Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy The Purple Paper Post-It Eater

on June 20, 2011

For a dog who’s so finicky about her food, Daisy sure isn’t finicky about her “snacks”.

Daisy is part goat, I’m convinced of it.

The other day, DD asked where her purple Post-It bookmarks were. We looked high and low, until Daisy walked innocently into the room with something weird looking sticking out of her mouth.

Hmmmmmm……

I reached down and pulled a purple Post-It bookmark out of her mouth – it looked like a dark cigarette dangling out of someone’s mouth! When I realized what it was, I opened her mouth and swept my finger over her tongue, where I pulled out a thoroughly soggy, scrunched-up Post-It that looked like a chewed wad of gum.

Chewed Post-Its....or what's left of them....

Uh ohhhhh……

I went into the family room – lo and behold, there was a thin pack of DD’s purple Post-Its lying on the floor, chewed and soggy. Around it was a bunch of smaller Post-It bits, again looking like chewed purple gum.

“I think I found your Post-Its….” I called to DD.

When she looked at them in horror, I knew something more was wrong.

“That was a full pack of Post-It bookmarks!”

“Are you sure?” I asked.

“I only used two of them! The pack was really thick!” She indicated at least half an inch with her fingers – at least.

“She couldn’t have eaten them!” We searched and searched – we shook out Daisy’s blankets as well as the blankets that protect our sofa from Daisy’s torturous nails; we looked under furniture and even in places where she couldn’t possibly go.

Nothing.

This silly puppy ate a WHOLE PACK OF PURPLE POST-ITS!! We were so worried! Immediately we went online and Googled “Are Post-Its safe for dogs to eat”. We thought it was a ridiculous query – and it was. Apparently Daisy is one of very few dogs who find Post-Its to be an irresistible culinary delight.

This is what we half expected Daisy to look like after her Purple Post-It dining extravaganza! 😉

There wasn’t any real help for this, so we followed the rule for dogs who eat a lot of paper – wait it out and see if they continue with normal eating and normal stools. If not, there could be a blockage.

Great.

We watched her like a hawk for the next 48 hours (we do a lot of hawk-watching since we got Daisy!). DD moved Daisy into her room for the next two nights so she could immediately hear if she vomited or anything else sounded wrong.

I’m happy to report that Daisy suffered no ill side effects from her exotic dining adventure. We were also concerned as to whether the purple pigment and sticky stuff on the back of the Post-Its could have any long-range toxicity issues. We’ll mention it to the vet at her regular appointment in September – I guess I know the story he’ll be telling at dinner that night!

16 responses to “Daisy The Purple Paper Post-It Eater

  1. Oh Daisy,

    You sure got busted!! What’s up, were you full and couldn’t eat the rest, if you had they’d never have known it was you! Tee hee

    I get it, I love paper too!! I love the rolls that kitchen paper comes on, but I just chew it and then spit it out and Mum cleans it up, I don’t think you’re supposed to swallow it silly!! 🙂

    Glad you were ok,

    Have a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yeah…. ::hanging head in shame:: I should have just scarfed the rest of them and no one would have been the wiser. Next time I’ll know better….if there is a next time – they keep putting stuff up out of my reach. But one day they’ll slip, I just know it…. 😉

  2. Judy says:

    Wow! Purple sticky notes!! She certainly makes interesting snack choices:) Happy to hear that she is okay.

  3. The Hook says:

    Some animals will eat ANYTHING! Maybe Daisy is part teenager!

  4. Carly says:

    Oh my goodness, Daisy! Ha, not the normal treat a pup would choose. I’m glad she seems to be doing well!

  5. Mumsy and Chancy says:

    I don’t think we have ever heard of sticky notes being a good thing to snack on before. Sure glad you are okay sweet Daisy and we hope you find a snack you enjoy that is even more tasty then those sticky notes and you will stay away from them. Chancy has chewed up paper before but no sticky notes…yet anyway…maybe he won’t find out they are fun to chew up and eat. lol Hugs and nose kisses

  6. yuki the dog says:

    I’m sure she’ll be fine, paper is natural after all…yuki is just like that though, she gives me such a hard time with eating her dog food. just the other day i caught her chewing off the end of my vacuum cleaner’s attachment. luckily for her i caught her and I’m pretty sure i got all the plastic pieces out of her mouth (hopefully). but there’s something about paper that yuki loves. toilet paper,paper towels, sheets of paper, especially my daughters homework…she could actually have that excuse ‘my dog ate my homework’.
    try to stay outta trouble daisy 🙂

  7. Maybe Post-It should consider branching into dog food. I’m sure Daisy would be an eager patron. 😉

  8. barb19 says:

    They must have tasted good to her!
    Glad she didn’t turn purple as depicted in the pic of her – it’s quite a nice look though, don’t you think? teehee!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

