Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Dog Outsmarts Chipmunk

on May 3, 2011

A friend of mine has a Basset Hound mix, but this big guy is 90% Basset, complete with l-o-n-g floppy ears and sad, droopy eyes. He’s a sweetheart but also a hunter at heart, and he’s got the patience and cunning to prove it.

Basset Hound image via Wikipedia

Several years ago, he was in his backyard when a chipmunk dashed by. This was unacceptable. He took off after that poor little thing hitting speeds we didn’t know his stubby little legs and heavy body could even manage.

Chipmunk escaped, but Dog never forgot. Every single day after that, he went into his yard and planted himself in a position to monitor Chipmunk’s comings and goings. Sometimes he gave chase, sometimes he just watched with the eyes of a ninja. The wheels were turning.

Whenever he gave chase, Chipmunk would cut his trip across the yard short and disappear into a downspout. Dog would bark and bark and BARK at the opening, pawing at the spout until his owner finally took him inside.

This dog would NOT be bested. One day, he lay in the grass like a lion, watching and waiting. When Chipmunk made his appearance, Dog chased him as usual, forcing Chipmunk into the downspout.

This was no longer a good strategy for Chipmunk. Dog had a plan.

Using his powerful jaws, he clenched and chewed and forced and worked until he closed that downspout completely, trapping Chipmunk inside.

Unfortunately my friend didn’t realize what had happened for a few days, when rain started spilling out of her rain gutter. Sadly, it was too late for Chipmunk. It was also too late for the downspout. It suffered beyond repair and had to be replaced, and of course she put wire mesh over it to prevent future incidents at the hands – or should I say jaws – of her beloved Hunter.

And the moral is: Never underestimate the canine spirit. Especially when it’s mixed with instinct. 😉

11 responses to “Dog Outsmarts Chipmunk

  1. Uh oh! Very smart dogger, indeed. Their memory and determination always amazes me!

    RIP, chipmunk.

  2. Kas says:

    Very smart pup. No matter how domesticated they may seem, that canine instinct is always there!

    I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but Diesel has killed one robin and one squirrel. (Both times I cried and it happened so quickly I couldn’t do anything!) We had a little memorial/burial service each time … I know, I’m crazy.

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I don’t think you’re crazy! You love animals just like we do. It’s always sad to see anything bad happen to any of them, even if it’s part of nature’s plan. That’s one reason why I can only watch the first portions of nature shows on PBS – as soon as they introduce the predator, I’m outta there!

      • Kas says:

        I just realized that after telling my dogs’ dark hunting secrets (between Evee and Diesel), it sounds like I have a pack of wild wolves … oops haha!

  3. Judy says:

    Wow. That’s one determined hound dog. My friend has a Basset. I don’t believe he ever showed an interest in chipmunks, he prefers to hunt and eat house plants instead:)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      He really is determined! Once when I was dog-sitting him, he chased and cornered a ground hog. Nothing I said (screamed) or did could deter him. He actually did attack the ground hog; luckily it survived, but he did get a lot of battle wounds. The dog had only one small scratch on his nose. I never let him run in the yard off the leash again!

  4. Oh No, poor little Chipmunk……

    I chase the squirrels, the birds and if I could the cats – I just want to play though…….so far I haven’t caught anything, still practising…..

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • raisingdaisy says:

      My last dog chased everything too, but the one time she actually caught up with a lame bird she stopped short, which caused her to flip head-over-heels. She sniffed it and then left it alone. After that, she never actually got up-close-and-personal with anything she chased, she always stayed at a distance – I think she was just in it for the fun! 🙂

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

