Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Breakfast in Bed for Daisy? I Think NOT!!

on April 15, 2011

What am I, a maid? A servant? I think Daisy’s trying to be Queen Bee again.

You can serve my dinner to me here, my good man.

Lately she’s been acting very strangely at mealtimes, especially at dinner. Our routine is that once we put her filled bowl down, she has to sit and wait until we say “okay”, indicating that she can go eat (maybe 5-10 seconds, no longer). That worked fine for months.

All of a sudden, she’d just keep sitting there after we’d tell her “okay”. Just sitting there, staring at us. We knew she was hungry because she did her little excited prancing routine while we served up her food, ears high, eyes wide, tail wagging. But when we said “okay”, she just sat there, as if it had to be her decision when she’d eat, not ours. A very “Daisy” thing to do.

She wouldn’t go to her bowl until we left the room. Then the crunching began.

Oh, water boy! I need a fill-up here, please!

Now she’s escalated that to a new level. I think she wants to be served meals on the couch! When we’re getting her food, she gets excited, but then she goes onto the couch, lies down, and waits. Expectantly. Watching our every move. Daisy the hawk.

We say “okay”, she just sits there. We leave the room….no crunching….she’s still sitting there. Looking at us expectantly. Waiting. The Queen Bee. Bring me my food, there’s a good chap. And exit backwards, please, bowing as you go.

What’s next? Breakfast in bed? Dinner by candlelight? Supper by the fire? I think this little Havachon is going to have to “ruff it” and keep eating her meals on the floor from her pretty little silvery bowl on the pretty little silvery mat. Life is tough sometimes….LOL!

8 responses to “Breakfast in Bed for Daisy? I Think NOT!!

  1. What?! What a nut!! That is such funny behavior. I wonder what she’s thinking??

    Although, I don’t blame her. Dinner served on the couch sounds like a pretty good plan to me. 😉

    • raisingdaisy says:

      It’s a good deal if you can get it! Daisy tends to push for these little “luxuries” – we always think she was a very “entitled” human in another life! LOL

  2. Judy says:

    I had a German Shepherd that I would feed that way using those commands. He would definitely wait until I said okay. He never did what Daisy is doing though. Perplexing??? However, I’ve come to believe that little dogs are VERY different from their larger canine counterparts and act more like little people than dogs. I guess it’s just part of life with a little dog:)

    • raisingdaisy says:

      I agree, small dogs are a whole other world from large dogs. All these little quirks and antics certainly do keep us entertained, though – we’re having so much fun with her!

  3. barb19 says:

    She’s trying to best you again! It must be hard to resist that little face looking at you, but keep doing what you always do, and she will get the message about eating in her ‘normal’ place! She is so cheeky!

  4. granny1947 says:

    Oh my word…she has you taped!!!

  5. Kristen says:

    Daisy sounds like such a character and little princess! Glad you stuck to your guns although I imagine it is hard not to give into her sometimes. She is awfully cute!

  6. *gasp* Eureka! And here I thought our Miss Maple was just being a tad over the top. Daisy’s behaviour sounds so much like Maple who, in the past, would wait patiently by her food bowl before we gave the ‘OK’ command. Now, Maple sits (sometimes she stretches out on the floor, depending on her mood) several feet away from the food bowl, waiting for us to get out of sight before she goes for her meal. But, the couch? We’ll have to wait and see!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

