Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

The Command From Hell – “YOU Stay!”

on May 16, 2011

LOL It’s not as bad as it sounds! I don’t know how this got to be a regular part of our doggie commands, but it’s too late to turn back now! 🙂

I'm not moving until that oven door is CLOSED!

Whenever we want Daisy to sit and stay, that’s what we say – “Sit. Stay.” Nothing unusual there. This is always coupled with and reinforced by hand signals. And she does listen, even if we only use hand signals and say nothing.

I’ve suddenly realized, though, that whenever I mean business, I say, “YOU stay! YOU stay!” Where’d that come from?!

Well, today I remembered where it came from. When Daisy was younger but already understood the “sit” and “stay” commands, I was baking scones. I told Daisy to sit and stay in the doorway of the adjoining family room, which she was doing just fine. I had the oven door open and was pulling out a tray of scones when Miss Daisy decided she wanted to see what I was doing. Into the kitchen she trotted and rounded the corner by the oven just as I had the scone tray halfway out.

I panicked, immediately getting that one-second flash-vision of her burning her tongue or her little nose on the hot, open oven door. Or worse yet, in her typical Daisy-nuttiness, she’d just jump onto the door to get closer to the scone aroma, at least with her front paw.

I screamed, “NO DAISY!!!!” and tried to shove the tray back into the oven and close the oven door to protect her from burning herself….but the scones were on parchment paper and the whole sheet full of 9 scones slid forward into the oven, most of them going directly onto the heat coil (fortunately we replaced that oven not long after – no more coils!).

Well, the parchment immediately started burning, smoke came up from the cranberry-almond scones, the smoke alarm just outside the kitchen door started blaring, and I was yelling, “OH NO OH NO!” over and over.

Is it safe yet?

This scared the living heck out of young impressionable Daisy. I had an hour-long cleanup of scone chunks and crumbs from the kitchen floor, super-hot oven racks and oven door – after my first priority of pulling out flaming parchment without letting it hit the wood floor or me. During that time I know I was shakily muttering, “Oh no. Oh my gosh” and the like, which probably helped to further freak Daisy out, hearing all that distress.

Of course, there was a much longer cleanup inside the oven after it cooled down. Not fun.

Since then, whenever I start to open the oven door (even if the oven isn’t on), Miss Daisy high-tails it out of the kitchen with her ears flying behind her. I decided this was a good thing.

I capitalized on that by saying “YOU stay!” in what DD calls an “accusational voice” while I wanted her out of the kitchen. It’s worked, and when I say “good girl”, she knows it’s safe to come in and she’s going to get a little treat.

But DD pointed out the fact that anytime it’s a “take-me-seriously” situation, I automatically employ the “YOU stay” command emphatically, and I guess Daisy relates it to the Great Oven Incident of 2010, because she listens VERY well! LOL

So who trained whom? Did I unknowingly train her to take that command seriously or did she train me to give her a very firm command when there’s a potentially dangerous situation for her? LOL Either way, at least we understand each other! 😉

16 responses to “The Command From Hell – “YOU Stay!”

  1. We are the same way with Gus! He can definitely gauge the seriousness of our request by the tone of our voice.

    I think it’s great that Daisy knows when you give that specific command that you mean business!

  2. Judy says:

    Tiffy is the same way. You have to have a certain tone for her to listen otherwise she’ll run all over you:)

  3. The Hook says:

    Great post! Who really does train who?

  4. Kas says:

    Dogs are like kids, aren’t they? Our guys definitely know when we mean business … can’t they listen all of the time? 🙂

  5. Kristen says:

    Bailey also has his selective hearing. He knows when he needs to obey and when I will let things slide.

    He also responds much better to hand signals than vocal commands.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      That’s interesting. Daisy seems to respond equally to both, though sometimes when food is involved, a hand signal needs to be reinforced with a verbal command.

  6. So, just let me see if I get this right?! There’s a STAY command that you don’t really mean and we don’t have to obey! And then there’s a really serious STAY command that we do have to obey?! Just checking so I can tell Mum……. Tee hee

    Hope you’re having a fun day,

    Snoopy 🙂

  7. raisingdaisy says:

    Ohhh Snoopy – you’re one very clever pup! Who’d ever think there could be such cunning behind those sweet eyes?! LOL 😉

  8. You’re right! The “command from hell” really wasn’t as bad as it sounds. 🙂

  9. Daisy is one smart cookie to be able to differentiate between a casual “Sit-Stay” and a serious “YOU Stay” command. Maybe she gets flashbacks of the Great Oven Incident of 2010 whenever she hears the “YOU Stay” command—like the story in one of your earlier posts, dogs have memories!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      You know, that could be! Maybe she does get some kind of canine flashback – if not to The Incident itself, then maybe just the feeling she had that day that she associates with that command. Great idea! We’ll unravel the mysteries behind these doggie minds yet! LOL

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

