Everyday Adventures in Havachon Heaven

The Good, Crazy, & Adorable Life of One Havachon Puppy

FDA Pet Food/Treats Recall Site

on March 2, 2011

An email recently reminded me that there are almost as many pet food recalls as there are human food recalls. That jolted me a bit because unless it’s something hugely newsworthy (like the major Blue Buffalo recall), we don’t generally hear about it.

Treats are just as vulnerable as food, which is something I didn’t realize. I found the FDA website with all the latest pet food/treat recalls, so I thought I’d share that with you here. I’ve bookmarked the site so I can check it every couple of weeks to make sure nothing in our pantry is on the list.

It also tells you what ingredients are banned (I’ve heard  you can occasionally find an old bag of food being sold somewhere with a banned ingredient), why a food was recalled, and more.

Better safe than sorry!

5 responses to “FDA Pet Food/Treats Recall Site

  1. tiffy40 says:

    Great Info… Thanks for sharing:)

  2. Ugghh…it’s always scary to see how long the list is. Thanks for sharing, I’m bookmarking so I can check in every once in awhile!

  3. barb19 says:

    Wow – that’s some list, thanks for the info and for the website. I only feed my dog fresh meat, although I do give her dry biscuits as well. However, the name wasn’t on the list, but then I live in Australia – it could be under another name in the US. Is there an Aussie site that you know of?

Your comments make our day! We love hearing from you. :)

