Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

That Distant Memory of Sunshine….

on May 20, 2011

It seems like a distant memory – sunshine….birds….rain-free days….

So, to keep a positive attitude, here are some photos of a sunnier time (just last week!), and a blue jay who was seriously considering knocking on my glass door:

 

You know it's fun *to the max* when you can only get blurry pictures!

24 responses to “That Distant Memory of Sunshine….

  1. Ahhh – you and Judy capture such wonderful photos of your backyard creatures! That blue jay is simply stunning – those markings are beautiful!

    I’m with you on blurry photos, I used to immediately toss them, but it shows the “action” so well! I love how Daisy’s tail is flying up behind her!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s weird about the colors on birds, though – for some reason they come out a duller hue when I post them here. That blue jay was BRIGHT blue, which shows in my photo, but when I put it on WP it comes out more of a blue-gray. Strange.

      Anyway, I like how the blurred shots show how much fun Daisy is having – so much so that my stop-action setting doesn’t even stop the action! LOL My favorite part is how her ears are either standing up over her head or flying behind her. 😀

  2. Judy says:

    Beautiful photos. What type of flowers are those? They are so large and colorful, just gorgeous:)

  3. The Hook says:

    Happy, sunny days will be here agian, just you wait!

  4. Oscar and I are sending some sunshine your way! The weekend is expected to be a bit chilly because of the marine layer moving in, so I’m going to enjoy this beautiful weather while it lasts. 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Pauline! I’m holding out hope for a little sun over the weekend – they’re promising one day of 77 degrees, then back down into the 60s. That’s fine as long as there’s some sun!

  5. Kas says:

    “You know it’s fun *to the max* when you can only get blurry pictures!” SO TRUE! 🙂 That’s when we know we’re having tons of fun, right?

  6. Anna says:

    we hear ya, lots of rain here. River is VERY flooded. We will have a rain free weekend, well until sunday evening… first one in a long time.
    Old photos are great ways to stays sane in it all, too bad the dogs can’t enjoy them the same way
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Hi Anna! It’s scary when rivers flood; I’ve been seeing footage of it from different areas of the country. We’re lucky to live in an area where we don’t flood (only the backyard when it’s bad like this past week), but areas of our state do. Thanks for visiting!

  7. You have so many cute feathery visitors in your backyard. Blue Jays are my absolute favourite, though! Around here, we have some pretty exotic avian species that we can spot in the trees by our balcony… Parakeets, Lorikeets, and Cockatoos. Birds are fun to watch!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I love birds. When I get older and have to slow down (! the horror!), I might join a bird watching group. They go to some beautiful wooded mountain areas (where I used to hike) and take counts of eagles and other birds, then those counts are turned into agencies that gauge the impact of the environment on bird populations. I’m sure they’ll point out all kinds of species that I’ve only heard but never spotted!

      I’d love to live in an area with exotic species like you have, though!

  8. barb19 says:

    Great photos – the blue jay is such a beautiful bird, and I love the pink daisies for Daisy!

  9. I’m hoping you’re having a sunny weekend 🙂 I definitely think there’s more fun in the sun!! 🙂

    Daisy sure can run fast! Mum finds it frustrating too when she’s trying to get my pics and all she gets is a blur – I say she should just get a better camera, cos I’m not gonna slow down! Tee hee

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      LOL I don’t blame you Snoopy!

      Nope, no sunny weekend for us. Some sun on Saturday, then right back to gray skies and rain. We woke up to a downpour this morning, and more predicted along with thunderstorms. Geez!

  10. granny1947 says:

    Good Morning RD…the colours on that jay are incredible…I wonder if we get them here?

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Hi Granny! The blue jay pictures showed the birds for the brighter blue that they are, but when I posted the pictures here they came out a little more blue-gray. Don’t know why that happens.

  11. Pretty birds! And Daisy looks like she’s in puppy bliss – smiles and all! Hope you see some sun soon!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

