Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy’s Disgusting New Habit….Yuck….

on April 20, 2011

What’s with dogs and bathroom trash pails?

The Stare.

Years ago, I used to dog-sit my friend’s terrier mix, a sweet dog who was a rescue. She had some weird habits from who-knows-what in her past, but one thing she always did was pull every single tissue out of the bathroom garbage, pull them apart, and spread them out all over the house.

Yuck. Really gross. So I started making sure the bathroom doors were shut tight when she stayed with us.

I couldn’t figure out what made those tissues so appealing, and I still can’t. But now Daisy has started showing an interest in the bathroom trash too. She doesn’t take everything out and spread tissues all over the place, but she does pull out a single tissue, which I find somewhere in the house. Unchewed, just sitting there. Could be anywhere.

Could be embarrassing when someone drops in and there’s a bit of trash on the hall carpet. 😦

But almost all canine antics have a funny side – I always know when Daisy’s done the deed because she stands stock still in one specific spot in the middle of the dining room. She doesn’t move when I walk by, she doesn’t respond when I talk to her, she just stares at me. It’s like she’s saying, “You’re not going to be very happy with me in a couple of seconds….”

Let's see if you can figure out what I did and where I did it....

She’s not scared or worried, it’s almost like she’s anticipating the moment I find the tissue and wants to see what I’ll do.

So now I know her new “tell”, and when I see her standing there staring at me, I say, “What did you do!” And still she doesn’t flinch. I hunt around and inevitably find the displaced tissue, waving it at her and saying, “Naughty! NO NO!” and still she stands there staring at me, ears up, tail up, just waiting for me to throw the tissue away. As soon as I emerge from the bathroom, she goes on her merry way.

I think we should rename her “SillyPuppy”. 🙂

12 responses to “Daisy’s Disgusting New Habit….Yuck….

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966 says:

    Silly puppy. Loved it. Cats take our toilet paper all around the house, dump pop cans, and do all sorts of silly things. Laughter is medication to heal, so we allow such goofy behavior in our house. Great post and I love silly!

  2. The more I read about your Daisy, the more I see the same personality emerge in Maple! Maple gives us the exact same look—the look of defiance. After having done something she shouldn’t, she would walk over our way and give us that look that seems to say, “I’m naughty and adorable at the same time, so what are you going to do about it?” Then, just like Daisy, she’ll trot off in the most dignified manner 😐

  3. She is such a character!! It’s almost as if it’s a game to her and she is just waiting to see how long it will take you to notice. I adore Daisy’s mischievous ways. 😉

  4. Judy says:

    Daisy certainly is a mischievous puppy. I don’t remember Tiffy being too mischievous although she did like to chew on choice pieces of furniture and wires (scary). Her new love is Nerf darts, so we have to make sure none are left on the floor after an inevitable Nerf War Battle:) Tiffy does have that “I did something wrong look” though. These furry little people of ours are so funny at times:)

  5. Carol says:

    My Bailey does the same thing. It is almost as though she is tattling on herself.

  6. barb19 says:

    Haha – she is a silly puppy, mischievious too, but if it gives you a laugh then go with the flow! It’s a great game to her!
    Our fur babies give us so much pleasure just by having them around, don’t they?

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

