Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy’s Easter Treat

on April 25, 2011

Easter was bountiful and fun here in the Daisy household – we hope yours was too!

Our traditional roast lamb and potatoes.

As a rule, we don’t give Daisy any table food. There are plenty of reasons for this, one of which being that she has a sensitive tummy and we never know what might set it off.

As a young puppy, we discovered that she was allergic to chicken – both actual chicken and dog food made with chicken. (Which is kind of weird since she can eat eggs with no problem.)ย  She got a nasty rash on her belly from chicken dog food, and real chicken made her….shall we say, extremely aromatic, and in such a bad way that it made everyone want to leave the house.

She eats a beefy dog food now with no problem, but the one we use was only at one store locally and is no longer available, so once we reach the end of this bag, we’ll have to switch.

We thought we might want to move to a lamb dog food (no reason in particular), but we wanted to make sure lamb wouldn’t upset that delicate little Daisy tummy. So on Easter Sunday, Daisy got quite a treat – five small pieces of roast lamb from our Easter dinner.

If I say that I couldn’t even get the camera in focus before she vacuumed up those five pieces, I wouldn’t be exaggerating! They disappeared without any chewing at all – zip! – just like that. And no bad after-effects either!

YUM YUM YUM!!

She also got another treat. DD had a strawberry Italian ice and decided to let Daisy lick the inside of the cup afterward. As you can see, she just immersed her face in that cup and didn’t surface until DD pulled the cup away! It was spotless!

This was Daisy’s first Easter, and we felt particularly blessed to have her join our celebration. ๐Ÿ™‚

One contentedly pooped Easter puppy.

11 responses to “Daisy’s Easter Treat

  1. Scriptor Obscura says:

    Awww…Daisy sure got a treat! ๐Ÿ˜€ Looks like she really enjoyed her Easter this year!
    Glad you and your family had a good Easter weekend.

  2. Kristen says:

    I’m sure Daisy enjoyed her treat. Bailey is on a lamb based food and he does great on it. We feed him the Taste of the Wild lamb formula which is great because Lamb is the only protein source, so its good for dogs with allergies (which Bailey also has).

    Hope you enjoyed your first Easter, Daisy!

  3. YUM!!! Your roast lamb looks soooooooo good. Can you believe that Mitch and I had Carl’s Jr. for lunch yesterday?! That’s what happens when you’re 1,000 miles away from your family!

    So glad to hear that she was able to enjoy her special treat with no side effects. What a lucky little girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. granny1947 says:

    I would also have scoffed down lamb…yum,yum!

  5. Kas says:

    Yummy, yummy!!! Glad to see that Daisy enjoyed her Easter dinner and Happy 1st Easter with Miss Daisy ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Judy says:

    The roast lamb looks divine.. You’ll have to give me your recipe:) Happy to hear you had a wonderful day… Daisy certainly looks happy.

  7. barb19 says:

    Happy first Easter Miss Daisy! No wonder she scoffed down the lamb – it looks yummy! I’m glad that Daisy had no after effects, so now you can include it in her diet.
    When I found out years ago what commercial dog food was made of, I stopped buying it for my dogs and started making my own food for them. You might want to try it for Daisy as her last bag of beefy dog food will not be available after you finish your last bag.
    I buy cheap cuts of steak (look out for it when it’s on special), lamb’s liver and heart sometimes cut it all up into bite size pieces when I get home. This is the worst part because it takes a while. I’ve already cooked rice or pasta, and any veg that I have, and cooled it. Mix it together and divide it into meal size portions and freeze it. That way you will always have fresh meat for her.
    I defrost it an hour before I feed Poppy, then I stick it in the microwave for 10 secs which half-cooks the meat. Sometimes I give it to her raw – which she prefers! Poppy also likes chicken so I have some portions with chicken, rice and veg.
    Just a suggestion.
    Daisy reminds me so much of Poppy. I will have to do a post on her I think!

  8. Lyndatjie says:

    Daisy is just such a beautiful dog! That little face is not something I would ever be able to say no to…. cute!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

