks like a heart! 🙂 I would love to try one!! Now if only I can find one …

  9. The Hook says:

    Cool interruption!

  10. ennospace says:

    Are all the lemon plums heart shaped? It is really very special~

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

