Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Eureka! We Have A Destructo-Pup-Proof Winner!

on May 26, 2011

It’s true – there’s finally a toy that even Destructo Pup isn’t destroying!

Ladies and gentlemen – I present to you the Four Paws Rough and Rugged football! Daisy’s been playing with it for 4 days so far, and there’s not a scratch, gouge, or tooth mark on it!

For anyone who isn’t familiar with Daisy’s alter ego, Destructo Pup, this sweet  little character of ours has razor-sharp teeth and a steel jaw that have absolutely no mercy when it comes to toys. She’s decimated Kongs, Level 9 Tuffie Toys, and everything else we’ve put in her path.

She’s 15 pounds of pure Havachon Hell when it comes to toys (otherwise she’s a sweetheart!) and in less than a year, we’ve spent more money on toys than on dog food and treats combined. Nothing withstands her tenacity – Leave No Toy Unmauled is Daisy’s Motto No. 1.

BUT this football, advertised as “virtually indestructible”, withstood all of Daisy’s tests. In fact, when she couldn’t get a tooth-hold on the thing (after hours of trying), she stopped obsessing and now plays with it like a regular dog!

The football has jingly bells inside, so we always know where Daisy is (an added bonus!) when she’s playing with it, and she loves the sound it makes. Plus it rolls really well, so if she drops it while she’s running or walking, it gives her an automatic game of “fetch”!

Hmmm - finally a challenger I can respect!

Thank you Four Paws! We’ll be looking for more of your “virtually indestructible” toys! 😀

I love my new football almost as much as my family does! 😀

20 responses to “Eureka! We Have A Destructo-Pup-Proof Winner!

  1. Whoa! I’m impressed! I was really beginning to think there was nothing that the Destructo Pup couldn’t destroy. 😉

    Hopefully Four Paws sells an entire line of dog toys!

  2. Judy says:

    Finally a “Daisy Proof” toy:) She certainly seems to enjoy it.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yes she’s having a lot of fun with it – funny enough, she seems to have more “respect” for it, in that she stopped trying to gnaw the heck out of it and is instead just carrying it around and chasing it. Oh happy day! 😉

  3. Hey Daisy,

    That toy looks like lots of fun!! Personally I don’t get why you want to destroy your toys, cos then you can’t play with them? I like to play gently with mine and still have all my puppy toys, Dad just gets frustrated with how many I now have and wants to throw some away, but phew, luckily Mum won’t let him! 🙂

    Have fun my pal,

    Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I don’t know, Snoopy, I just can’t help myself. I know one other Bichon who’s also hard on her toys – maybe it’s a Bichon thing? I guess I just love my toys to death….much to my family’s dismay…. My mom says she wishes I’d treat my toys like you do!

  4. Kristen says:

    Impressive! We are quite lucky that Bailey rarely destroys his toys. Occasionally we throw some away, and he will often chew off an ear or something, but most toys stay in tact around here. Doesn’t mean we save any money though. It just means Bailey has a hundred toys lol

  5. Kas says:

    We will definitely have to try this toy! I wonder if it’s Diesel-proof, however … 😀

    • raisingdaisy says:

      We’ll keep our fingers crossed for you! Daisy put it through another round of grueling torture yesterday, but that football is still standing strong! I’m genuinely impressed!

  6. It’s hard to imagine Daisy being anything but sweet, but I’ll take your word for it. 😀

    Oscar’s never destroyed a toy to the point where it had to be thrown away. Just dainty tears here and there. 😛

  7. Oh my goodness, Daisy is the cutest thing with the football between her paws! Happy to hear that you guys have found a toy that Destructo Pup can enjoy… for a long while 😉

  8. barb19 says:

    I reckon this new football is going to be one of Daisy’s favorite toys – she can come back to play with it whenever she wants because she can’t destroy it! It’s always going to be there (hopefully lol)!
    Poppy has never destroyed any of her toys, she has her favorites and in particular a tiny ball with tiny beads inside it – she mouths it all the time but never chews it, and it’s the first thing she grabs at night to take to bed with her! She adores it.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s so cute! I can just picture Poppy doing that.

      I’d love it if Daisy could logically reason (not too much to ask, ya think?) that this toy remains a constant with her because she’s not destroying it, so she should take it easy on other toys she likes. LOL I don’t think I’m asking too much of her… 😛

  9. The Hook says:

    Glad to hear of the success!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

