Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Cats, cats, cats! Driving Daisy Crazy!

on March 30, 2011

I’m on a rant today. And I know it’s not going to be popular with everyone.

We have a neighbor who adopts stray cats, feeds them, and lets them wander through the neighborhood. They have no collars or ID, and they are BIG. Really big. Much bigger than Daisy, who’s 15-20 pounds.

When those cats come by, I'll give them a piece of my mind!

They drive Daisy and other dogs in the area crazy (who in turn drive their owners crazy) when they saunter through our yards, casting narrow-eyed glances that carry an attitude akin to thumbing their noses at these poor dogs. Meanwhile, the dogs are going ballistic barking and lunging at windows and glass doors as these cats meander along, stalking birds and chipmunks, and engaging our frenzied dogs in staring contests.

And when I say these cats are BIG, I mean you could easily mistake them for small cougars. It’s freaky.

They also pee all over everyone’s landscaping, killing bushes left and right. They brazenly come up to sliding glass doors, peering in as if hoping to get more food, even though they’re fat as pigs. We can’t even leave our sliding glass doors open because our dogs might literally rip through the screen doors to get at these cats.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love animals and I believe in animal rights for any and all creatures (except spiders….yuck). It’s not the cats’ fault, it’s the owner’s. I believe that if you have cats, you should take as much responsibility for them as dog owners take for their pets. We don’t let our dogs poop in other people’s yards, so why should we have to clean up cat poop?

I have a friend with 4 cats and a cousin with 6 cats. Neither of them allows their cats to wander the neighborhoods. My friend keeps her cats indoors, and my cousin has a small area outside with super-high fencing that the cats can’t climb. She planned it out so there are no trees they can use as ladders either. That’s what I’m talking about – responsibility for their pets and respect for their neighbors.

Even the Taunting Squirrel isn't as bad as Daisy's reaction to the cats.

Several years ago, one neighbor circulated a petition to have this inconsiderate neighbor keep her cats restricted to her property. Everyone, and I mean everyone, signed it, and within a couple of months, the cats were no longer to be seen. Now there’s a new batch.

I might add that this inconsiderate neighbor’s house is the armpit of the area. Everyone here takes pride in the appearance of their properties….all except her. Both inside and out is a pigsty.

Her carpets are urine-stained. When the cats are indoors, she lets them sleep in pots in her kitchen cabinets, and I’ve seen her use those pots directly after chasing a cat out, without even washing it first. That was years ago, before I realized what a terrible person she was. I certainly haven’t been in there since. Oh, I could tell you stories that go far beyond the cat issue and border on the criminal….

Anyway, I don’t want to punish the cats for the inconsideration of their owner. Does anyone know of a way to deter cats from coming into a yard (our yards are big – about an acre) or at least a way to keep them away from landscape bushes and plants?

Rant officially over. For now.

5 responses to “Cats, cats, cats! Driving Daisy Crazy!

  1. Oh, that’s tough. There was a problem like this in our town, and somebody was shooting them. Not the way to make it better, that’s for sure. Have you thought about gathering a group of four or five people and going over and talking to her? It sounds like she has some issues of her own. Hope it gets better, and Miss Daisy stays safe!

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Yikes! I’d never resort to hurting any animal, that’s just awful! Yes, she sure does have issues. I doubt I could round up anyone who’d want to go talk to this woman, even in a group, but thanks for the suggestion!

  2. Judy says:

    Sorry to hear you are having such troubles. I found this article on EHOW that might be helpful. It talked about motion activated sprinklers to certain non toxic sprays that can be applied to plants in the yard or grow plants that are repulsive to cats such as peppermint, lavender or lemon grass. We don’t have any trouble with cats, just lots of deer that eat the flowers and certain vegetables so I can’t offer any hands on knowledge of my own. The article however did seem helpful and I hope some of the suggestions can be useful to you.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4470930_keep-stray-cats-out-yard.html

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Thanks Judy! I’ll check it out. We have peppermint growing on the side of our house, but they just walk right past it. I guess we’d have to let it spread throughout the whole lawn!

  3. Oh no! We actually have the same problem within our subdivision. There are several homes (including our neighbors) who let their cats wander. Our yards are all fenced within our subdivision, but it definitely doesn’t stop them from coming into our yards to poop. It’s nasty.

    Do you think another petition would work? I agree, it sounds like she has issues. I’m so sorry…keep us posted, I hope to read in a couple weeks that the cat problem has been solved!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

