Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Mr. and Mrs. Cardinal Go To Dinner

on May 9, 2011

I just had to share this observation with you, even though it has nothing to do with Daisy.

George, I TOLD you we should have come earlier! 😉

Our bird feeder ran out of seed this morning. Naturally, DH put the big jar of seed away in a spot that’s inaccessible to me, so these poor birds will have to find another source for the day.

But a funny thing happened. The male cardinal landed on one of the perches, checked for food and, finding none, he cleverly hopped around to each perch on the four sides of the feeder, checking the openings on each side.

Discovering that his favorite food source had run dry, he looked around, then flew away. Seconds later, Mrs. Cardinal flew onto the perch and double-checked for food.

So I ask you – is the animal world any different than the human world when it comes to relationships? If a man goes into the fridge looking for milk and finds none, doesn’t the woman always go in right after to double-check his claim?

The only difference is that in the human world, the woman usually FINDS the milk that was staring the man in the face the whole time….

🙂

16 responses to “Mr. and Mrs. Cardinal Go To Dinner

  1. Oh my, that’s hilarious! I am very much a Mrs Cardinal and my husband the epitome of Mr Cardinal. I wonder if it’s because the fridge lights, upon opening the fridge door, blinds our Other Halves so that everything before them is a blur…

  2. OMG – hilarious!!! I’m with Happy.Bark.Days – I am a Mrs. Cardinal, too and am constantly following around behind Mitch to “double-check”. Good thing he’s patient and puts up with me! Lovingly, of course. 😀

  3. The Hook says:

    Great comparison between man and animal. Good work!

  4. Judy says:

    I love it! So true:)

  5. What a hilarious observation! I love how observing animals can give us insight about human beings. 🙂

  6. granny1947 says:

    Aren’t they beautiful?
    I never see such colourful birds around here.
    Where is Daisy today?

  7. barb19 says:

    I love your story of Mr & Mrs Cardinal – but it’s so true! It would seem that women are Mrs Cardinals through necessity!
    My hubby can never find anything in the fridge – if it’s not on the top shelf right under his nose, then it’s not there! Then I check . . . you know the rest!
    Animals and birds are like us in so may ways – that’s why I’m passionate about them!

  8. Kas says:

    Haha that was very cute … and very accurate. Justin constantly asks me, “Where’s the blah blah?” “It’s right there, Justin, where it always is.” “No it isn’t. Can you come look? … Oh.” 😛

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

