Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

I Hate Appliances!

on March 11, 2011

Any increase in consumer spending is because of us. Right now – unfortunately – we’re boosting the economy single-handedly.

All of our kitchen appliances decided to die at the same time. I swear they’re in cahoots with each other.

Hey! What's all the rucus about?!

First the range went. Okay, it was 20 years old, but it was an all-in-one stove/oven/microwave, so that meant two new units. And a big patch of unfinished bare wall now exposed between the two.

Which means we have to redo the entire section  between the upper and lower cabinets around the entire work side of the kitchen. Trust me, we have no other option.

They tell me this will be good for resale. I’ll hold on to that thought.

Then I discovered lakes developing in the refrigerator. Both of the frozen and unfrozen varieties. The fridge had reached the end of its 10-12 year life….in 9 years.

Not to be outdone, the dishwasher started making weird straining sounds, and nothing coming out of it had that sparkling look that it should.

All. At. Once.

See what I mean? Cahoots. There must be Appliance Retirement Meetings going on in here after dark that we can’t even fathom.

Daisy using me as a perch to look out the window from the bed.

The stove and microwave have been installed; stove’s fine, microwave is too high. The cabinet above it is too small (it was purchased to suit the previous unit) and needs to be replaced. Which means another visit by the installer/electrician, which means another fee.

The fridge, so far, is doing fine. However, the cabinet above it is too big and has to be replaced. Apparently, they tell us, fridges are now bigger than they used to be nine years ago. Huh.

There is a BIG gaping hole where the dishwasher should be. Why, you ask? Because this 50 year old house was built by one of those rapid-fire crooked builders who put homes up faster than rabbits multiply. He’s been sued multiple times.

The major dishwasher plumbing pipe was plopped into the cement slab in a weird place so that only GE and Frigidaire products can fit in the space. We bought a Kitchen Aid. I LOVED this new unit. But yesterday the installer, who tried and tried to make it work, could simply not fit this beautiful dishwasher around the stupid pipe. It would cost $5,000 to move it 3 inches.

I want the economy to recover, but not that badly.

So back it went, and we now have a nasty gap in the cabinets where the dishwasher should be. Which means an unexpected trip back to the appliance store to pay big bucks for a dishwasher I don’t even want. On a weekend with no sales. Wonderful.

Daisy was a trooper thought all the deliveries. The gratuitous photos here are of her during the various deliveries. I kept her in the master bedroom while DH stayed with the delivery and installation guys. She was On Guard, growled a bit, barked a bit more, but mostly she was just doin’ her curious canine thing. She did herself proud.

I need an Advil.

6 responses to “I Hate Appliances!

  1. Tiff says:

    Wow! That’s truly something! I found myself laughing while reading your post and it’s not because I do not sympathize with you…truly I do. It’s just that I thought I was the only one in the 21st century with a 20 year old range…mine’s a Caloric. However, the difference between us is that I am hoping mine will die soon and if it doesn’t we are replacing it this year anyway. I’m also on my 2nd dishwasher in 8 years and this one needs to be replaced again (It’s a hard water issue in our case.) I’ve been doing a lot of hand washing lately or delegating the task to whomever will do it. As far as the refrigerator goes, my GE Profile is holding up well, but it is a bit on the small side. I don’t believe that they are making refrigerators larger…at least not in my case. I am thankful that I have another one downstairs to hold the overflow of food on occasion. Best of luck with your new appliances and thanks for the great post…you really put a smile on my face… I can definitely relate to your plight…

    • raisingdaisy says:

      Our old range was a GE – what a workhorse! There still are some small fridges out there, but all the salespeople told us that generally, they’re making refrigerators and dishwashers larger now – to the point where buyers have had to redo their entire kitchen cabinet areas just to fit the new appliances in! I guess we should consider ourselves lucky….so far!

  2. OMG. I am so sorry! Talk about major dollars being spent. I’m with Judy, I found myself chuckling while reading your post. But only because it was so well written!

    We can relate to builder blunders. It seems everything in our house (only 6 years old) was installed with brands that cannot be found anywhere else, which has resulted in numerous failed attempts when things needed to be replaced. In the six short years we’ve lived here, we’ve had both the refrigerator and freezer side repaired, the microwave replaced, the heating element in our oven replaced, dishwasher repaired and just two weekends ago we had to replace our garbage disposal! Ugghhhh!!! Keep in mind that it’s only M and I in the house and we are by no means hard on our appliances. And that’s just the kitchen!

  3. What a bummer! Is this what you would call a Murphy’s Law – everything going out at once? Really hoping you find an unexpected sale!

  4. barb19 says:

    It sure is Murphy’s Law! Sorry to hear all of your appliances are dying one after the other, all ganging up on you! Those kind of things happen to us all the time!
    I see Daisy behaved during all the comings and goings with workmen etc., doing her duty, standing on guard (albeit on top of you!)

  5. granny1947 says:

    Of course they are in cahoots….how to send humans crazy!!!

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

