Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy Eats The Wall

on May 6, 2011

Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration. What I should have said was that Daisy ate a few chunks of the wall.

I was a baaaaad puppy....

DH is extremely handy around the house, and right now he’s replacing the shower walls in the master bath. He’s stripping the shower walls right down to the beams and even replacing the sheetrock with cement board, which is supposed to be better for bathrooms as it’s more resistant to mildew. (He’s not one to do things in half measures!)

Of course, Daisy has been ultra interested in all the unusual things being carted in and out of the house, plus the sounds of drilling, sawing, and hammering. Some sounds have her watching like a hawk, others have her running for the hills (especially the loud electric saw).

The first day of work, DH got pretty far. He stripped everything and replaced the sheetrock with the cement board. It was a very humid day and he got pretty tired from all those hours of work in such humidity. So, once the cement board was in place and he’d spackled all the joints, he decided to leave the cleanup for another day. All the bits and pieces were out of the way, so we could use the rest of the bathroom normally.

Daisy's Motto: Chew first, ask questions later!

I had a bad feeling about this.

I was working at the other end of the house when I realized things were too quiet. No Daisy. No eyes boring into me, no sleeping puppy at my feet, no sounds of Nylabone destruction.

Alarm set in.

I called to her. No response. Did DH remember to close the bathroom door when he finished working in there?

I raced to the other end of the house, and there was Daisy, standing in the middle of the bathroom, tongue flicking. O-M-G.

I don’t know how much debris was on the floor of the shower, but I know that one large, thick chunk of sheetrock was gone. It was about the size of a large Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. And there was that tongue, flicking with satisfaction.

I panicked. I pictured waking up the next morning and seeing Daisy’s limp body with froth covering her mouth. Or watching her get more and more lethargic over the course of the evening. Or vomiting up a storm. Should I just call the emergency animal hospital and see if she should get her stomach pumped as a precaution?

I'll just give Mom my Sweet Face and she'll forgive me anything!

Instead I consulted Ol’ Reliable – the internet. I looked up “dog eating sheetrock”, and shockingly, there it was – plenty of references. What I found out is that some dogs actually chew walls – intact walls – because of a lack of calcium in their diets. Imagine that!

There are also dogs who do it for attention or because they don’t have adequate chew toys.

So why did Daisy do it? Because it was there. It was small, on the floor, and therefore hers. She doesn’t normally chew intact walls (thank goodness!), but anything on the floor is fair game to her.

So from now on DH has to either clean up after himself when he’s doing a project or shut the door behind him. And I’ll try to panic less when he inevitably forgets to do either. πŸ˜‰

UPDATE: Daisy was fine after her sheetrock snack. No after-effects at all. In fact, this silly puppy keeps running up to the bathroom door (which I now keep closed tight!) and sniffing hard underneath it, clearly wanting to return to the scene of the crime. What a nut!

19 responses to “Daisy Eats The Wall

  1. barb19 says:

    Must have tasted good if she keeps sniffing at the bathroom door!

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    I guess so – though you’d never think that by the smell of the stuff!

  3. Oh no! Destructo-Pup has struck again!

    One of my brother’s dogs, Little Debbie, used to chew the walls all the time – intact walls! They quickly did some research and found ways to keep her occupied.

    I’m positive you couldn’t have stayed mad long – that photo is soooo precious!

    P.S. Thanks for the kind words of encouragement. We’ve been pretty stressed as of late, and it’s so nice to read your words. It truly means a lot to us. Who knew we would make such fantastic friends when we started our blog?!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I’d be much more upset if Daisy chewed our intact walls – what a mess! We’d have to spray every single one with Bitter Apple. Ugh.

      I actually wasn’t mad, I was worried. REALLY worried. Who knew sheetrock was made mostly of calcium?! :O

      Stress is bound to happen with an undertaking like your trip, but it’s going to go fine and you’re going to have a GREAT time. You guys are working hard to get all the details down beforehand – you even have a trusted dog-sitter with you! I’m sure it’ll be the trip of your dreams and you’ll be SO glad you did it!

  4. granny1947 says:

    Shame on you…you obviously don’t feed your pooch!
    Love that last picture.
    butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth!

  5. Judy says:

    If she were a boy dog you could call her Dennis the Menace:) Seems like she’s always getting into some kind of mischief. I love the face she makes when she’s done something wrong…very cute:)

  6. OMG, I would have freaked out if I found Oscar eating sheetrock. I’m just so worried about what goes into his little belly. I, too, rush to Google in the hope of finding information and advise. I mean, reallyβ€”what DOESN’T the Internet address?

    I’m glad everything turned out well for Daisy! πŸ™‚

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Pauline! It was a relief when I read that sheetrock isn’t harmful, but I wasn’t completely relieved until 24 hours went by and everything was fine. What’s next?!

  7. Kas says:

    Uh oh, Daisy! Glad she’s ok! Puppies eat the weirdest things sometimes, don’t they?

  8. Oh, yeah, Maple used to take chunks out of our wall. Thank goodness she’s over that now…she probably realized that paint and plaster don’t settle very well in her tummy. Glad to hear that Daisy came out of her sheetrock-eating experience without any tummy troubles—what a lucky adventurista she is!

  9. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I think he is a “stinker’ and yes did the Sheetrock chew for fun. What an adorable face Daisey has in that picture. I would of been worried sick. Thanks for sharing your experience as others have had problems too. We need to hear these things concerning our pets that we LOVE so much.

  10. The Hook says:

    Keep that dog well-fed, for God’s sake!

  11. Hey Daisy,

    I guess just because Dad was taking a rest didn’t mean you were going to, hey?!

    I always get busted when I’m too quiet as well – I figure I’ve got very limited time if I’m gonna get up to mischief, you’ve gotta get in and out real fast!! Tee hee

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

