Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

Daisy Hates Emeril!

on March 8, 2011

I usually make my own broths, but I didn’t have time yesterday to whip up a vegetable broth so I could use it in a new recipe. (We love trying new foods, so I made a dish called Spicy Ethiopian Red Lentil Stew – it’s vegan, very healthful, and served over Basmati rice – and it was delicious!)

Anyway, I bought a container of Emeril’s organic vegetable broth and set it on the kitchen counter. Daisy was playing around on that side of the kitchen for a while, when about 10 minutes later, out of the clear blue, I hear the sound of panicky doggy claws racing in place, trying to make a mad escape from some Dreaded Foe.

I turned around and saw her legs racing, trying desperately to get traction on the wood floor, ears disappeared behind her head, and her eyes open so wide in horror that I thought the Devil himself was behind her. I wish I could have had a picture of that!

She finally got traction and ran into the family room. Then she came cautiously back into the kitchen, stretching her neck like a giraffe to peek around the pantry and starting a major high-pitched, angry barking campaign directed right at the Emeril package on the counter. I thought it was just another case of That Which Did Not Belong, but this was a different type of barking. And her antics were different too – a few barking steps aggressively forward, followed by a race back out of the room.

This played out over and over and over again. I finally put the package out of her sight. Later, I took it out again, which restarted the whole frenzy even though I was holding the package. I said “Nice package. See? It’s okay” over and over, to no avail. She wasn’t having any of it.

The cautious sniff...

So I put it on the floor and got the camera. One cautious sniff and she was off again. This has never happened with anything before, the only difference is the picture of Emeril on the front. Hmmmmm…..

I think Daisy hates Emeril!

I will NOT come any closer to That Thing!!

7 responses to “Daisy Hates Emeril!

  1. Perhaps she’s not a big fan of that spicy style cooking or she dislikes the “BAM”.. 🙂
    I guess we’ll never know unless she tells us…

  2. That is so funny! So the carton didn’t fall on the floor or anything, she just didn’t like the way it looked? Hmmm…maybe Daisy knows something about Emeril that we don’t!

    P.S. Your lentil stew sounds SO yummy!

  3. raisingdaisy says:

    Nope! No falls, no noises, just Daisy taking an instant dislike to Emeril. She can be such a nut!

    The lentil stew was yummy indeed! 🙂

  4. barb19 says:

    We have instant dislikes to stuff, so why not dogs? Especially dogs like Daisy! 😉

  5. leonabriggs says:

    They say dogs are good judges of character, so hmmmmm?

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

